6/19 Fred AMPS 646 Petsitter gave Lantus instead of Lev

Purrberry

Member Since 2020
It was a mistake. They happen. But dear God. It was partly my fault, as I forgot to change the word "Lantus" to "Levemir" on his instruction sheet. But she knew we had changed insulins...we had had about 18 conversations about it ahead of time. I had kept the Lantus, tucked back in its box and hidden in the corner of the fridge, in case of emergency- i.e. the Lev bottle got dropped. The Lev bottle was front and center. She said herself that her instincts were telling her the Lantus wasn't right...but she didn't contact me to double-check. She feels terrible, as she really is a great sitter, I feel terrible, but mostly, Fred feels terrible. :-(( Ketones so far in OK range-will check again when she arrives tonight. (and a newly learned skill for the petsitter)

I was afraid then to mess with the Lev dose and potentially throw another monkey wrench in the whole thing. He was already bouncing high on the reduced vaca dose...ugh....what a mess! I am royally screwing this all up!!

Sorry. Had to vent. :(
 
I'm sorry, how stressful for you! It may be that the blacks are not because of the mistake in insulin, but just a combo of reduced vacay dose, plus he still bounces when he gets to blues, try not to worry :bighug:. It's good your petsitter is testing BG and for ketones as well.
 
Back
Top