6/18 Tigger 327 AMPS

Breanna H

Member Since 2019
Last thread from 6/13


Hello! It has been a week now on lantus. He has been pretty consistent in the mid 200s to low 300s, as you can see. I know it's only been a week (I tend to be impatient as much as I try not to be) so I'm curious how long until I should see a possible improvement? How long until I should move up .5u?
I know the depot takes a while to build, but it has been more than 6 cycles, so I wasn't sure if a week was too soon to increase since the initial switch.
I really wish my vet would have agreed to levemir. Already at 7u and potentially having to increase, Tigger is an expensive boy. :confused:
 
Last edited:
Go ahead and increase to 7.5 units. The depot takes 5-7 days to build. You only need to hold subsequent doses for 6 cycles (three days) if the lowest numbers you are seeing are nadirs above 200. It's hard to say when you'll see improvement in numbers, but often you see improvement in behaviours as you get closer to that dose that moves them.

Are you buying your insulin for Marks Pharmacy on line? A lot of people in the US do that, it's quite a bit cheaper.
 
Are you buying your insulin for Marks Pharmacy on line? A lot of people in the US do that, it's quite a bit cheaper.
Yes. I got the 5 pen pack from there. I wish I would have bought two packs but I was hesitant since I didn't know how it would work for Tigger and I didn't want to buy more that I needed and waste it. But I'll know better for next time. It should last me roughly 3 months, depending on the dose I end up at.

Go ahead and increase to 7.5 units
Up we go in the AM!
 
Back
Top