6/2 Schmitty AMPS 134 +3 142 +7 245

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chippy

Member Since 2012
Goodmorning,

I got some readings for Schmitty last night. At +6 he was at 120 and now at +11 he is 121. Yesterday he was in the 200's all day and was screaming for food. Do you think it's time for a dosage change? Would he really have dropped very much last night betweeen +6 and +11? When I just tested him (the +11 reading ) I got 33, so I retested and got 121...has that happened to others before? And why would that be?

I would appreciate someone looking at his #'s and giving me some advice again! :-D

Thursday's Health Condo
 
Re: 6/2 Schmitty PPMS 239 +3 235 +5 129 +6 120 +11 121 Dosag

It's good that you retested to see if that 33 was a "real" reading. It was clearly out of context with the rest of Schmitty's numbers so retesting was exactly the right thing to do. In all likelihood the reading was due to either not enough blood on the strip (but enough that the meter "thought" there was enough) or a bad strip.

According to the protocol, you would be ready to increase Schmitty's dose:
"General" Guidelines:

  • Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
  • Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
  • Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose:

  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
I think you can increase by 0.25u.

While there's no way to be absolutely certain if Schmitty dropped after +6, I suspect he was fine.
 
Re: 6/2 Schmitty PPMS 239 +3 235 +5 129 +6 120 +11 121 Dosag

I'm getting confused with Schmitty's #'s. I was going to increase his dose to .75 u but his AMPS was 134...that's the lowest it's been in a few days. Should I expect higher #'s later in the day and just go ahead with the dose increase?

Thanks. Mary
 
Re: 6/2 Schmitty PPMS 239 +3 235 +5 129 +6 120 +AMPS 134 New

Have you shot yet? It looks like he is rising and I would go ahead w/ the increase if you will be home to monitor closely today. I hope this bumps you up for more eyes.
 
Re: 6/2 Schmitty PPMS 239 +3 235 +5 129 +6 120 +AMPS 134 New

Mary

I just got on so let me look at the SS. Please let us know if you shot and what you shot...and did you shoot on time?

Thanks...brb.
 
Re: 6/2 Schmitty PPMS 239 +3 235 +5 129 +6 120 +AMPS 134 New

Ok...here are my thoughts:

I understand why Sienne suggested you increase....those tests last night are very helpful for us to get a picture of nighttime numbers. I agree with her that you have room to increase by .25u.

This is your lowest preshot since you have been consistently giving this dose. It looks like Schmitty is on his way up just like he does every morning. I think if you want to delay the increase for one cycle just to see if he does what I expect he'll do (go up), that's fine as long as you can test him to make sure he is headed up.

However, IMHO, The best scenario would be to increase this morning and monitor him closely the next several cycles. His nadirs are not quite getting into green and an increase should help. He might not need the dose long so you'll have to be sure you get those +2 and mid cycle tests so we can see where it's taking him.
 
Re: 6/2 Schmitty PPMS 239 +3 235 +5 129 +6 120 +AMPS 134 New

I went ahead and gave him a shot about 15 min later than usual...I hadn't heard from anyone yet so I stayed with the .5 u. I did a +3 and he was 142. Should I go ahead an increase the dosage tomorrow? (assuming everything stays the same) I'll stay with .5 tonight so I won't have to get up and monitor.

Does that sound good?
 
Re: 6/2 Schmitty PPMS 239 +3 235 +5 129 +6 120 +AMPS 134 New

Mary

Can you please update your subject line to show AMPS 134 (if that is the number you shot late) and +3 142? Can you get a +6 or +7 test today so we can see how low he is going?

IMHO, if he's staying in flat mid-blue like this, I do think he needs to go up. You hold the syringe and so you can take him up tonight or tomorrow. BUT, you still need to monitor tonight with at least
a +2 and a before bed test, ok? We can help you alot more if you have some data. We can't guess at doses based on preshots alone. If you don't get a couple tests at night, you are missing half your
data and some of these kitties do have different day and night cycles. They aren't always the same.

Thanks, Mary. Have a great day.
 
I'm going to go up tonight to .75u. His +7 was 245 and I haven't fed him yet...plus had diarrhea today....which happens more when numbers get higher. I will check #'s before I go to bed.

Thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top