6/18 Simon PMPS 302 +4 246

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Life has been pretty hectic with work and managing all of Simon's meds and shots. He is doing pretty well but the vet called yesterday to let me know that his re-check urine culture for his UTI came back positive again. The vet wants me to use Veraflox for 21 days. I have not heard of this AB and was wondering if anyone else has used it and if there were any issues with it. The vet says it should be less of a problem on his tummy than the Clavamox.

Because of the prednisolone, Simon's BG has been increasing so I am increasing his insulin. 4 units as of yesterday. Simon is continuing to be pretty happy, eating his fuds, and very interested in things going on around him. Still is wanting to snuggle. His back legs are problematic for him at times, but he is still going up and down stairs pretty well. QOL is still good at this point. The pred definitely makes him feel better and he has not had to have as much bupe as before.

I am going out of town for 3 days with my family on Saturday. DH was going to go and the pet sitter was staying overnight, but we are too nervous to leave him since he is fragile. DH is staying home (I'm not sure he really wanted to hang out with my side of the family!) and will take care of Simon. Thank goodness he is able to do everything including shots, fluids and pilling. I will only be 2 hours away and can come home if needed. Sorry this is so long, but it has been too long since my last post. HOpe everyone is doing ok.
 
The information on it indicates it should not be used for more than 7 days due to irreversible effects on the white blood cells. (It's approved for use for 7 days only.) It's been associated with retinal damage and/or blindness and joint damage. It also looks like it's generally recommended for upper respiratory infections and for skin wounds/abscesses although there are some sites which mention it's use for UTIs. It's the same class of antibiotic as Baytril and Orbax.

Just a thought.... Pred (any steroid) reduces immunity and thereby increases the potential for infection. It may be why it's been so hard to kick the UTI.
 
Last edited:
Morning Georgia :coffee::coffee::coffee:

What a nice WCR. it is really good to read that Simon is ding well, being Simon, and taking meds well. YAY! at he is responding to it all. Sorry about the UTI. Mannie was so susceptible to them too. I have no clue on the AB... never heard of that one. Wishing you luck!

Enjoy your trip. It is nice I think that DH was willing to stay home and care for Simon.

Have a great day today!
 
No ideas. I am so glad the pred is helping. Tarragon is doing great on it and has been on it for a couple of years now. ((((Georgia))))
 
I'm glad to hear Simon is doing well, but ugh on the return of the UTI. I know Ann's Tess has issues with recurring UTIs, so hopefully she'll stop by to offer some input. I don't know anything about Veraflox, but another newer AB that is also supposed to be good for UTIs is Zeniquin. Trix was on this for p-titis (she was on it for over a month), and she didn't have any adverse reactions. This could be another AB to inquire about.

I'm glad DH is able to take care of Simon while you are away!
 
Thanks everyone for the support.
Sienne, I also read that a cat should not be on it for more than 7 days. I have a call in to Simon's vet but he has not called me back yet. I really don't want to be his guinea pig if this is a new AB and also having me give him it for 3x the amount is recommended.
Amy, I will ask him about the Zeniquin. It is good to know Trixie was on it for a long time with no complications.
The Veraflox is a liquid -- Simon likes doing gel caps so much better than liquids!
 
Hi Georgia,
i believe that @Ann & Tess had success with Orbax. I hope she will reply. The new AB sounds scary!

Glad to near that Simon is having a good QOL and also happy to hear that your DH will be able to care for him when you visit your family. Have a good visit.

Vines for Simon.

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top