6/2 Simon AMPS - 301 - New Dose 2.5U

Status
Not open for further replies.

Simon'sMommy

Member Since 2013
Simon was on the lower side of 300 this morning, and in fact almost pulled a yellow number. I think he did that to give me second thoughts about raising his dose but it was now or never since we are not home on weekdays to monitor him. It had to be today.

I made the dose a "skinny" 2.5 cause I am using U-40 syringes and since my Vet wants Simon on 3 Units and I am doing my own thing so to speak, I doubt he would give me a prescription for the 100U syringes. And before you suggest changing, NO, I don't want a new Vet. We love Dr. K. He just doesn't know as much about feline diabetes as you do. He is an excellent vet other than that.

So, I will get a +3 on Simon today and a +5 and +6 to see if his nadir has moved up a bit since he was hitting it about hour 5.
 
That's a fast drop, Joyce. Got the Hypo kit ready just in case? Did you feed him a little wet low carb now to keep him from dropping lower, faster?
 
This is typical Simon if you look at his SS. He is eating his low carb breakfast slowly. He also had a few snacks (Pure bites) and I will check him again at +4. Not worried...yet nailbite_smile

EDIT: He has eaten 1.5 cans of FF so far and also DH gave him some of his scrambled eggs and he ate that too! He is hungry today, perhaps due to the increase in insulin.
 
He is playing with a sunbeam and preening. He is looking good..no shivering, no weirdness. But, I will most definitely check him at +4 and then again at +5..and I do have a hypo kit just in case. It is ready. It always is :o
Definitely will do a +4 though in case
 
AMPS 301
+3 141
+4 76 :mrgreen:

I am a little nervous since his nadir is generally around hour 5 but who knows with the dose increase. To see him at 76 at hour 4 with so much food in him is a little scary. Will test him again at 4.5.

Put up the 911 symbol so people are watching this just in case he gets really low. I do have the karo and the gravy food ready and I even have some of his high carb dry food left.
 
I can be around this am, Joyce and will keep an eye on you. Do you have some gravy food? It is easy to just give him the gravy (not the actual food) if you need to - it should raise the level without filling him up.
 
Re: 6/2 Simon AMPS - 301 - New Dose 2.5U dropping kind of fa

Yes, if necessary, I do have some of the gravy food. Thank you!

Should I retest at +4.5 or wait until +5?
 
Re: 6/2 Simon AMPS - 301 - New Dose 2.5U dropping kind of fa

I responded to your last thread before I saw this. ohmygod_smile

I have to leave in 15 minutes, so glad that Sue will be with you. Good luck today.
 
Re: 6/2 Simon AMPS - 301 - New Dose 2.5U dropping kind of fa

Depends on whether you will worry. +5 should be okay but 4.5 may set your mind at ease if he is rising.
 
Re: 6/2 Simon AMPS - 301 - New Dose 2.5U dropping kind of fa

I will wait until +5 cause he seems fine. He is cleaning his feet right now. ;-)
 
Re: 6/2 Simon AMPS - 301 - New Dose 2.5U dropping kind of fa

+ 5 (almost cause I could not wait as I am nervous so tested 7 mins early) was 70! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Happy that it only dropped 6 points in almost an hour.

AMPS 301
+3 141
+4 76 :mrgreen:
+5 70 :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/2 Simon AMPS - 301 - New Dose 2.5U dropping kind of fa

This looks very nice, Joyce. I would test again in an hour to make sure he is starting to head up, not continuing down. But if that is the nadir, it is a lovely green!
 
Re: 6/2 Simon AMPS - 301 - New Dose 2.5U dropping kind of fa

Will most definitely recheck at +6 to see if he has a new nadir and to see if he drops more than the 70 he just tested at. We will see what he does with this new dose. Also, I won't be surprised if he bounces at the PMPS but I will be a little disappointed cause I am hoping we hit the right dose this time.
 
Re: 6/2 Simon AMPS - 301 - New Dose 2.5U dropping kind of fa

It can be the perfect dose and still cause a bounce. A bounce is his body reacting to a lower number than he is used to, not an indication that the dose is wrong - just indicating his body isn't used to it yet.
 
Re: 6/2 Simon AMPS - 301 - New Dose 2.5U dropping kind of fa

Ok, thanks for letting me know that. He is sleeping right now but he responds to me when I talk to him. I guess I better re read that post to newbies from their kitty. :lol:
 
Re: 6/2 Simon AMPS - 301 - New Dose 2.5U dropping kind of fa

AMPS 301
+3 141
+4 76 :mrgreen:
+5 70 :mrgreen:
+6 116 :cool:
 
How nice! Don't be surprised by a big bounce. I think I'd stay with the 2.5, if you can at least get a midcycle tonight. My thinking is that they are lovely numbers but once he settles into the new dose, they could go lower and you don't have a whole lot of room for him to drop.
 
Depending on his PMPS #, the plan is to give him the same dose tonight and get a reading at +5 before bed. Liking this spread of numbers so far. Gonna give his poor ears a break until PMPS now cause he thinks after the 8 tests yesterday and the 5 already today that I am being a meanie :o
 
AMPS 301
+3 141
+4 76 :mrgreen:
+5 70 :mrgreen:
+6 116 :cool:

+10.5 349 :sad: :dizcat bcatrun_gif cat(2)_steam

They should have a cat smilie on a pogo stick for bounces. Simon spends a good amount of time on one of those :YMSIGH:

Sue, keeping in mind what you said about the bounce not being related to the dose increase and that his pancreas may be reacting to having lower numbers than it is used to. So, depending on his PMPS, (which with him has been known to decrease sometimes from earlier tests) will give him 2.5 again and monitor closely like I did this morning. Tested urine and negative for ketones with a trace of sugar as is customary when he is high. It is VERY slight on the test strip (first light green, not even a + out of the pluses) so not too worried about that I guess. :YMSIGH:
 
AMPS 301
+3 141
+4 76 :mrgreen:
+5 70 :mrgreen:
+6 116 :cool:
+10.5 349 :sad:
PMPS 348

Again, his PMPS was a tad lower than his +10.5. This is often the case with him and sometimes it is a much larger spread.

Gave 2.5 Units and will do a +3 and a +5 or +6, depending on what time we go to bed
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top