6/2 Mickey amps 297 pmps 267

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peggy and Mickey (GA)

Member Since 2010
Hellooo everyone!!
Glad to see all the kitties are doing well!

Something is up with the google account with my SS. I can get into it but cannot click on anything in it. Had to log off the computer to exit the thing.

Mickey continues to be doing the same.
Except now he is peeing in his over sized crinkle tube. After washing it several times, I finally smartened up and pinned a pee pad inside of it. Pooping still all over.

I had planned to do a dose increase over Memorial weekend but got company. And just switched from midnights to days with all of the decreases it didn't work.
So, June 1 +4 282 pmps 298
27th and 28th he was between 266-276
Have a great day !!!
 
Re: 6/2 Mickey amps 297 Anyone having prob with google app?

Hi Peggy! Great to see you back. I just tried my ss and it was fine. I know last week, Vicky was having issues with her ss links...sorry. Not much help.

Klinger started peeing in our enclosed front porch. We think it's because of all the rain we've been having, his arthritis has been acting up he didn't want to walk down the stairs to the basement. We finally wised up and put a litter box in there and it's worked out well.
Sorry Mickey's now peeing inappropriately too. ((((Peggy)))
Good luck with the increase.
Marcy & Klinger
 
Re: 6/2 Mickey amps 297 Anyone having prob with google app?

Arthritis, poor guy! Good idea with the litter box by the porch.

I am waiting for the vets office to open. I saved the pee pad in a baggie to see if they can test the urine from it. ?? Hopefully they can.

Oh some good news on the injured feral. He is healing up and the wound is bright red a bit smaller too. The abs must have worked for a number of things on this guy. He used to have extremely pussy eyes and they have cleared up as well :mrgreen:

I gave him a fat 2.5 today just over the line. I am home on a sick day so I will be able to get some BG testing.
 
Re: 6/2 Mickey amps 297 Anyone having prob with google app?

Peggy and Mickey said:
Arthritis, poor guy! Good idea with the litter box by the porch.

I am waiting for the vets office to open. I saved the pee pad in a baggie to see if they can test the urine from it. ?? Hopefully they can.

Oh some good news on the injured feral. He is healing up and the wound is bright red a bit smaller too. The abs must have worked for a number of things on this guy. He used to have extremely pussy eyes and they have cleared up as well :mrgreen:

I gave him a fat 2.5 today just over the line. I am home on a sick day so I will be able to get some BG testing.

Your spreadsheet is opening for me but it is only up to 5/5/11. So are you saying you can't update it? Here is the link where Vicky was having a problem too:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=44066

Sorry about the continuing peeing and pooping issues. :( So you are thinking he might have a UTI?

Good news on the feral though! That is good to hear. :thumbup
 
Re: 6/2 Mickey amps 297 Anyone having prob with google app?

Pamela,

Thank you for the link. I will give that a try. I cannot update it. It wouldn't let me click on anything or even sign out.

And I am thinking a UTI. I don't know what else to think. Except the pee pads are really absorbent and I wan unable to squeeze the pee out of it. sigh...I will figure it out :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/2 Mickey amps 297 Anyone having prob with google app?

Peggy and Mickey said:
Pamela,

Thank you for the link. I will give that a try. I cannot update it. It wouldn't let me click on anything or even sign out.

Just looked over on Tech Support and found others having the same problem:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=42558

Peggy and Mickey said:
And I am thinking a UTI. I don't know what else to think. Except the pee pads are really absorbent and I wan unable to squeeze the pee out of it. sigh...I will figure it out :mrgreen:

I think we talked about it before that maybe he has periodic cases of Interstitial Cystitis caused for the most part by stress? That maybe all he needs are occasional pain meds? I would hate to see your vet put him on an AB if he doesn't need it. And I guess taking him in isn't an option(?)

Here Dr. Lisa explains it:

http://www.catinfo.org/?link=urinarytracthealth
 
Hi, Peggy. Maybe you need to log in to the SS? It won't let you do anything if you are not logged in - and you have to do that every 2 weeks or something.

I just got a script renewal for Jeddie's prozac..... it's worked like a charm with him and his inappropriate peeing. I tell you, a year ago I was yelling at him and telling him he was signing his own death warrant if he kept it up. No, I don't think I would have really done that, that was when I was at my worst with frustration after having ripped up carpet and replaced flooring several months before that. He was peeing everywhere but in the boxes. He peed the day after I started the prozac (on the front door) and once more after I got two upholstered chairs from my aunt who has cats. I am sure the strange cat smell upset him briefly. And I tried to ween him off it in Jan, and that caused him to pee in the boot tray I had under one box, so I put him back on a daily dose. That's it in the past 10 months.

Really, it's worth a try.
 
I second the prozac recommendation, not because I've used it, but because I remember how frustrated Sheila was with Jeddie! And now he sleeps with her other male cat too like they're best buddies. So if she says it works, it WORKS! No, maybe giving another medication is not what we want to have to do, but it is certainly worth a try.

The only suggestion I have about the SS is the same too - you have to log back in every 30 days or something. It looks exactly the same as when you're logged in, but everything is greyed out and you can't click anything, it's hard to tell that it's any different though.

I was just stupid and didn't republish the pages when I wanted to get the link for my signature. So it was giving me the published link for the entire spreadsheet and not individual pages. But I could click on things and enter amounts in the cells, etc.
 
Thank you for all of the suggestions. Links too :)
We tried prozac for 2 weeks and it made him even nastier than he already is. Maybe it takes longer then 2 weeks to start working?
I am also steering away from thinking it is a UTI. He pees enormous. Not in little pee balls as described in the article. He has alot of water and water in his food.
I am going to start looking for another vet to check him over. I will even drive to PA or DE if I have to.


He hit both oversized crinkle tubes last night. #1 in the one and #2 in the other one.

Mickey got a bath yesterday.
We did not get BG this am 6/3 he got me good tho. My bg is 81:(

My SS is working now!! Left my #'s at home.
 
I'm not sure how prozac is dosed for cats, maybe he was given too much or not enough.

Your meter should have all the numbers stored on it, so you can update him for May. If you have any nadir numbers that would be good. From what he had up through early May he probably needs an increase. Looks like he is still about the same from what you report this week.

Steady is good, but says he's not there with the best dose yet.
 
Standard dose on prozac is 1/4 tablet once a day. I have seen a few here on either a half tab once a day or 1/4 tab bid.

If he is peeing a lot is he also drinking water? They usually go hand in hand. The usual suspects are diabetes, hyperthyroid, kidney insufficiency, and hypercalcemia (high blood calcium levels). There might be more causes. I wonder if IBD is a cause? My first rule out (or in) would be hyper-T.

Have you tried other types of litter, litter boxes, location of LB?
 
I had him on 1/2 tab once a day (prozac)
I have changed litters and boxes, even bought new ones. Same result
He does drink alot of water too.
We had blood work not to long ago. They sent it to Texas A&M it was all normal.
I am going to give a call Monday and see if they have appts on Thursday. I unfortunately have to go to school for recert for EMD. (emergency medical dispatch) 3 days! uggggg

Shiela or Vicky :mrgreen:
I have a snafoo with my shot schedule this week:
today is day 5 5a/5p
then I switch to 2-10 pm shift where the day off (sun) are split doses but...
Mon, Tue and Wed I will be in school from 8:30a-4pm each day. Now Thursday, I work 2-10 that gives me no time to move his shots up. Any suggestions?
Thank you ladies!
 
Peggy and Mickey said:
I had him on 1/2 tab once a day (prozac)
I have changed litters and boxes, even bought new ones. Same result
He does drink alot of water too.
We had blood work not to long ago. They sent it to Texas A&M it was all normal.
I am going to give a call Monday and see if they have appts on Thursday. I unfortunately have to go to school for recert for EMD. (emergency medical dispatch) 3 days! uggggg

Shiela or Vicky :mrgreen:
I have a snafoo with my shot schedule this week:
today is day 5 5a/5p
then I switch to 2-10 pm shift where the day off (sun) are split doses but...
Mon, Tue and Wed I will be in school from 8:30a-4pm each day. Now Thursday, I work 2-10 that gives me no time to move his shots up. Any suggestions?
Thank you ladies!

if I understand correctly, you're going from shots Mon-Wed at say 7:30AM/7:30PM to shots on Thursday needing to be probably 10:30AM/10:30PM? You can do splits on Thursday AM, 7:30/10:30, I have done them 3 hours apart. Not ideal, but it works OK.

I don't have a day off in between schedule changes, so I am doing splits on the day I work late, not the day before.

I hope that's what was confusing you. Let me know if I have the schedule change times incorrect.
 
Thank you very, very much!
That is the plan then. I have it all down, then the schedule changes :o

When your schedule changes like that do you notice a big difference in Gandalf's numbers?
 
Peggy and Mickey said:
Thank you very, very much!
That is the plan then. I have it all down, then the schedule changes :o

When your schedule changes like that do you notice a big difference in Gandalf's numbers?

Sometimes, yes. Right now I had lowered his dose and then threw the splits in to there, so he seems to be riding in the 200s again on the .8U. I need to raise it back to .9 I'm afraid. The one thing with changing times seems to be that if you get really good cycles, like Gandalf had recently which earned him dose reductions, the split doses and time changing seem to negate the progress.

Gandalf's shot schedule only needs to change by 2 hours usually, not 3. What will probably happen is that Mickey's duration will be extended and you won't notice a dramatic change in BG until the next day or evening after. But it should be short lived.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top