? 6/19 Wrigley AMPS-93 +12.5-96 No Shot | +22-419 | PMPS-410 | 3-286

Status
Not open for further replies.

ewalker405

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

We increased Wrigley to 1 unit yesterday and then this morning had an reading of 93 at his normal AM shot time. I didn't give him his shot or any food and tested 30 min later before I had to leave for work and he was 96. Since neither of us would be home to test him at all during the day and since this forum was down and I couldn't get advice, we skipped his shot. Was that the right move? I was too scared to shoot even a smaller dose since this is the lowest he has been before a shot in a long time and nobody would be there to check on him for about 10 hours.

What other options would I have for a situation like this? Knowing that nobody will be checking on him during a week day, what number should I not shoot below and/or what number should I shoot like a half dose or something?

Thanks for any help with this. Just when I think I have a good grasp on everything, something like this comes up and I couldn't access the forum resources to look up everything I have read in the last few months. I wasn't really sure what is the best thing to do
 
You did fine....you made the decision that you felt would keep Wrigley safest, and safety always comes first! With this being Wrigley's lowest PS number along with no one being home to test, not shooting was probably the best decision. Eventually you will become more comfortable with shooting a number like this, but we do like to work our way down a little more gradually - again, for safety reasons. Hopefully Wrigley will ease down those PS numbers and you will get used to shooting lower and lower and you gather more data.

Every once in a while the board does go down like that, and when it happens it does present us with all sorts of issues!
 
You made the right decision!

The number you decided to shoot during the week when you can't monitor can only come from experience. You need to collect data on days when you can monitor to know how Wrigley responds to food and insulin.

You might find that tonight his number is much higher than you want, but it goes with the territory. When you have a lower PS on a weekend or in the evening when you can monitor you will have to decide if you are going to shoot, reduce, or skip. Skipping is usually the last option if you will be able to monitor, but its is probably the first option if you can't monitor at all.
 
I agree with Amy & Tina. Shooting low is awesome, but only after you've done it enough times that you have data that show what he'll do after the shot. You kept him safe today - that's the most important thing.

If you have a preshot like this when you're going to be home to test afterwards, then go for it. In the meantime, skipping is probably the best choice. I'm really glad to see that his dose has gotten to the point of giving him green preshots, though - that's great.
 
Thanks everyone. I wish this pre shot green was a night time or weekend so I could shoot and test him to see how he reacts.

Sienne, I did survive the Hawks craziness. It was pretty cool though. My wife and I both work downtown so the day of the parade was insane. So many people everywhere. If the Cubs ever win a world series, that is when it will really get insane though. I can't even imagine what is going to happen in Chicago then.

Wrigley was 419 at 10 hours and then 410 at his PMPS. I am going to get a test in 30 min or an hour to see if he is coming down from this high number. I imagine the skipped shot will affect him for a while though.
 
I think you're saying that 10 hrs past the skipped shot he's at 419. You can call that +22 since all the + hours are counted from the last show given. I would assume you could skip testing anymore tonight with those numbers +the skipped shot.
 
He actually dropped down to 286 after 3 hours. After the skipped shot, I didn't expect him to come down much. He came down 124 in 3 hours.
 
The law allows meters to have a variance of 20%. That means that a cat at 350 could test from 280-420, all from the same drop of blood. Not the most helpful!

Fortunately in low numbers the 20% doesn't mean as much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top