6/17 Purrcee - 1.0 AMPS 319 +3.5 348 PMPS 347

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie + Muffin

Member Since 2013
Looks like Purrcee can't kick the 300 range so increasing from .75 to 1.0; hopefully he will start to come down. Can you please tell me what range he should be in and what range and how long is considered remission? Thanks.
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcee - Increasing from .75 to 1.0 ??

Paws crossed for the increase. Could you add this to the subject of the first post (so it will show up on the board).
AMPS 391

Then anyone scanning the board can tell how he's doing. Then add any additional tests as you get them. Thank you, that will be very helpful.

I would recommend a +2 test, since you've increased the dose. If it's dramatically lower than the 319, you may need to monitor a little more. We recommend at least 2 tests per cycle (a cycle is one shot, so two cycles per day), one before the test and one around midcycle. The preshot test is to make sure it's safe to give the shot and the midcycle test is to guide the dosing amount.

You are doing a great job! :-D
Liz
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcee - Increasing from .75 to 1.0 ??

Hi, Julie.

We consider remission for a cat to be in roughly the 50 - 120 range (preferably below 100) without insulin. Basically, once Purrcee is spending more time in blue and green numbers, he should start to get dose reductions as his pancreas heals. The dose is then gradually reduced until a cat is ready for an OTJ ("off the juice") trial where the kitty goes for 14 days without insulin and you're still monitoring. Once past the 14 days, your cat is considered in remission but a food controlled diabetic.
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcee - Increasing from .75 to 1.0 ??

Hi Julie. I just wanted to drop in and say hello and welcome to LL. Looking forward to following Purcee's progress.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcee - AMPS 319 Increasing from .75 to 1.0 ??

I'm a little confused on the posting. I thought I was suppose to do one post a day and update the subject line for that day? or am I suppose to update the very first post every time? Or did you want me to update my 6/17 post with the AMPS 319. I'm easily confused these days!

Thanks for the info on remission...very helpful and I'm going to make sure Purrcee knows that is where we are headed :-D

Will try to get +2 today but have to take the dog to vet at 10:00 so might not be possible.
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcee - Increasing from .75 to 1.0 ??

I think there are 2 issues about the way the board works and posting that have gotten twisted together. I hope I can clarify.

You are correct -- one "condo" (thread) per cat per day. However, the only information that is visible on the Board is the subject line from your first post in the thread. So, when Liz suggested adding your AMPS, in order for us to see it without opening Purrcee's condo and scrolling down, you need to make the change to the subject line in the first post in the current condo. It's also helpful to add your test numbers to the subject line as you get them. There are several of us who scan the board throughout the day to make sure that questions are getting answered or if we spot a problem, we can help. Being able to see test data in the subject line or a notation if you have a question (like you did this morning) is very helpful and saves a great deal of time.

As an example, you changed the subject line in your last post to reflect Purrcee's AMPS. However, if you go back and look at the Board, that information isn't there. You have to edit the subject line in your first post in this thread for us to see the AMPS.

I hope that helps and I didn't confuse you even more!
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcee - Increasing from .75 to 1.0 ??

Yes, you are correct - one post per day and update the subject line of the very first original post because that one shows up on the board. If you update the subject line of your reply, that only shows up for that reply. Purrcee, did you get the message about remission? Paws crossed for the dog, nothing serious I hope.
Liz
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcee - Increasing from .75 to 1.0 ??

Good Morning Purrcee, nice to meet you, Linda and Lucky here :smile:
This all gets easier
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcee - Increasing from .75 to 1.0 AMPS 319 +3.5

Thank you all for your patience and good wishes. I think I get it now. Go to the first post of the day and update that subject line with changes as the day progresses. I just did that so hope you can now see AMPS and +3.5 in the subject line.

My dog Hobo had surgery to remove bladder stones (2nd time!) and this was a follow up visit. He is doing very good. Still not sure what type stones they are as they are being analyzed. First ones were struvite...one of his stones had spikes in it which I guess isn't common.

Everyone have a great day!
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcee - Increasing from .75 to 1.0 AMPS 319 +3.5

Purrfect! :-D Sometimes an increase in dose causes higher numbers. This is when you have to be patient and see what the numbers do for the next 3 days. I'm glad all is well with Hobo. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcee - Increasing from .75 to 1.0 AMPS 319 +3.5

Hi Julie and Purrcee and welcome dancing_cat Hoot and I haven't been here that long as he went into remission 1 month after we got here. He is now back for awhile to give his pancreas a little help and hopefully he will go back into remission again! It is very overwhelming at first @-) But I promise it will get easier and this is the best group of people ever :YMHUG: I can't say enough about them :thumbup So hang in there and remember there are no dumb questions :lol: :lol: You're doing great so far :thumbup
 
Re: 6/17 Purrcee - Increasing from .75 to 1.0 AMPS 319 +3.5

Glad Hoot had a quick remission and keeping my fingers crossed it happens again. The people here have been great and I just don't know if I could do it without them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top