6/2 Gabby PMPS~303, +1~280, +2~246, +3~200, +4~207

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Member Since 2009
Moderator
Yesterday's Condo

It's a dreary morning in these parts. I'm going out of town tomorrow until Sunday for a conference. I used to love to travel. Now, I worry. I'd much rather be at home keeping an eye on Gabby's numbers. Every so often, someone will mention the bond that forms with a diabetic cat. While I can't speak for the cat, I think Gabby's FD has made me incredibly over protective.

First half of breakfast is done. All five P's are present and accounted for.
 
Re: 6/2 Gabby AMPS~304, +1~284

Sienne - I sure can relate as I even hate to leave the house. Do you board Gabby or have someone come in? We have an overnight trip planned for June 12 & I am wondering how to handle it. Any tips are greatly appreciated.

Hope you & Gabby have a great day!
 
Re: 6/2 Gabby AMPS~304, +1~284

I am sorry you have to leave Sienne....we will miss you too... :roll:
Wait a minute.....

I know Gabby will of course, but what about US? How can you go away like that? :o
Sure, you can get someone to come in and check on Gabby or put her in a good place to board her for those days....
but what about US HERE? what are WE going to do? Did you even give US one minute's thought? nailbite_smile This is terrible.....
You so casually mention that you are leaving for a few days....and we are supposed to be all happy about that?
Like: "Oh..have a great trip Sienne..." and all that...
no.
this is just not right Sienne....
I feel bad for Gabby but I feel worse for US....can you cancel? :-|
Well, F I N E.
if that's the way you want to be ....we will have to just deal with it. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 6/2 Gabby AMPS~304, +1~284

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
I am sorry you have to leave Sienne....we will miss you too... :roll:
Wait a minute.....

I know Gabby will of course, but what about US? How can you go away like that? :o
Sure, you can get someone to come in and check on Gabby or put her in a good place to board her for those days....
but what about US HERE? what are WE going to do? Did you even give US one minute's thought? nailbite_smile This is terrible.....
You so casually mention that you are leaving for a few days....and we are supposed to be all happy about that?
Like: "Oh..have a great trip Sienne..." and all that...
no.
this is just not right Sienne....
I feel bad for Gabby but I feel worse for US....can you cancel? :-|
Well, F I N E.
if that's the way you want to be ....we will have to just deal with it. :YMSIGH:

:lol: That was so good, it was worth repeating! :lol:
 
Re: 6/2 Gabby AMPS~304, +1~284

OH YES! - a definitely worth repeating! That was good. Have a good and safe trip! I can so relate to how when one leaves one worries. It is the same here. I day hike alot, and worry the whole time I am away from home. I always come home to a cat that has been safe - and cared for. Aiyee - it is the narture of the beast. They are our babies, worry comes with the turf.

Hope Gabby has a great day today! Be good to your bean Gabby - she will miss you, and worries too.
 
Re: 6/2 Gabby AMPS~304, +1~284, +2~244

Thank you!!

I would be remiss in pointing out, however, that I have traveled before. I somehow manage to check in on condos. Reading condos and posting has become so much a part of my day that it feels wrong to not be logging in periodically. (How do the OTJ beans just disappear?) I may not visit everyone, but I'll be around. While I usually don't have my laptop with me during sessions at this meeting (and most of the rooms aren't internet enabled anyway), I do have my iPhone. Looking at SSs can be challenging but reading condos -- no problem.

(And the best part of this trip? I get to hang out with Cyn/Cosmo and Miriam/Putty!! Oh, and my sister. So now, are you jealous?)
 
Re: 6/2 Gabby AMPS~304, +1~284, +2~244

Oh, YES...color ME very jealous....
That is so great Sienne!!! Have you all met in person in the past? Please give everyone a special hug from me...that will e great for you all!! Hope you have a great time!!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/2 Gabby AMPS~304, +1~284, +2~244

I am sure gabby will do fine, and I agree with what pat said ... even though our cat's were diagnosed around the same time, you seem to have caught onto learning about this whole thing much quicker then me, and you can always put it into laymans terms for me! As far as being able to leave gabby ... well, I have no advice on that issue .. I can throw myself into a panic attack leaving mocha while I run ten minutes to town!
 
Re: 6/2 Gabby AMPS~304, +1~284, +2~244

I think we all feel the same way about leaving our little sugar kitties! I don't even trust DH2B when I'm gone!!! Just the thought of leaving him with someone else for a week sends me into a panic attack. Enjoy your trip!
 
Re: 6/2 Gabby AMPS~304, +1~284, +2~244, +3~230

Enjoy your trip, Sienne! We will manage to soldier on here, just hoping to hear a line or two from you while you're away.... :cry:

Just kidding, have a great time and enjoy hanging out with Miriam and Cyn! I love the iPhone for checking in on the board; it makes it so easy to keep in touch. I, too, wonder about the OTJ beans who pull a disappearing act. Anyway, have fun! Gabby, be good for your bean while she's gone. She worries about you.
 
Re: 6/2 Gabby AMPS~304, +1~284, +2~244, +3~230

Have a great trip, Sienne... and be good, Gabby!

It was tough for me to be gone for nearly two weeks. but for us, it really gave DH a chance to step up and handle Vesta's business. Until then, I'd really taken the lead, and he wasn't super-comfortable with things. Now, he's great at it, and Vesta's great with him. There's no more stress feeding back from one to the other and so on. So for us, it ended up being a good thing, overall.
 
Re: 6/2 Gabby AMPS~304, +1~284, +2~244, +3~230

Of course you will worry about Gabby Sienne. Which pet sitter do you have coming in?
The last time was not too bad with her. I think it was worse for you. :-D

So it sounds like you are coming out east?? Too bad its not a little more north.
You so have to get to a Candian conference.

Gabby has been doing so well.
 
Re: 6/2 Gabby AMPS~304, +1~284, +2~244, +3~230

And when you go to that future Canadian conference, you can check out the Adirondacks, too (we're just over the border). Have a great trip, Sienne! Enjoy the company of Cyn and Miriam and your sister and don't worry about Gabby. Our kitties will keep their eyes on her. If we have a problem, we'll do what we think you would tell us to do!
Bon voyage!
Ella & Stu
 
Re: 6/2 Gabby AMPS~304, +1~284, +2~244, +3~230

That's it we really need to have a reunion!!
Hope your trip is fabulous, Cyn & Miriam are an added plus!! Hope you guys have fun together and that all the kitties are great!
 
Re: 6/2 Gabby AMPS~304, +1~284, +2~244, +3~230, PMPS~303

poor Gabby, being left all alone with an evil petsitter and a KITTEN! Oh the horrors...

It is hard to leave, isn't it? I'm supposed to go out of town overnight this weekend and I'm wishing I could cancel. But we do have to have lives, or so they say.

DPS dose.... will DPS be using the timed feeder? Gabby's numbers are (shhhh.... antijinx) fairly calm right now and 1.25 would probably be ok if the DPS can measure that amount. If you're not sure, I would go with 1 unit. Then encourage use of the timed feeder.

Verra jealous that you get to meet Miriam and CynCyn.
 
Re: 6/2 Gabby DPS dose?

I'm thinking of having the DPS shoot 1.25u but I'd love to get some input.

Gabby also seems to tolerate this DPS better than my previous DPS (who was convinced that Gabby hated her). We're going to try testing. Usually, it's an accomplishment if DPS can give a shot. Gabby will hide, hiss, spit, and swat and if that isn't enough, has lost bowel control due to the stress of someone else shooting. (The latter happened only once.) This DPS actually climbed on top of a trashcan to investigate where Gabby was hiding, fed her in her "spot" and gave her a shot there -- and came away uninjured. I'm not sure she'll be able to test, but we'll see.

If she's able to test, I'm thinking of a BCS dose of 1.0 if Gabby tests under 200 and a skipped shot if under 150. Thoughts?

OK - so I was just about to post this when I saw Libby's note. Maybe just a 1.0 and not make it difficult? And yes, I'll have the timed feeder set up. (Although I'm thinking of the 2 compartment one since it stays open vs. the "automat" where the compartments shift around and close off.
 
Re: 6/2 Gabby AMPS~304, +1~284, +2~244, +3~230

Sarah and Buzz said:
I, too, wonder about the OTJ beans who pull a disappearing act.

Can you all pile the guilt on any heavier?

For me, I stopped posting so much b/c of several reasons
1) doctoral comprehensive exams (which took place during our 1st OTJ anniversary)
2) my dissertation (I'll come post EVERY day if someone will do my diss for me)
3) the new board (that's not really an excuse... but it sounded good for a second)
4) the hordes of new people. I love new people, but it can be overwhelming!

Anyway. Gabby will be FINE. I don't have any words of wisdom to help you not worry though. No fancy confronting your own cognitive distortions?? I'll pay out of pocket for a session if you can get me to not worry while I'm out of town. I drive my DPS batty sometimes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top