6/2 Nellie PMPS 108 +126

You want to look at getting pens rather than vials. A vial holds 1000 units and not many cats can use that much before it starts to lose efficacy and you end up throwing a lot of it away. A 5 pack of pens is a total of 1500 units, but each pen only holds 300 units so you can use each one down to the last drop while the other pens stay safely in the fridge and are good until the expiration date on the box (usually at least 2 years)...and if you drop a pen, you're much less likely to break it...but even if you did, you'd have extras!

Btw, she looks good for an increase. You've held this dose 5 days now and the greens you saw were all over 80. You can take her up to 3.5U tomorrow morning.
 
yeah might just be wishful thinking on my part. However when I first started out, for a little while when I was measuring out her dose I would push the extra insulin back into the vial. I now know that is a big no no :blackeye:

Running low on this vial anyway so I gotta get a replacement, but talking to my vet for sure about getting a script for the pens. Those seem like a much smarter way to go moving forward!

Started on 3.5 this am, we'll see how she does on this dose.
 
Back
Top