6/20, Curve Day, AMPS 310, +4 176, +6 68...need advice

Elizabeth & Aiden

Member Since 2020
So 68 is the lowest I have ever seen Aiden!! Do I need to test more often than every two hours at this point? Do I need to give him anything to help boost his blood glucose? He is acting his usual self at the moment. This calls in a reduction of dose, correct? So tonight I should drop from 4 to 3.75 or lower? Sorry for so many questions, this is the first time he's been so low (that I've seen), so it makes me nervous (but a little excited too!)
 
68 is a good number, but given is a new behaviour, is always a good idea to keep an eye out until you are sure he is safe.

Most good kitties have nadirs before +6, so there is the expectation that he will come up from 68. However, bouncy cats, like my hercules can show all kinds of patterns, so I test a lot! I would test Aiden more mid cycle to lern where his nadir is, if you can.
 
We save the higher carb food for numbers below 50. Feeding him his usual low carb food will keep him going. He should be at or near his nadir and should start heading up now. Testing once an hour is enough at these levels.

And yes, he has earned a reduction and his dose starting tonight would be 3.75U :)

Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-13-curve-day-amps-305-pmps-192.248579/
I thought it was 50 but it sort of freaked me out so I had to ask. I'm excited to reduce for the first time ever!!
 
68 is a good number, but given is a new behaviour, is always a good idea to keep an eye out until you are sure he is safe.

Most good kitties have nadirs before +6, so there is the expectation that he will come up from 68. However, bouncy cats, like my hercules can show all kinds of patterns, so I test a lot! I would test Aiden more mid cycle to lern where his nadir is, if you can.

I wish I could get more mid-cycle tests but a- I work all day on weekdays and b-getting a curve on one day is hard enough because he likes to hide :/ I hate how much he hates being tested...but at least I can usually do it!
 
Back
Top