6/18 Jack: 102@AMPS, holding current dose

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Member Since 2020
Glad I held the 6.5 units last night, Jack was 102 this morning, which I will take any day. He had pate and just the Elsey's kibble for breakfast, so holding the 7 units during the day dose for now. He refused the ziwi peak, and everyone's poop is back to normal, so I didn't put the YA/Elsey's combo in the bowls this morning. I'm just praying for a calm day, and good news from the hospital when they call with a Pumpkin update later. I'll update here after I hear from the vet. Wishing any and all celebrating a Happy Father's Day.

Yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-17-jack-364-amps.278653/
 
Great start of the day, Jack!

My sugar baby Mikan's brother (Yuz) just had a urinary blockage and had to be taken to the emergency a few days ago. His case was mild and he's back home now, doing well. The prescription foods the vet recommended (Royal Canin Urinary So and Hills Urinary Care) both have Phosphorus of about 175mg/100kCal, which is great, but super high carbs (21-28%). I'm researching to find how I can get low carb, low phosphorus foods for him. There is Wx and Trueluxe (both Weruva) that may fit the bill, but I could not find them locally and had to order in. Hope he likes them :nailbiting: I'm also trying to figure out how to increase his water intake, which seems to be the most important thing.

So many things to worry about! Our babies keep us busy, for sure!

Hope Pumpkin is doing well and comes home soon :bighug:
 
Glad I held the 6.5 units last night, Jack was 102 this morning, which I will take any day. He had pate and just the Elsey's kibble for breakfast, so holding the 7 units during the day dose for now. He refused the ziwi peak, and everyone's poop is back to normal, so I didn't put the YA/Elsey's combo in the bowls this morning. I'm just praying for a calm day, and good news from the hospital when they call with a Pumpkin update later. I'll update here after I hear from the vet. Wishing any and all celebrating a Happy Father's Day.

Yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-17-jack-364-amps.278653/

So glad the poop department is all systems go!

Sending good vibes for Pumpkin!

Nice AMPS Mr.Jack!! :bighug:
 
Great start of the day, Jack!

My sugar baby Mikan's brother (Yuz) just had a urinary blockage and had to be taken to the emergency a few days ago. His case was mild and he's back home now, doing well. The prescription foods the vet recommended (Royal Canin Urinary So and Hills Urinary Care) both have Phosphorus of about 175mg/100kCal, which is great, but super high carbs (21-28%). I'm researching to find how I can get low carb, low phosphorus foods for him. There is Wx and Trueluxe (both Weruva) that may fit the bill, but I could not find them locally and had to order in. Hope he likes them :nailbiting: I'm also trying to figure out how to increase his water intake, which seems to be the most important thing.

So many things to worry about! Our babies keep us busy, for sure!

Hope Pumpkin is doing well and comes home soon :bighug:
Appreciate the info on the Weruva I will def look into that. I know from a friend that the Hills is super high carb, if it's not one worry it's another!! Hope Yuz is OK long term and likes the Weruva!!

:bighug:
 
EVENING UPDATE:

Jack is 262...eh, pretty much as expected. Kept 6.5 units, paws crossed for the morning.

Pumpkin is doing OK- potassium lower, kidney values still high, will re-check kidney bloods tomorrow and may/may not pull catheter based on bloodwork results. Ate some C/D---such carbs! I hear the Royal Canin is lower, will discuss with vet prior to discharge. Pain meds, AB's, and fluids going IV. Will post update again tomorrow. Appreciate all prayers and well wishes.

These cats are conspiring to make me an alcoholic!
 
Back
Top