6/2 Mouzer AMPS 437

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cherryl & Mouzer

Member Since 2017
6/1 - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-1-mouzer-amps-418.178673/

AMPS / 437 / 1u
+2 / 316
+5 / 278
PMPS / 420 / 1u
+2 / 300



heh so much for an attempt to get the schedule changed. I got it from 7 to 6 and was goin to 5:45 this mornin but I coudnt get to Mouzer until 6:30. That is why the 7 schedule was set, to begin with. So, I do not know how this is going to go with a peep hole, providing just enough room to breathe out one nostril. This is the equivalent to my attempt at pushing a broken down dump truck, uphill, by myself.

It was a good morning, until being faced with what I knew already, this peep hole is not going to work here, and that worries me for Mouzer. So, to make my day better, I am going to forget this and just do my life the way it has to be done. My over-flowing plate has now flipped upside down.
 
Last edited:
6/1 - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-1-mouzer-amps-418.178673/

AMPS / 437 / 1u



heh so much for an attempt to get the schedule changed. I got it from 7 to 6 and was goin to 5:45 this mornin but I coudnt get to Mouzer until 6:30. That is why the 7 schedule was set, to begin with. So, I do not know how this is going to go with a peep hole, providing just enough room to breathe out one nostril. This is the equivalent to my attempt at pushing a broken down dump truck, uphill, by myself.

It was a good morning, until being faced with what I knew already, this peep hole is not going to work here, and that worries me for Mouzer. So, to make my day better, I am going to forget this and just do my life the way it has to be done. My over-flowing plate has now flipped upside down.
Hi Cherryl,
Yes, Lantus has less flexibility timing wise than other insulins. If this proves to be a big problem for you another "in-and-out" insulin might be a better choice. ProZinc is a good one, although not cheap - roughly the same cost as Lantus. It's a non-depot insulin, meaning you give a shot and about 12 hours later there's no insulin left. You can move shot times up to an hour early or late without too much difficulty and you can tweak the dose more frequently. Maybe you should go have a look at some of the yellow info stickies on the ProZinc forum to learn more. It might be a better choice for you. :)
 
Hi Cherryl,
Yes, Lantus has less flexibility timing wise than other insulins. If this proves to be a big problem for you another "in-and-out" insulin might be a better choice. ProZinc is a good one, although not cheap - roughly the same cost as Lantus. It's a non-depot insulin, meaning you give a shot and about 12 hours later there's no insulin left. You can move shot times up to an hour early or late without too much difficulty and you can tweak the dose more frequently. Maybe you should go have a look at some of the yellow info stickies on the ProZinc forum to learn more. It might be a better choice for you. :)


I already have one near full Lantus pens and a box of five more. I cant change now. Also, I was told that Lantus is better for neuropathy, so not sure on that either. But for now, I am stuck with Lantus, at least for however long it takes up to use approx. six pens worth. I wish the vet knew that Lantus had no two hour window, so this could have been thought through. He knows what I do and how my schedule does not allow for any strict 15 to 30 minute window.

And it is not only my schedule to be considered here. There is a husband here and you do not tell him - I cant do such n such at this such n such time because I have to sit on top of one kitty, out of 50, for four hours a day, at the least - with shot times and being able to get +1 and +2 readings, just to make sure he is safe, before I can do anything else. To tell this man anything like this, is hell to pay, and I am not joking. I did not marry one of the 'nicest' of men in this world.

I can only struggle to do this for Mouzer but this is going to be very stressful, constantly hectic and worrisome, that it wont be able to be done, just so. I am hating this. It is making my nerves sick to know this is how it is for Mouzer :(

I have to leave the house again and go tend to chores, elsewhere. But Mouzer got his shot within the 30 minute window, this morning, at least. And his +2 is still up there. I dont feel pressured to make it back in two hours, if I am not able, even though I will try and I will always try but it wont always be possible and it will surely always be stressful to feel this pressure to do so.
 
I know it's hard. It all comes down to what we can manage in our own lives, Cherryl. Often we can't manage the ideal way so we have to go with what's possible. Should you decide to think more about another insulin you'd likely be able to sell your Lantus to others here on FDMB. Meanwhile, do the best you can with Mouzer's dosing within your hectic schedule.
 
Firstly
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Looks like you got that +2 today, he's still high, if lower than PS.
Looks like a bounce, from either
1) blues on 5/31
2) or he may have dipped his feet into blue last night.

In any cast give yourself and Mouzer a bit of a break from testing, grabbing a test a bit later in the cycle +7/or +8 perhaps? (if you are home and able to):bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
AMPS / 437 / 1u
+2 / 316
+5 / 278
PMPS / 420 / 1u

Do you all know what 420 is :D
I had to crack that joke to my husband hahaha


I know it's hard. It all comes down to what we can manage in our own lives, Cherryl. Often we can't manage the ideal way so we have to go with what's possible. Should you decide to think more about another insulin you'd likely be able to sell your Lantus to others here on FDMB. Meanwhile, do the best you can with Mouzer's dosing within your hectic schedule.

I need to know more about the ProZinc, if it is one to be good with the neropathy. I will go try to get some time here - soon - to go read the stickies on the ProZinc. I am not sure anyone would want to pay $175 for these five lantus pens, but also, I guess I would need to ask a vet to provide me with a ProZinc script, if it is one to consider using and I would have to compare pricing. I dont know if that Marks Marine Pharmacy sells ProZinc or not or if I can find it at the Lantus price, at least.



Firstly
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Looks like you got that +2 today, he's still high, if lower than PS.
Looks like a bounce, from either
1) blues on 5/31
2) or he may have dipped his feet into blue last night.

In any cast give yourself and Mouzer a bit of a break from testing, grabbing a test a bit later in the cycle +7/or +8 perhaps? (if you are home and able to):bighug::bighug::bighug:

I did have things that got behind, while trying to push for every two hours to get Mouzer's test. I got some of it caught up today.

I spoke with a friend about this and how I am worried of being able to do this on time for Mouzer. She reminded me, I am exhausted, with trying to keep up with Mouzer's new treatment and all this other I have to do, at the same time, and I am stressed because of money and worry over a new vet doing right by these animals and everything seems much more overwhelming, when we are exhausted, stressed and worried.

She did tell me to talk to the new vet and see if they think a two hour window will be ok with the Lantus hahaha And I told her, if a new vet disagrees with this board, I am not going to trust the new vet. But anyhow, she did suggest what you actually have suggested, for me to take some kind of break from trying to get every two hour test in with trying to cram in a lot of reading around the board and try to get caught up with things that have gotten behind, over this past week of testing, and try to get some rest too. Things might can work out, when all is not behind and my mind is rested enough to stop and think.

I did get in fast enough to get a +5 today and then had to leave again but got back in time to do the PMPS and shot. I am home now for good, for the evening. I will surely get the +2 after pm shot - which I will always try my best to get a +2 after the shots, just so I can know if it appears ok comfy or not.

This might mean giving up any evening church but ok. And when our church has movie night, it starts at 7pm, so I can give a 6pm shot and test at +1 and if all is ok, leave for the movie. I will be a little late for the movie but I will still get to go, as long as Mouzer's numbers are safe.

I know the goal is to bring Mouzer down out of these 400's and maybe even out of the 300's but I have to wait and let all of you suggest how I go about that and I assume you need more test done to be able to help me with that. I am not trusting a vet to help me with this, right now, any how. I have more trust in all of you than I do with any vet right now - and probably because of all of the stupidity I have dealt with in veterinarians in my area, with their doing wrong things and refusing any information I provide them with that shows the what is what.

I did realize today, I have used half of the $36 dollar box of test strips in one week, so I might have to back off of all of these test and maybe just do four test a day and hopefully with all of these done throughout the day, this past week, and then four a day, it will be possible to know what Mouzer is doing. I dont want to get the relion prime, because I dont want to have to get more blood from Mouzer than I have to. I feel bad enough with what I am doing to him, already.

OK - I am going to go have some evening cocoa and rest my weary mind and body. I will figure something out. I just need to take a break and let my mind get cleared out. Hopefully, meeting the new vet on June 6th, will turn out to be a good thing - I hope.
 
a vet to provide me with a ProZinc script,
ProZinc is a veterinary insulin for cats specifically. Marks is a human pharmacy so they wouldn't sell it.You'd have to buy it from a vet or order it from an animal pharmacy online (and would probably need a script). It's about $125 give or take for a 10 mL vial. It's a less concentrated insulin than Lantus and you need special syringes for it, again, from a vet or animal pharmacy.

Right now just take a cocoa break and let it all go. :)
 
ProZinc is a veterinary insulin for cats specifically. Marks is a human pharmacy so they wouldn't sell it.You'd have to buy it from a vet or order it from an animal pharmacy online (and would probably need a script). It's about $125 give or take for a 10 mL vial. It's a less concentrated insulin than Lantus and you need special syringes for it, again, from a vet or animal pharmacy.

Right now just take a cocoa break and let it all go. :)

WoW! I paid $175 for five Lantus pens - is one pen the same as a 10 ml vial?
I was just reading the ProZinc stickies. The U100 syringes are used - isnt that what I am using now with Lantus? It speaks of the orange caps and these syringes, I have, are with orange caps.
I was just now reading about someone who had to be late on a shot, with ProZinc, and it appears two hours late, so that would be good for me, but not if the price would be $125 - if a vial is the equivalent of one Lantus pen.
 
We all can relate to how exhausting dealing with FD is. You are juggling lots and taking care of yourself first so you can take care of Mouser is important. You will develop your own rhythm with it all .
 
I paid $175 for five Lantus pens - is one pen the same as a 10 ml vial?

No.....a 10ml vial of ProZinc is only 400 units (U40 insulin)

One pen of Lantus is 3ml which is 300 units and a box of 5 pens is 1500 units (U100 insulin)

Yes, you can use U100 syringes with ProZinc, but you must use a conversion chart

We have had people here that couldn't do 12/12 hour cycles with Lantus before and had no choice but to do different schedules like 13/11....it's not the end of the world if you need to do that as long as you understand that when you give a shot early it can act like an increase in dose so it's more important that you can test on those cycles.
 
No.....a 10ml vial of ProZinc is only 400 units (U40 insulin)

One pen of Lantus is 3ml which is 300 units and a box of 5 pens is 1500 units (U100 insulin)

Yes, you can use U100 syringes with ProZinc, but you must use a conversion chart

We have had people here that couldn't do 12/12 hour cycles with Lantus before and had no choice but to do different schedules like 13/11....it's not the end of the world if you need to do that as long as you understand that when you give a shot early it can act like an increase in dose so it's more important that you can test on those cycles.


So, that makes ProZinc far more expensive and out :)

I am not able to do any schedule alters like that right now. I dont know how to know what I need to know to do that. It is early in the morning but my mind is trying to think how schedules would need to go here and there. There is the +1 to +2 that is so important, before feeling safe enough to leave. I have to think on this one. I cant have it where I have to give a shot at 5:30am - So I would have to think how everything would fall. But for now, I would have no idea how to do this change in a schedule. All I know is Mouzer gets 1u, twice a day 12/12 - until someone tells me otherwise :D
 
Last edited:
I'm trying to get my head around your schedule but:confused:

On another note, I would look to see if he drops back into blue today. It's 6 cycles since he dropped fast into blue, and that appeared to trigger a bounce, since bounces can last up to 6 cycles, and he's been high for the last 5 I'd look to him clearing the bounce (dropping back into normal numbers) this morning or tonight.

So today, I would definitely try to get those +1 and +2 today, and if you catch him dropping significantly then follow up with more tests. If he is still staying high and flat by the +2, there's probably not much to be gained by testing frequently(perhaps get a +6 or a+7), ease of on the testing if he is staying high and flat for both your sakes:bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top