6/19 Mijo AMPS 575 +3 321

DaveL

Member Since 2023
Can someone take a look at my chart again please. Do I need another correction to 1.25 Units?

Mijo's numbers are all over the board. I am starting to give a higher carb treat at +3 day and night to see if that helps. Still nothing seems to help. His day and night numbers are usually always Hi or very close to HI!!! I just can't figure it out.
It almost doesn't seem to be a bounce each day and that seems to be his Hi and Low after the insulin wears off.... What is the best advice on how to work this number down? Does he need another correction to start bringing this down? His Nadir some days looks to be around 120-160. However, he is jumping so high back and forth every day. That can't be good for a cat. Has anyone seen these type of large jumps before? Is it better to stay the course and see if his body gets use to this?

@Suzanne & Darcy , @Christie & Maverick
 
Hi Dave. It doesn't look like he needs a higher carb treat at +3, but I'm not sure how many carbs you are talking about. I'd stick with LC stuff for the early snacks. His numbers are a bit all over the place, and you've been seeing some decent nadirs a lot of the time -- and that's why you were holding the dose longer -- because of those blues (and the odd green or two.) In my opinion, you could try increasing the dose now to 1.25 units as long as you are doing your usual good job of monitoring him. I am wondering about what happened today before he went black? Can you try to get some tests in tonight to make sure things are not going lower than we think? Then see where he is tonight before increasing?
 
Has anyone seen these type of large jumps before?
I didn't really address this part, but yes, we have seen this kind of thing before. Mijo hasn't been diagnosed for that long of a time -- about 2 months. He needs more time. Sorry that kind of stinks to say that!
 
I was trying a medium carb wet food treat around +3. Around a tablespoon to see if that would help if he was bouncing. I can stop that.

Yes Mijo gets fed at +8 a smaller meal. And then a large meal at his shot at night (PMPS). So AMPS (large meal), +8 small meal, PMPS (larger meal).

I will monitor for a few days and try to get a reading every hour starting tomorrow so i can try and get a good representation of what is happening. I may not be able to do that at night, but I will do my best. I will try that a few days before i would raise him up.
 
I don't think you need to stay up every hour. Just try to get a +6 daytime (I'm not saying only a +6 but with a few other spot checks.) You do have to get some sleep at night, too... can't stay up all night! Funny, usually I am trying to persuade people to get night time tests at all! I don't want you completely exhausted. But do get some. I do think you have the wiggle room for the increase and you've held this dose extra cycles (even after the last skip) due to the blue/green nadirs. I think you could see some lower green nadirs above 50. Just keep up the snacks before nadir like we've already talked about so many times and you are already doing. So when you are ready, unless Mijo decides to show us something really special :D I would increase to 1.25 units if he were my cat.
 
Dave, I'm trying to check up on how things are going with you and Mijo. Can you update your spreadsheet and make a new post for today so that this one from yesterday won't get bumped up to the top anymore?
 
Back
Top