6/19 Stu AMPS 311, +9.5 248 doscrease? PMPS 287

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: viewtopic.php?p=173693#p173693

Good Caturday, Everyone,

Stu is starting this day in pink. We'll see what happens today (this is cycle no. 8 on 1 unit), but maybe we should take his dose back up to 1.25. It's a beautiful summer-like morning here and they say it will be hot today. Stu ate all the food in his automat last night. This morning we spent about an hour outside, exploring. Mr. Cat dug himself a litterbox and used it and then spent about 10 minutes covering it with leaves and getting it just right. Then he spied a moth and had a grand time chasing it. Then he didn't want to come in, but I wanted him to eat installment # 2 of breakfast so that he doesn't drop too fast. Now he's napping on my porch. For the beans today will be another chore day: taking the trash and the recyclables to the landfill, shopping, farmers' market, and my DH is baking bread (one of his hobbies). I hope to finally get out on my bike for an hour or so this morning.
Back later. Everyone have a great day.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 6/19 Stu AMPS 311

You always have such interesting things planned for yourself Ella....hope Stu comes down out of those girlie pinks numbers for you soon. Shadow did his 310 last night....so I guess he won today's AMPS with a blue 196. Who knows where the day will take him though....hope you have a wonderful day and thanks for the bread info...I can almost smell it now...thanks a LOT Ella! :YMSIGH:
Can you pass a piece through the computer later for us...? Huh?
 
Re: 6/19 Stu AMPS 311

I'd love to pass the bread through the computer. It's the "no-knead" kind developed by the Sullivan St. Bakery in NYC. You can Google "No-knead bread" and get the recipes. It's super easy to make and it is wonderful: basically it's a free-form French country loaf with great, chewy crust. Edward bakes it in a clay cloche, but the recipe calls for a Dutch oven. It gets baked at a high temperature.

Ella
 
Re: 6/19 Stu AMPS 311, +2 258

Such adventures so early in the a.m. Stu! Wonderful of your bean to encourage this. :mrgreen:
I hope you can get yourself out of those higher numbers, buddy!
Enjoy your day...other than taking out the trash and recycling...sounds like a lovely day planned!
 
Re: 6/19 Stu AMPS 311, +2 258

Ella & Stu - your morning sounds like paradise, wonderful! Loved how Stu takes such care in covering up his stuff!! And, I did google the bread recipe. Sounds fabulous & can't wait to try it. I just love really good bread. Thanks for sharing.
 
Re: 6/19 Stu AMPS 311, +2 258

Lordie be I do love good bread. Can smell and taste it now. YUM!

Such adventures for Stu this morning. Love the outdoor LB. Mannie loves that kind of stuff. The other two?: no way they will come indoors to use it.

Hey Stu! Dude! Look at me - man i made BLUE this morning - a 135!!! I dodged another bullet, and no dose up for me. Phew - but my bean was muttering something about I had better surf this. wow - demanding isn't she! Hey - cool on the outdoor LB - they are the best. Later ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 6/19 Stu AMPS 311, +2 258, +4 233

Edward, my DH, says to tell everyone who is interested in baking the Sullivan St. Bakery no-knead bread that it is important to use "instant yeast" (this is specified in the recipe). You probably can't find it in the markets, but you can order it from King Arthur Flour company. One package will last for about 4 years of regular baking. You keep it in the freezer. http://www.kingarthurflour.com/

Stu isn't coming down very quickly, but maybe he'll have a slow, steady lowering of numbers all day.

Ella
 
Re: 6/19 Stu AMPS 311, +2 258, +4 233

did someone say bread? mmmmmmm!

Stu is nicely out of those pinks which is wonderful to see!
 
Re: 6/19 Stu AMPS 311, +2 258, +4 233

All these yummy fresh baked bread discussions. Geez! Now I'm starving!

Sounds like Stu had a lovely morning even if he did spend a lot of the time just covering his outdoor 'litterbox', so cute! :lol:
 
Re: 6/19 Stu AMPS 311, +2 258, +4 233

What's the rush Stu? Let's keep a nice even surf here w/ no big drops. That way you can win the PMPS.

Yeah!! for DH who bake bread, mine does too. Has he tried cooking it right on the grill? My DH does it w/ his baguette recipe. Make 3" patties, half in thick, rise, brush w/ olive oil, put directly on grill and it's done in 2 to 3 minutes a side! I froze the patties and took them to the desert last week. We add a little chopped fresh rosemary too.
 
Re: 6/19 Stu AMPS 311, +2 258, +4 233

NOW I'M REALLY HUNGRY!!!! grr_red -we only eat whole wheat though--DRAT!! :cry:
Sounds like a banner morning for Stu!! Looking like Stu will may get some blue today!!
Love his outdoor activities, he really enjoys the outdoors!! His beans do too!!
hAVE A BEAUTIFUL CATURDAY--hUGS FROM US-- :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 6/19 Stu AMPS 311, +2 258, +4 233, +6 206

My DH uses about 1/3 whole wheat and 2/3 bread flour. (he has also modified the basic recipe to include 2 tablespoons of his sourdough "starter"--just to keep the yeasties happy and for zest and tang).

Getting closer to blue!!!

Ella
 
Re: 6/19 Stu AMPS 311, +2 258, +4 233, +6 206

Stu - dude! you are almost blue - you can do it! I'm green - YAY, so come and join me. I hear that there is lots to explore under the surface, which makes scuba diving so fun. Not too sure my bean would agree, kinda freaks her out some. Later !! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 6/19 Stu AMPS 311, +4 233, +6 206, +9.5 248 doscrease?

Hi again,
Stu seems not to be holding the 1-unit dose (this is the 8th cycle on this dose and the second day of bgs in the 200s, after the 311 PMPS, that is). Is it time to go back up to 1.25 units? Or should I fatten the 1 unit? Or should I go another couple of cycles on the present dose? Advice and/or opinion would be welcome. I'd like to get him back to blues and higher greens.
Thanks for help!
See you all again later,

Ella
 
Re: 6/19 Stu AMPS 311, +4 233, +6 206, +9.5 248 doscrease?

No advice from me, I just wanted to say that the bread sounds yummy! :-D Good luck with the dosecrease if you end up doing it. Just try to remember to give the increased dose instead of the old dose, which is more than I can say for myself. :oops:

Stu-
Man, we're hanging out in yellows today. I don't mind it but my bean sure does. Maybe we can hit blues or greens together tonight, and Shadow and Mannie too. It'd be great if we could get Blackie to come with us, too. Have a fun day and see if you can sneak a little morsel of that bread when your bean's back is turned.
<3, Buzz
 
Re: 6/19 Stu AMPS 311, +4 233, +6 206, +9.5 248 doscrease?

take this with a grain of salt... but i'd go back to the dose that was successful... then again he was scuba diving, wasn't he. maybe fatten the one unit? good luck with your decision - hopefully the guru's will be along shortly...
 
Re: 6/19 Stu AMPS 311, +4 233, +6 206, +9.5 248 doscrease?

Hey Stu! Did you hear? Your momma is threatening a dosecrease. You know what that means. Let's both surf the blues and greens and show her. Blackie ps I don't like hairballs, but I do like my momma to brush me. You should try it sometime.
 
Re: 6/19 Stu AMPS 311, +4 233, +6 206, +9.5 248 doscrease?

hmmm, Stu *could* still be bouncing from the 35. It looks like he usually clears faster than this, but the pink followed by flat yellow looks kinda like a bounce. Might be better to wait til morning to increase, just to be sure. That being said, I have no problem with experienced folks being more aggressive, so if you want to go ahead and increase tonight, just monitor closely.
 
Thanks, Libby. I didn't see your post until after I shot 1.25 units. His PMPS is 287. I will be sure to stay up late tonight to monitor. And we'll be home all day tomorrow. I really have to learn how better to interpret Stu's numbers!

thanks again,

Ella
 
Ella & Stu said:
Thanks, Libby. I didn't see your post until after I shot 1.25 units. His PMPS is 287. I will be sure to stay up late tonight to monitor. And we'll be home all day tomorrow. I really have to learn how better to interpret Stu's numbers!

It's ok, that's probably what I would have done too (note that I haven't let any grass grow under Jazzy's feet on her doses, when you have some good experience and a not-new diabetic, you can be aggressive). I just have to point out the patterns so you'll understand what is going on if he drops, and so any newbies/lurkers will understand.
 
uuhhoohhh Stu, my man, looks like your bean raised your dose tonight...you know that may not make her very happy, don't you? Man, you need to get back to those pretty blues and greens pronto! Beans like that, you know...so get moving dude, but try not to get to low...beans don't like that.

Oh, and that outside litter box thing...dude, how do you do that? No way, Jose would you catch me doing the squinty out in my yard...to many eyes out there...those darn squirrels are always pestering me and I wouldn't put it past them to have a little camera tucked neatly away in their tails just to take my picture as I go...no way, man...no way!!!

Well, gotta run...Take care, chef, and see you at the next get-to. Let me know if there is anything I can help you with. I wouldn't mind taking a shot at cooking.
s/Spot
 
Stu - dude! They upped your dose? That's ok though, isn't it? You're right - we both could use some tuna pizza. tomorrow is another day - i hope we both have great rides, uh surfs, then! later ~~ Mannie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top