6/17 Sox 4.75 39 +5.25 57+5.5 86+8.75 102pmps 200

Status
Not open for further replies.

housecats4

Member Since 2010
By George I think Sox has got it.....waiting for green today reduction is close at hand .....fingers and toes crossed beautiful blue/green to all sugar babies Hugsssss Kath
 
congrats to sox on his very first reduction! Very exciting to see him making progress. Now fingers crossed that he'll hold it.

Let your sis know that if he doesn't have green numbers when he clears the inevitable bounce that will surely follow that 39, she should look at the information on "failed reductions." The whole idea of a dose reduction is that the good numbers continue after the reduction.

The Tight Regulation Protocol with Lantus or Levemir describes what we've fondly dubbed "New Dose Wonkiness" (NDW) here in L & L. You might also see this happening while following the Start Low, Go Slow Method.

"Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations."

The concept of "New Dose Wonkiness" is NOT applied to higher numbers which may be seen after a dose reduction.

There is no "NDW" following a dose reduction nor do we hold a reduced dose 6 cycles (as done with dose increases) to "fill the insulin depot".
"Settling time" does not apply to dose reductions. We don't wait for a reduction to "settle".

When you see numbers trending higher after a dose reduction we immediately return to the last "good" dose as described in the
The Tight Regulation Protocol with Lantus or Levemir:

"If the cat will not stay in the normal range after a reduction, immediately increase the dose again to the last good dose."

Hope this helps...


Last edited: Dec 29, 2014
2006 Lantus & 2009 - 2014 Levemir Spreadsheets
Lantus, Levemir, & R insulins ~ FDMB member since 2006
And from the TR Protocol guidelines on decreasing the dose:

Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s. Please ask for advice immediately.

If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.​
  • If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction.

    Please use common sense in this situation. The "last good dose" is not the dose that just dropped kitty into the 20s or 30s. You want to resume momentum by finding a dose in-between the dose that dropped kitty too low and the reduced dose.
 
Thank you Julie will pass this info on and yes fingers crossed he hold this reduction.....more to follow too Hugs Kath
 
Kudos to your sister for catching and handling her first set of low numbers. And way to go Sox on the first reduction. :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top