6/2 Miss Meows AMPS 137, +6 87, PMPS 249 - Question(s) about vacation dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

missMeows

Member Since 2015
Hey everyone!

Last Condo

After my messy fur shot the other day, I finally got a bit of an accurate curve today on this current dose. Our vacation is coming up (6/9 - 6/23) and I'm gonna be taking kitty to future MIL's this weekend, possibly Friday or Saturday, to go over shooting and any other questions/concerns. MIL agreed to help out by shooting, but there will be no tests the entire time we are gone, two weeks. Since MIL is so far from us, I have to take kitty there the weekend before we leave. So here it is, my official "what should we shoot" post.

Here are a few points that I feel might be important to consider before choosing a dose:
1) Kitty will be on this dose for a while, from 6/6 - 6/23
2) Future MIL will not be testing at all at this time. Just shooting.
3) Syringes are BD half unit syringes. So I'd like to keep the dose to full or half units, no quarter units.
4) The timed feeder will still be in use for her +3's

I'm thinking of giving future MIL my login to FDMB, just in case she cannot get a hold of us while away for emergencies. I will have a print out of the hypo signs and treatments for her to have handy, and of course I'll be writing detailed instructions about feeding/doses.

A few questions about what I should do during/after this time:
1) Do we need to factor in kitty, perhaps, getting used to the dose and numbers lowering while gone?
2) When we get back, do we just return to her now current 3 units, or is it a gradual increase to the 3 units again?
3) Is there anything else I am missing that I need to consider or do before I leave?

I appreciate any thoughts or feedback you all might have.

Cheers!
 
Nice cycle today. :D Miss Mews seems to like this dose.

I hope you are going somewhere fun on holiday. @Sienne and Gabby has lots of experience on petsitter dosing. I've just done a bit, but I'd lower her at least to 2.5 units, given that you want the dose to be on the line and she's getting greens now.

As for kitty getting used to the dose, it depends on kitty. What could happen is getting a bit of glucose toxicity because she's not seeing greens on the new lowered dose. But better safe in higher numbers.

We don't do gradual increases, but rather go back to the last good dose when you get back. I would test for maybe one cycle when you are back, just to see where she's at on the vacation dose.

Does future MIL have contact information for your vet and a close vet should she have an emergency? Make sure you leave a sample syringe with colored water in it so she has something to compare against when drawing up the dose. Also review the care/handling of Lantus with her. Maybe mark your high carb food can lids with HC or something like that, so she knows to not feed them as regular meals.
 
Thanks Wendy!

We are going to Iceland :)

You made lots of good points and I'm going to make sure I remember to provide our current vets information with her notes. She has a cat already, so there is a vet close by, but I think having the number to our current vet (even though they will be over 2 hours away) might be good just in case. I will also discuss the handling of Lantus with her. Something I didn't consider before. So good call! I'm also gonna label the HC food right after I finish typing this :)

I was thinking, without experience to base this on, at picking maybe 2u or 1.5u. Just because I am nervous about her getting used to the dose and the numbers going lower without us knowing. Not sure how common it is, or if it is something to worry about, but I appreciate your input and makes me feel a little better about whatever we decide to go with!
 
I have a couple of suggestions...

Make up a syringe using colored water as a demo. Alternatively or in addition, take a close-up photo of the syringe with the colored water in it for your MIL. It's way too easy to get confused so having a visual is very helpful.

I think dropping the dose by 50% may be too much. It looks to me like on 2.5u, your kitty was seeing blues and yellows. That should be safe. Rather than dropping the dose by more than that, you could always give your MIL some slightly higher carb food to use.

I'd print out the info on what the symptoms of hypo are so she knows what to look for as a "just-in-case." I think giving her your log-in information for here is also a good idea. You might even bookmark it on her computer (with you already logged in) so if there's emergency she doesn't have to start looking up websites. Also, make sure she has the phone # and address of the closest emergency vet handy. Again, if there's something going on with Miss Meow, you don't want your MIL searching for where to go. Write out every painstaking detail of care for your cat even though you know your MIL is competent. I leave copious notes for my cat sitter every time I travel.
 
Thanks Sienne!

I discussed the dosage recommendation to Fiancé and we both think that you and Wendy are probably right with the 2.5u. She has never been to an unsafe number before, I don't see why she'd start on this lower dose. So thank you! We'll keep her on her normal LC food as well. I don't want to change too much up while I'm gone. Last thing we need is for Miss Meows to not eat while we are away.

As for your other suggestions, I'm already on it :) Not to mention I'm spending 2 days at future MIL's to practice and go over any extra questions. I'm not paranoid... at all ;)
 
There is also a video on how to draw up the dose on the "Taking care of your insulin" sticky. MIght not hurt for her to watch that.

I agree on the 2.5u - it doesn't look like she would go low on it, although I"d make sure your darling MIL knows that if Miss Meows isn't eating, that changes everything about the dose and she should seek input from us/vet if there are any appy issues.

Any chance your future FIL would learn to test?
 
Thanks Julie!

Luckily, kitty is rarely ever NOT in the mood for food, but I will be sure to put in the notes what to do... Just in case ;)

As for future FIL... Well, he isn't really the type to ask for help with these things. So no, I don't think we can get him to test :(

Fiancé talked to his mom recently about how she feels (anxious-wise) about shooting. I showed her once, two weekends ago how to do it, and she did fine. So when asked the other night, she said she has no reservations about shooting and that kitty was a fine patient. I think the main concerns on my end are making sure she knows emergency care, proper lantus handling, and possibly getting her more practice drawing up the insulin. Her hands are a tad week, so she said it was a bit tricky for her.

I'm hopeful that everything will work out ok. Besides, she is so worried about us falling into a glacier cravass, that I made her a deal... Send me pictures of kitty doing fine, and I'll send her pictures of us still alive :) A win win for all!!!
 
I was looking for a 6/4 condo, but don't see one, so I'm just going to reply here.

For your m-i-l, i'm thinking of your comment about her weak hands, if she has any vision trouble you might suggest a magnifying lens on a stand. I'm not sure what would help with her hands, but i was just thinking that a lot of people here have trouble seeing to draw up the dose, and one inexpensive solution is one of those magnifiers that are on a stand. I think you can get them at craft stores.

My son has a wandering spirit, and when it started, I said "just send me a text so i know you're not dead yet." So I get texts now and then and all they say is "not dead yet." That's all I need to hear. :rolleyes:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top