6/20 Hugo update, vet visit tomorrow

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tiina and Hugo

Member Since 2016
Hi everyone! I hope you still remember us. :) It's been a little while since you heard from us, and I have been having some difficulties with Hugo's numbers. About two weeks ago we spent a week at the summer cabin and I totally forgot to bring a bottle of honey with me there and of course Hugo chose to have a hypo there in the middle of nowhere. He went to 28 from 200 in only two hours. Luckily I had my civvies cat food with me, so Hugo ate a bit of their dry food and HC and I got him to safe numbers.

But ever since that incident I have been really struggling to get him to lower numbers. I have now increased the dose twice and now he is on 1.75u. He seems more tired and it was about time to get his kidney levels checked so I have booked him check-up for tomorrow. I would be increasing his dose tomorrow evening to 2u, because I don't want to increase before the vet.

Is there any point in taking a pee sample from him, or should I just wait for what the kidney results are? They take a day to arrive. Hopefully Friday being a holiday (Midsummer) won't postpone the results.

So nervous, wish him good luck :nailbiting:
 
Last edited:
Oh no on forgetting the honey. I'm glad you were able to get his numbers back up. Sometimes you have to go back up in dose to get the numbers to come back down. Hopefully the increase after the vet visit will get him back in good numbers. I hope the vet visit goes well. I think it's best to have the vet take the pee sample at the vet if they need one. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Tiina.

Of course we remember you and Hugo! We've missed you!

Wow, that was some scary experience you had. I'm glad you were able to get Hugo back up to safety. Did he have any symptoms of a hypo, or just the low numbers?

Taking your own pee sample usually isn't the best idea, because it's hard to get a sterile one. If it isn't too long a ride to the vet, I'd recommend giving Hugo some extra water (by syringe if necessary), before you go if you are concerned about there being enough in his bladder to get a sample.

It does look like you're getting closer to the right dose. I agree you should wait on an increase until after the vet sees him.
 
Oh no on forgetting the honey. I'm glad you were able to get his numbers back up. Sometimes you have to go back up in dose to get the numbers to come back down. Hopefully the increase after the vet visit will get him back in good numbers. I hope the vet visit goes well. I think it's best to have the vet take the pee sample at the vet if they need one. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Carla! I'm sorry to hear that Furball had to go back on the juice, but hopefully it isn't much longer before the numbers are back to normal. Hugo gives a pee sample very easily, but I doubt if I would have a good container for it. I don't have a huge budget for the visit, because of Elvis' hemolytic anemia and his frequent vet visits. He started on a new drug called Atopica to stop his body from destroying the rbc. Thank you for the prayers, I really appreciate it. :)
 
Hi Tiina.

Of course we remember you and Hugo! We've missed you!

Wow, that was some scary experience you had. I'm glad you were able to get Hugo back up to safety. Did he have any symptoms of a hypo, or just the low numbers?

Taking your own pee sample usually isn't the best idea, because it's hard to get a sterile one. If it isn't too long a ride to the vet, I'd recommend giving Hugo some extra water (by syringe if necessary), before you go if you are concerned about there being enough in his bladder to get a sample.

It does look like you're getting closer to the right dose. I agree you should wait on an increase until after the vet sees him.
We have missed you too and I love seeing photos of your new furbabies on facebook. They are so adorable. :)

Hugo didn't show any symptoms of a hypo, but it was super scary as we were at the cabin. I didn't know what to do for a minute and my stomach just dropped when I saw that the honey wasn't in the care kit. And you know how upset his tummy gets from HC, but that was the only option.

The vet is only 10 minutes from my place and his appointment is at 2pm. I will keep you posted :)
 
Hello again Tiina. A morning pee sample taken at home can be useful for measuring the urine concentration or specific gravity. It is a test of kidney function. Keep it in the fridge until you go to the vet. That sample will be no good for detecting infection though. Sending good vetty vines.

You can make a syrup with water and sugar if you don't have honey.

Hugo, the 20's are no place to go!:eek:
 
Hi Carla! I'm sorry to hear that Furball had to go back on the juice, but hopefully it isn't much longer before the numbers are back to normal.
Thanks. I hope so too.

I don't have a huge budget for the visit, because of Elvis' hemolytic anemia and his frequent vet visits. He started on a new drug called Atopica to stop his body from destroying the rbc.
I hope the Atopica helps Elvis. Sending more prayers. :bighug::bighug:
 
We would never forget you and Hugo! :bighug:

Wow, what an adventure you had on your trip! I am happy Hugo was ok. Sending vetty vines to Hugo and vines that the medicine helps Elvis.
 
Hi again everyone and thank you for your kindness. Hugo is back home now from the vet. They took a CBC and the results arrive tomorrow and also the pancreatis test (can't remember the name now). In addition, they took him to the ultrasound and did a urine sample with a needle through the abdomen. The vet did a stick test and said there was protein in the urine, but send it to further testing. I really am afraid for his kidneys. Why else would there be protein?

They could still hear his heart murmur. She said it sounds like 2/6 grade. He needs a dental pretty soon too.

The vet said she hadn't seen a better spreadsheet before. I printed it (only 2017) and I told about you guys and the immense help I have received. :bighug:
 
Hugo must have read the dosecrease threat in his condo and decided to let you know he didn't want the increase. :D

I don't know anything about protein in urine. You may want to ask in your subject line. I hope you get good results back. Sending prayers.
 
Hugo must have read the dosecrease threat in his condo and decided to let you know he didn't want the increase. :D

I don't know anything about protein in urine. You may want to ask in your subject line. I hope you get good results back. Sending prayers.
Yep, Hugo seems to be reading this thread :D His PMPS was also nice just now, 131.

Thank you for the prayers, I'll keep you updated once I get the results.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top