6/19 Hershey PMPS(308) +3.5(263) +6(174) +10(258)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
HAPPY TUESDAY!

If you saw my post from yesterday you noticed that Hershey's cycle fizzled somewhere between +7 & +8.75. I can't figure what happened...

And, today -

AMPS (328) +12 - Shot s.5u at 8:10am
+3.5 (347)

What in the world? Was my skinny too skinny? I rubbed him after I shot, checking for possibility of a fur shot and detected (what I thought) was a faint smell of insulin. (But, that could've been my imagination because I'm so afraid of giving fur shots...) I felt nothing even damp.

I'd appreciate any thoughts...Thanks!!!

Libby (and Hershey, too!)

+6.5 (256) - fed
+9.75 (286)

PMPS (308) +12 - Shot s.5u at 8:00 pm
+3.5 (263)
+6 (174) - fed
+10 (258)
 
Re: 6/19 Hershey AMPS(328) +3.5(347) Any ideas??

Hi guys .. no advice from me .. if this is a new dose, it might take a few cycles for hershey to settle into it ... But others might be more in tune with what is going on .. just hang in there, you're doing great!
 
Re: 6/19 Hershey AMPS(328) +3.5(347) Any ideas??

Hershey's cycle didn't fizzle -- at least not to my eyes. I think what you're seeing is fairly predictable. Hershey bounced.

In looking at your SS from pre-Lev days, Hershey is used to spending most of his time in BG ranges that are above 200. In fact, he's used to being in yellows and pinks. When this happens, it's like the cat's body has reinterpreted what "normal" BG levels are. So, Hershey became acclimated to a BG that's higher than desirable. (This is termed glucose toxicity.) When numbers come down into what is truly a normal range, the liver panics and releases glucagon (a stored form of glucose) along with counterregulatory hormones in order to boost BG levels out of what the liver is treating as a dangerous range. (The same thing happens if a cats numbers do fall into a lower range or drop too fast. All sorts of things trigger a bounce.) It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear.

The good news is that the more time Hershey spends in lower BG ranges, the more his liver will adjust to what the true normal is. (We refer to this as Liver Training School or LTS.) However, it does take time and patience.
 
Re: 6/19 Hershey AMPS(328) +3.5(347) Any ideas??

Happy Tuesday to you, too!

from yesterday's thread:
Doug N Libby said:
Not budging out of the 300's (thankful he's not going into the 400's, though), so will try the skinny .5u at 8pm. We hold it for 4 doses (instead of 6?) unless he goes too low, correct?
plan on holding the dose for 6 cycles (unless he goes too low). however, let's see how things go. if it becomes obvious he needs that extra 0.1u added back onto the dose, we can re-evaluate after the 4th cycle at 0.4 unit.


Doug N Libby said:
If you saw my post from yesterday you noticed that Hershey's cycle fizzled somewhere between +7 & +8.75. I can't figure what happened...
as sienne mentioned, you could have been seeing a bounce last night combined with not yet getting enough action from the increased dose to keep the numbers down the entire cycle.

those who come from one of the P insulins often have a difficult time adjusting to the concept of the "cumulative" action of the L insulins. in other words, one dose builds upon the next. last night was the very first cycle at the increased dose of 0.4 unit. it'll take a few more cycles before we see what 0.4u can really do.

Doug N Libby said:
And, today -

AMPS (328) +12 - Shot s.5u at 8:10am
+3.5 (347)

What in the world? Was my skinny too skinny? I rubbed him after I shot, checking for possibility of a fur shot and detected (what I thought) was a faint smell of insulin. (But, that could've been my imagination because I'm so afraid of giving fur shots...) I felt nothing even damp.

I'd appreciate any thoughts...Thanks!!!
so far, today's cycle pretty much reinforces comments above about seeing a bounce from the blue combined with not yet seeing the full effects (cumulative action) of the increased dose.

i think it's encouraging to see that hershey dropped into blues on the very first cycle of the increased dose.

i know it's frustrating to see the pinks, but hang in there. the bounce will clear and we will once again see some action from the insulin.

make sense?

please continue asking questions. we'll do our best to get you the answers/explanations you need.
 
Re: 6/19 Hershey AMPS(328) +3.5(347) +6.5(256)

Thank you, Sienne and Jill - Your explanations helped. I'd never thought about bouncing from blues, but it makes sense.

+6.5 (256) - I'll take it! :-D
 
Re: 6/19 Hershey AMPS(328) +3.5(347) +6.5(256)

Time for a HAPPY DANCE!!!!
dancing_cat

Grayson got a BLUE today!!! WOO HOO!!!
 
Re: 6/19 Hershey PMPS(308)

just checking in to see how Hershey is doing on his new dose. I'm traveling this week so haven't been able to sneak onto the board from work. ;-) I'm glad Jill was able to answer your questions. Looks good!
 
Re: 6/19 Hershey PMPS(308)

Hi Libby, welcome to Lantus Land. You are getting great advice. I hope Hershey does well on Lantus.

It's helpful if you link to your previous condo. You can do that with the URL button above.
Here's what it looks like, minus the opening and closing square brackets:
url=http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=73358]Yesterday[/url

Then the link looks Iike this:
Yesterday
Liz, Zener's other mom
 
Re: 6/19 Hershey PMPS(308) +3.5(263)

Thanks, Anne. I was wondering how to do that. I really DO learn something new every day! :-D

Libby (& Hershey, too!)

+3.5 (263)
 
Re: 6/19 Hershey PMPS(308) +3.5(263) +6(174)

Thanks, Marje

+6 (174) Was going to wait until +7 to test/feed, but Mr. Mouthy wouldn't be quiet. I went ahead at +6 so Doug could sleep. Honestly, aren't they just like children sometimes?!

Maybe now I can sleep, too :-D
 
Re: 6/19 Hershey PMPS(308) +3.5(263) +6(174)

Nice cycle, but more importantly...HAPPY BIRTHDAY!
Carl
 
THANKS, Carl! :-D Hershey has been kind enough to run his mouth so I'd be awake for most of my birthday so far - what a guy! :lol:

+10 (258)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top