6/17 Purrcie +5 107 +10.5 132 PMPS 153 +1.25 175

Status
Not open for further replies.

myla

Member Since 2010
+10.5 132
PMPS 153
+1.25 176
Went with 1U. Will check in with evening spot checks.


Well, it looks like he liked that 1U. I'll post the PMPS at+12 and if anyone is on maybe LMK if 1U is still the way to go?
***********************************************************
Day 3 on Lantus.
He was pretty perky this AM but I could see as his numbers were dropping he was feeling sleepy. He isn't used to being this low for sure. He didn't want any more food.

AMPS 146
+1 137
+2 81
+2.25 74
+2.5 72
+3 84
+5 107
+10.5 132

What a nice surf he got today! I'm proud of my boy!





***********************************************************

Great night last night!
Starting at 8:30 PM last night
PMPS 324
+3.5 188
+4.5 144
+6 120
+ 6.5 105
+7 99 OUR FIRST GREEN ON LANTUS



I gave him his usual 1U, am prepared to sit through this with strips, LC, MC and HC foods.

He had been constipated for the last two days and finally went so I am sure he felt SO MUCH better. Plus got him well hydrated with SQ fluids for his CRF.

I tried getting on here last night to do updates but I think the board was down. Must have been that party for Super Max yesterday!

I'm sure going to need some hand holding through the day and tonight so please check in on us and I'll keep posting.

Yesterday
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie AMPS 146 Amazing night LOOK!

The Board did go down last night.

GREAT cycle for Purrcie!!! Don't be disappointed if you see a bounce today. The green will be back or it will stick around. Purrcie will decide.
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie AMPS 146 Amazing night LOOK!

Well done!!!! Nice green last night!!!

This looks like your 1st blue shot, so, please get a +1... just to see where Purrcie is heading. You look ready and equipped! Let's goooooooo! :-D

Someone more experienced with Squids should comment properly on the effect and/or potential effect of Squids on BG. I understand that it 'can' give you lower numbers. My point is, be mindly of the timing of the fluids and the point you give them at in the cycle... make sense?
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie AMPS 146 Amazing night LOOK!

Thank you for the info about the Squids. I did read that hydration can have a weak effect on numbers. He usually gets fluids at what would be around the +5 to +7 in the first half of the cycle. Should I change the time?

He doesn't have a whole lot of SS to look at yet on Lantus.

I will get a +1 and check in often. He ate a really good meal this AM of LC FF.
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie AMPS 146 Amazing night LOOK! Squids question 2

I'm a little worried that he might get low today and I'll keep checking. We're ready to surf! Purrcie is the golden fluff beach bum type ya know!

Also anyone with info on Squids, could you tell me when the best time to give them is during the cycle? I don't want to screw up his numbers today with shooting a blue(146 AMPS 1U) and normally he would get his Squids right at about +6 to +7 during the AM cycle.

Thanks so much you guys!
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie AMPS 146 Amazing night LOOK! Squids question 2

(((((Myla)))) I am sooo happy for those blues and green!!! I looked at Purrcies ss this morning and was like "WOW" this is great!!!
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie AMPS 146 +1 137 Squids ? 2

Paige! This is great!

It was a long night for me, finally had to get some sleep after +7 but I didn't want to miss that green and needed to see how fast he was dropping. It was a nice easy slow descent. Just did the plus one, looks like we are going to ease down a little again.

Good thing cause I'm scared of heights.
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie AMPS 146 +1 137 Squids ? 2

I know that Carolyn gives Latte squids - you can ask her more about it.

I sometimes give Kasha squids and I believe Carolyn suggested that mid-cycle was probably best (but I personally wouldn't give them mid-cycle if the numbers were low, because I do think there is often a small drop with the fluids). I'll sometimes give squids during the last part of the cycle, when I know she's going up. I think Carolyn gives a small amount of squids daily, whereas I give Kasha a little more (100 - 150 ml) squids a couple of times a week or when I remember or when it seems like she's drinking a lot (she's borderline on her kidney values and currently has a kidney infection - so occasional fluids seem to help at this point). Seems that the more fluids you're giving, the more potential effect it could have on the BGs (temporarily, of course).

I don't know if that helped at all ...
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie AMPS 146 +1 137 Squids ? 2

I believe that Carolyn gives squids early in the cycle.

I would get a curve and see how Purrcie's numbers typically look. I would not think that giving squids so they dropped BG at roughly the same time as nadir is a good plan. Either early or late in the cycle seems best.
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie AMPS 146 +1 137 +2 81 eeek!

That's a good idea on the squids.

+2 81 right now so I've gotta keep a close eye on him.
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie AMPS 146 +1 137 +2 81 +2.25 74 +2.5 72

You are still safe. He is doing great!!! However you can offer some LC food to help slow down the drop.
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie AMPS 146 +1 137 +2 81 +2.25 74 +2.5 72

Low 60's are still good numbers. But if you aren't used to it, it's normal to freak out too :o Surfing in the 60-70's is great!!! Now we get to see if he ever rebounds from these greens later tonight.
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie +1 137 +2 81 +2.25 74 +2.5 72 +3 84

Maybe a bounce begins?

+3 84
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie +1 137 +2 81 +2.25 74 +2.5 72 +3 84

Lots of advice on squids ... I didn't mean to scare you, just to make sure you think about it in the big picture.

Nice green surf here! Looking very good. Don't be scared.
Take this oppotunity, if you have time to visit other condos and look at other SSs. I learned a LOT from others.
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie +1 137 +2 81 +2.25 74 +2.5 72 +3 84 +5 107

It's excellent advice Helene.

I've been studying other kitties SS to get an idea of what to expect. Checked out Ronnie's and was observing how she was changing the dose by an f, fat dose, skinny dose. Amazing the difference that could make!

I'm studying between painting horses!
:-)

Purr had a bit to eat at +5 and is napping on the deck right now. I wonder if they feel stressed physically when their numbers come down into normal range. He wanted to nap after being perky this AM.
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie +1 137 +2 81 +2.25 74 +2.5 72 +3 84 +5 107

whoa nellie, vera vera nice. looks as though there will be no increase in a few days, huh? actually, i am betting you will either stay here or shortly start to decrease. good going. usually takes 3-5 days to see action and you got it on day 3 :thumbup
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie +1 137 +2 81 +2.25 74 +2.5 72 +3 84 +5 107

Hey Dian!
I think Purr must have heard that threat of an increase, yaa haw! So will we stay with 1U tonight? Or is it too soon to tell yet?
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie +1 137 +2 81 +2.25 74 +2.5 72 +3 84 +5 107

dian and wheezer said:
whoa nellie, vera vera nice. looks as though there will be no increase in a few days, huh? actually, i am betting you will either stay here or shortly start to decrease. good going. usually takes 3-5 days to see action and you got it on day 3 :thumbup

I know I was already complemplating a dose increase last night and then I saw the bloooosss. Nice indeed. :RAHCAT

Myla - for older diabetic kitties the protocol calls for a decrease once they drop below 40. Here is the link to the protocol: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581&start=0

Reducing the dose...
--- If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.


But maybe we should clarify what deems a "long term diabetic". Purrcie is coming up on a year.
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie +1 137 +2 81 +2.25 74 +2.5 72 +3 84 +5 107

I would wait and see what PMPS is first.. she may bounce from this. then I would stay with 1 to ride through the bounce and maybe, depending,perhaps,think about it.could be, give a skinny 1. but let's not rush it. may even do a .50 but depends on what she does now
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie +2 81 +2.25 74 +2.5 72 +3 84 +5 107 +10.5 132

+10.5 132

Well, it looks like he liked that 1U. I'll post the PMPS at+12 and if anyone is on maybe LMK if 1U is still the way to go?
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie +2 81 +2.25 74 +2.5 72 +3 84 +5 107 +10.5 132

Lookin great here. No doubt 1U is still the way go. He will earn a decrease if he drops below 40. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie +2 81 +2.25 74 +2.5 72 +3 84 +5 107 +10.5 132

Okie Dokie! Thanks Paige!
gonna go get the PMPS and then post it.

We just had a nice walk again this evening. It's awesome to see him feeling so great already!
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie +2 81 +2.25 74 +2.5 72 +3 84 +5 107 +10.5 132

Ok Myla, this is weird, I saw "painting horses" and had to click on your profile to see what kind of horses. I know you!!! You may not know me, but I've owned a couple of your models. Don't think I have any now though... I'm Libby Lynskey, used to be in Minnesota but now I'm in SC, used to do lots of NAMHSA stuff but now most of my extracurricular life is here. Small world!
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie +2 81 +2.25 74 +2.5 72 +3 84 +5 107 +10.5 132

Hi Libby!
Small world indeed! How cool to see you here and congratulations on getting your baby OTJ!
Thanks for the wave hello! Do you collect anymore?
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie +2.5 72 +3 84 +5 107 +10.5 132 PMPS 153

Purrcie looks great, Myla. Carry on!! Will he be at Jezebel's OTJ party tonight? The other kitties will love to see him there.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie +2.5 72 +3 84 +5 107 +10.5 132 PMPS 153

I still have my collection and enjoy it, but I haven't bought anything new in a couple of years. I'm a total chinahead now, but I still have some of my favorite others. I used to paint a little bit, but I only did maybe 15 horses total. We don't have many shows around here so I haven't been active, plus my sick kitties keep spending all my money. :roll:
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie +2.5 72 +3 84 +5 107 +10.5 132 PMPS 153

Purrcie would like to stop by Jezebel's condo tonight for the party but his tux isn't back from the cleaners. Would it be Ok if he dressed casual?
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie +2.5 72 +3 84 +5 107 +10.5 132 PMPS 153

Just to clarify, Purrcie is still less than a year since diagnosis. Until he's past the one year point, he earns a dose reduction for numbers below 50 (not 40). Your profile indicated he was diagnosed in July 2009.

Casual is fine for parties. (Some kitties go nekked.)
 
Thank you for clarifying that Sienne. He actually went into remission several times over the last year too, so maybe there's more hope there for a good long trip to the falls!
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcie +2.5 72 +3 84 +5 107 +10.5 132 PMPS 153

Sienne and Gabby said:
Just to clarify, Purrcie is still less than a year since diagnosis. Until he's past the one year point, he earns a dose reduction for numbers below 50 (not 40). Your profile indicated he was diagnosed in July 2009.


Thank you Sienne. I was wanting clarification on that too. So one year is when it is 40. Even better for Purrcie!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top