6/2 Jupiter PMPS/314 +3/258 +6/232

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Link to yesterdays condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=96650

Man, I just don’t understand these numbers lately! :sad: I cant believe we are back to this high of a dose and still not really any improvement.. Time for another increase?

Todays Numbers:
AMPS-300
+3-312
+6-340
PMPS-314
+3-258
+4.25-265
+6-232
+8-220
+11-294

Recap of yesterday:
AMPS-247
+2-221
+4-238
+8-201
+10-206
PMPS-259
+2-343
+4-251
+6-258
 
Re: 6/2 Jupiter AMPS/300 time for another increase?

Hi Jamie. Sorry I can't offer any dosing advice. I know how you feel. PurrFace worked is way all the way down to a .1U dose back in his PM cycle on 11/12/12 but worked his way back. It happens. Hang in there and try not to get frustrated. Unfortunately we don't lead in this dance. Jupiter is driving and you're just along for the ride and to give him some directions when he veers off course.

I'm sure someone with a lot more expertise than me will be along to give you some guidance on dosing.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 6/2 Jupiter AMPS/300 time for another increase?

Okay I am really not sure what to do... My plan was to feed 2 of my civies dry food - 2 times a day (I would separate those 2 in a different room to eat some dry)... and still let them free feed with the canned food the rest of the day.... Just cant afford the wet canned food - its really adding up. So today I let one of the civies eat about 8 pieces of the dry food... she vomited it about 10 mins later...

I am really not sure what to do!!! She vomited when we transitioned her to wet food... but I cant have her vomiting this dry food around the house... What if Jupiter ends up licking it or something??


before she vomited... after she came out of the other room... Jupiter knew something was going on... he kept sniffing her lips... thought he was gonna lick her mouth... he was acting weird/excited
 
Re: 6/2 Jupiter AMPS/300 another increase? question - food

I think Jupiter could use some more juice. We cleaned out some old dry food while Zener was outside. He was really sniffing when he came in. :lol: I'm sorry about the pukus. Sounds like a delicate tummy. How are you feeling?
Liz
 
Re: 6/2 Jupiter AMPS/300 another increase? question - food

I'm sorry Jupe hasn't come down for you yet. I guess this is the way it works sometimes and hopefully he'll respond soon. I don't know what to tell you about the food stuff. That's a hard one and I've never had to deal with multiple cats and meal times before. I'm guessing the vomit was from the transition back to the dry food perhaps? I hope things get easier but it might take time like the transition from dry to wet. Just try to be patient with them but I know that's much easier said than done. How long has Jupe been on the current dose? I haven't looked at his SS for a few days but I'm guessing it's been a few cycles if you're thinking of increasing? Hopefully one of the experts will be by shortly to give you some advice on the food and the increase shortly.

PS - I just got news yesterday that I'm going to be a new auntie again come Jan 2014. I was super excited for my little brother & sis in-law. Me= :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 6/2 Jupiter AMPS/300 another increase? question - food

Jamie --

Can I give you some homework? If you can check around, you'll find that there are some LC foods that come in 15oz cans. If you can compare the price of these foods per ounce vs. what you pay per ounce of dry, you may find that the cost is roughly the same since you're probably serving your civvies a larger quantity of dry vs. canned. For example, you may give 1/2 cup of dry (you'll need to weigh how many ounces that is) vs. a 3 oz serving of canned. It may be that the costs are pretty close. (I don't know that for certain, though.) There are also some low carb dry foods but I think they are relatively expensive.
 
Re: 6/2 Jupiter AMPS/300 another increase? question - food

any time you switch foods, you can have that experience.....
it's a big jump for their bodies.... dry to wet... or wet to dry....
plus certain brands are really bad about causing problems ( like Meow mix with all it's artificial dyes)


before dx, Shadow always ate both... but she preferred wet and barely ever touched any dry....
so it takes time for them to adapt....

sounds like you could use some good sales and coupons for canned....
 
Re: 6/2 Jupiter AMPS/300 another increase? question - food

Couponing for dry food vs wet food....
I pay almost nothing for the dry food...but coupons for wet canned food arent as good. The only time I have been able to get canned food for cheap is when I got Sheba with buy one get one free coupons and they were on sale for 50cents. So 25cents a can. For a bag of dry food... I can pay $1 - $3
 
Re: 6/2 Jupiter AMPS/300 another increase? question - food

I also think you should consider the possible long-term adverse effects from feeding dry food.

I would increase the dose. I think what happened was he just has been at these high numbers for a while and you will have to reach a break through that is higher than what he broke through on before.
 
Re: 6/2 Jupiter AMPS/300 another increase? question - food

I know... I feel like a terrible momma bean.... I dont WANT to have to give them dry food... but I just cannot afford it this month.
 
Re: 6/2 Jupiter AMPS/300 another increase? question - food

Jamie, you're doing the best you can with what you have to work with and sometimes that has to be good enough. Don't beat yourself up about it. I know what you would prefer to do, but sometimes it just isn't an option. I have a feeling the cat food companies give less of a deal on wet food because the dry food probably has a much higher profit margin for the makers so you find better coupons. That's just my theory but I'm guessing it's a good one. Sounds like an increase may be on the way and one of these days it will work. Try not to stress out too much.
 
Re: 6/2 Jupiter AMPS/300 another increase? question - food

I really hate for you all to think I am terrible for wanting to feed the civies dry food this month - and if I had another option I wouldnt. I know it can be bad for them. I always put my furbabies first, but I really feel like this time I need to do something to take care of myself. If I can even save $25 this month on their food... Thats enough money for gas so that I can go to pittsburgh to see my kidney doctor. I feel like my kidneys are getting much worse. I really think that I need to do what I can to be able to go to see that doctor - because if I dont go soon, and keep getting worse... I may not even be able to take care of them at all...I just think if they can eat the dry food for even a single month-I can go see that doctor - and I can get myself better enough to help Dane with selling stuff so we can get caught back up financially. (Dane works a normal job, plus takes care of me and Jupiter. We sell collectibles on Ebay - and with the pain I have been dealing with - I havent been able to help him get items listed and sold - so we have gotten very behind financially)

I love these cats so much - and I hate to do anything that is bad for them... like feeding them dry food... so please just understand why I feel like I need to feed them dry this month...I wish there was something else I could do
 
Re: 6/2 Jupiter PMPS/314 increased dose tonight

(((((Jamie))))) That is a lousy choice to have to make. You definitely need to take care of yourself and that's hard for beans to do sometimes. Do what you need to do to heal.

Liz
 
Re: 6/2 Jupiter PMPS/314 increased dose tonight

+3 - 258...

maybe this will be an active cycle tonight???? Will test again at +5 unless anyone advises otherwise?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top