6/18 Mr. Kink +12.25 55 - skipping tonight

Status
Not open for further replies.

Caitlin & Mr. Kink

Member Since 2012
Hi guuuuys!

Sorry I haven't been around - I've been down with some vertigo for the past couple of days. Pretty much bed ridden and I couldn't even look at the computer without my head spinning. Doing a little better, but not totally there yet. Anyway, just got a 46 @ +11.25 and a 49 @ +12 for Mr. Kink - the age old question...to shoot or not to shoot? We're down to .1u BID right now.
 
Re: 6/18 Mr. Kink +12 49 - should I shoot?

Hi Caitlin, I'm sorry you've been ill. No fun! Have you fed Mr. K anything? Usually we would feed a tiny bit to bring him out of the 40s. Can you stall? We would not shoot a 49 and would probably wait until Zener was at least 70 but we are rather conservative because Zener's appy can be iffy. I might send Marje a pm to get her input.
Liz
 
Re: 6/18 Mr. Kink +12 49 - should I shoot?

Okay, stalled another 15 minutes with no food and he's up to 55. Think we're gonna go ahead and shoot.

Thanks, Liz. Yeah, sick is no fun. I've never been like this before and I don't like it. :sad:
 
Re: 6/18 Mr. Kink +12 49 - should I shoot?

Liz is correct that we don't shoot the 40s but you should also stall for 20 mins without feeding, retest, and see if he's up. If he's not, then feed to bring up. You may have to skip tonight but just retest first without feeding and lets see where he is.
 
Re: 6/18 Mr. Kink +12 49, +12.25 55 - should I shoot?

Okay, haven't shot yet - but we just got a 55. Just fed him because I assumed we were gonna shoot. Sister is pretty whipped from takin' care of lil' ol' me, so I don't know how much testing she'll do, and I can't vouch for myself since I just took a meclazine about a half hour ago and that's gonna wipe me out. Skip shot tonight, ya think?
 
Re: 6/18 Mr. Kink +12 49 - should I shoot?

Your call. It's a safe number to shoot but if you both are out of it and can't test the usual amount, I don't think he'll miss a beat if you skip.

Glad you got the meclazine.
 
Re: 6/18 Mr. Kink +12 49 - should I shoot?

Okay, we'll skip. Yeah - I've actually been on meclazine since Saturday night, but it doesn't seem to do much 'cept make me sleepy :sad: I think I have to make an appt to see an ENT this week. The PA at the clinic I went to yesterday said she didn't see any ear infection, but I don't know what else it could possibly beeee.
 
Ummmm.......

An unshootable pre-shot number (i.e., Mr. Kink was in the 40s) means a dose reduction. Unless you want to attempt to shoot a "fat 0," Mr. Kink could start an OTJ trial. If you opt to start a trial, here are the instructions.

  • Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).
  • If your cat is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!
  • After 2 weeks, if everything is looking good, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
 
Sinuses??--Hope you will be feeling better soon.
I am feeling better that you decided not to shoot tonite--Because I like to play it safe & he could have dropped again..Take care of yourself--Hope tomorroe will be better..Hugs & love from us!!
 
I'm so glad to see a condo for you guys. We're very sorry your not feeling well at all though. We're sending you well wishes and healing vines.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top