6/19 Raja AMPS=92 ~ PMPS=94

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Member Since 2009
AMPS=96 ~S0.5u Lev
+3=85
+7=73
PMPS=113 ~S0.5u Lev
+3=87
+7=99
AMPS=92 ~S0.5u Lev (23rd cycle)

Yesterday
Happy Father's Day to all the dads out there this morning! Raja has only 3 Ps so far today and is otherwise full of surprises for her Mama. She has been jumping up on the table for her tests! Now that I have written that in her condo, it will probably mean that she will be finished with THAT little trick any minute now! :lol: But, after speaking to Shadow about my wish that she would jump up, she has been doing just that and this morning, she was up on the table before Shadow was in his spot on the testing towel!

CD, if you are reading this: My original plan for our trip to NY was for 4 days. Since Raja was on such a small dose ().25u) and since (1) I was not sure that my DPS would be good at measuring that exact dose and (2) I was not sure that Raja would be willing to let DPS test and shoot her, I decided to just skip her shots and let the PS just shoot Shadow with a lowered dose during those few days.
Unfortunately, the blizzard hit NY and it delayed our return home! Instead of being gone for 4 days, we were stuck there for 7 days......

If I was going to now be away for a week or more, I am not sure what I would actually do with Raja in this case with her low dose.

I wonder if anyone else has any thoughts about your trip and Big Mac's insulin. I was not happy with Raja's jump into the yellows without insulin. Both kitties took awhile to get back to where they were before I left after getting reduced insulin for that time. (it took Raja about 11-12 days of yellows and even a pink!!) But, my main concern for them both was their possible stress at my not being there plus any complications that could possible arise from their lack of sufficient insulin along with that stress of our being away and the change in their routines.

I think mostly about DKA....how suddenly it can come upon them without sufficient insulin. I am being brutally honest here and hope that you can discuss this with the experts rather than using Raja's SS as a guide...hmmm...it was not my intention to be gone for a week...but that's what happened. It might be totally fine it the kitty is on such a low dose to just not get any insulin for a week...but I am not 100% confident of that and would feel better if you could discuss it with others.

Thinking of visiting my daughter in Oregon and believe me, the thought of driving with my two kitties from Florida across the country is about the only way I would be happy doing that trip. Can you even imagine that? For a visit??
Needless to say, plans are still on hold! LOL
 
Re: 6/19 Raja AMPS=92

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Thinking of visiting my daughter in Oregon and believe me, the thought of driving with my two kitties from Florida across the country is about the only way I would be happy doing that trip. Can you even imagine that? For a visit??
Needless to say, plans are still on hold! LOL


I can imagine that drive. Ugh!!! When I was 17, my Dad, Mom and I moved from Victoria,BC to Fort Lauderdalefor my senior year in HS. We drove. And we didn't have any cats. That was one looooooooooooooooooooooooooong trip.

Miss Raja is doing so well. Jumping up for testing and giving you some pretty greens.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 6/19 Raja AMPS=92

Fantastic that Raja jumped on the table for her test! Paws clapping!

As for travel, I'm not sure what I'd do too.

I just traveled with Junior to LA and wrote some travel tips when I got back. We brought Junior out with us because it was cheaper than getting a pet sitter. Plus a pet sitter probably would shoot and leave and not test and monitor throughout the day.

It would probably take the cat time to adjust to their new environment. ECID and Junior adjusted quickly because we stayed at my old condo. Even though we moved out 4 years ago, he still remembered everything and felt like he was at home. However he had never been to SF before and was a little more stressed when we were in San Francisco.

If it was a weekend, I'd leave them at home but 4 days -- I agree with the possibility of DKA and am interested in seeing what the experts would say.
 
Great travel pointers! Many thanks for sharing those! Excellent ideas!
I doubt our car trip will come about. It is just too crazy to even think about seriously.....oh well. time for Plan B. :mrgreen:

AMPS=92 S0.5u Lev
+3=94
+7=95
PMPS=94 ~S0.5u Lev
Well, what is this with the steady numbers today...hardly moving much at all? A little lower please Raja....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top