6/18 Sylvan AMPS 275 +2 255 +4 257 +6 221 +8 283

Status
Not open for further replies.

sylvan

Member Since 2011
Another yellow. Sylvan loves yellow.

Maybe a dose increase tonight? We'll see how the day goes.

Happy Saturday!
Liz and Sylvan

Yesterday
 
Re: 6/18 Sylvan AMPS 275

Zoe LOVES yellow too! I hope once Sylvan's shed fills you will start to see some action from his dose.....good luck with the Lantus. Have a great weekend!
 
Re: 6/18 Sylvan AMPS 275

Morning guys! Yellow seems to be popular amongst LL kitties today. :-D Good luck with the dosecrease should you decide to go ahead with that.

have a great weekend!
 
Re: 6/18 Sylvan AMPS 275

Tell Sylvan that blue is a much nicer color. Maybe Sylvlan's numbers will come down a little today so you won't have to decide about the dose change.
 
Re: 6/18 Sylvan AMPS 275

Hi Liz, I haven't posted in your condo yet, welcome to LL!

I see that Sylvan has a history of DKA, are you are testing for ketones? If not, please start ASAP.

I would suggest that you get at least a before bed spot check each night, many kitties go lower at night and you are missing half of your data by not getting PM spot checks.

I would not suggest increasing yet, you should allow at least 5 days for the shed to fill before increasing unless Sylvan has ketones.

Tight Regulation Protocol

"General" Guidelines:

Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
 
Re: 6/18 Sylvan AMPS 275 +2 255 +4 257 Have Question?

Hi Laurie,

Thanks for the warm welcome and the reply!

I did have a question though. What is considered ketone-prone? I was considering raising the dose after 6 cycles because he's had ketones before, but just once. Does that make him ketone-prone? He's also still very, very skinny, not sure if that makes a difference.

I am checking for ketones and so far, so good (paws crossed).

I was going to see how the day went. I was hoping he would come down a bit more. All these yellows seem to be taking a toll on him. He's moving very slowly and not meowing or purring anymore. Although he seems to be enjoying the day... he's smiling, if you know what I mean.

And good point about the night spot checks. Our schedule has us shoot right before we go to sleep, but tonight not being a work night, we'll try to get some more data.

Thanks again!!! It can be so confusing and any advice is more than welcome.
 
Re: 6/18 Sylvan AMPS 275 +2 255 +4 257 Have Question?

Hi Liz!!! I'm glad Laurie stopped in to give you advice. She's one of our resident experts and I rely on her A LOT for advice. She's usually spot on. You'll find that patience is the key when dealing with Lantus. Marje (of Marjorie & Gracie) has patience pants that she lets all of us borrow because it can get very frustrating waiting for something to happen. Fortunately, when you're first starting Lantus is usually the only time you have to wait this long before you can increase...unless, of course, your kitty decides to be a bouncer :shock: . You can worry about that when the time comes, though. For now, just another four cycles and you'll be able to increase and, hopefully, see some lower numbers. The 200's Sylvan is throwing right now aren't dangerous so try not to worry!! We'll all be here for you, reading Sylvan's condo everyday and cheering you on!! :-D

Have a great Caturday!! :-D
 
Re: 6/18 Sylvan AMPS 275 +2 255 +4 257

Thanks! I appreciate the reassurance. And that is me... worry, worry, worry.
I'll be patient and keep it at 2. And I'll try to get some PM numbers tonight.
 
Re: 6/18 Sylvan AMPS 275 +2 255 +4 257

Hi Liz, I just wanted to concur with the advice you have received. Sylvan's numbers are good and in the safe zone, so borrow those "patience pants" and stay with the current dose for the recommended number of days (5 to 7 days, not cycles). Lantus is a "depot" insulin and the "shed" has to fill before the insulin can work properly on Sylvan's blood glucose. The fun will begin then!!

Have a good weekend,
Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top