6/19, Binie PMPS 429, +3 242, +5.5 68, so many reductions in such a short time?

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-18-binie-amps-394-3-244-6-261.291257/#post-3187671

Good evening,

even though I gave Binie some high carb yesterday evening because she was dropping again quickly and I had some sensor fails, which scared me, she went quite low again and because she was falling so quickly I gave a moderate drop of sugar syrup again. I did another reduction to 1.5 today and she was red and pink all day.

I am really confused how quick I have to reduce the insulin. Is this typical and the right thing to do? I measured ketones today at +5.5 and she was higher as usual. I know that 0.2 mmol/dl is still very good but I concerns me that her ketones rise. I will check that more often the next days. I am aware that the reduction might fail because the depot of the much larger doses was still in place.

I hope tonight we get a bit more sleep. Hope everyone is having a peaceful evening and night! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Once some cats reach their breakthrough dose they fly down the dosing scale. Hopefully that’s what’s happening as some go into remission quickly. I must add that the Libre often reads a lot lower than an ear prick so if at all possible an ear prick is suggested. Please update your spreadsheet if you haven’t yet.
 
Once some cats reach their breakthrough dose they fly down the dosing scale. Hopefully that’s what’s happening as some go into remission quickly. I must add that the Libre often reads a lot lower than an ear prick so if at all possible an ear prick is suggested. Please update your spreadsheet if you haven’t yet.

Thank you so much Elise! :bighug::bighug::bighug: O.k., so I really hope that is a breakthrough. I am just overwhelmed it goes so fast. Yes, it is also my experience that most of the time the libre reads lower if you come below 100. Unfortunately at the moment it is rather difficult to prick her. Sometimes it works, sometimes not and I don't try to often because I even got problems giving her shots lately if I bother her too much. The ss is updated. Hope you have a nice evening! :cat:
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-18-binie-amps-394-3-244-6-261.291257/#post-3187671

Good evening,

even though I gave Binie some high carb yesterday evening because she was dropping again quickly and I had some sensor fails, which scared me, she went quite low again and because she was falling so quickly I gave a moderate drop of sugar syrup again. I did another reduction to 1.5 today and she was red and pink all day.

I am really confused how quick I have to reduce the insulin. Is this typical and the right thing to do? I measured ketones today at +5.5 and she was higher as usual. I know that 0.2 mmol/dl is still very good but I concerns me that her ketones rise. I will check that more often the next days. I am aware that the reduction might fail because the depot of the much larger doses was still in place.

I hope tonight we get a bit more sleep. Hope everyone is having a peaceful evening and night! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Good luck with the reduction, Heike. I hope Elise is right that you hit just the right dose for Binie!! Paws crossed.
I hope you get a good rest and both sleep well!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good luck with the reduction, Heike. I hope Elise is right that you hit just the right dose for Binie!! Paws crossed.
I hope you get a good rest and both sleep well!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you so much Staci! :bighug::bighug::bighug: Binie just moves down gently so I will take my chance and go to bed in time today. Ivy was so productive today with all her :D:D:D so I hope you have a calm night too!
 
Back
Top