6/17 - Oliver - PMBG=89

Status
Not open for further replies.

FluffBunny

Member Since 2014
Oliver - 6/16

I have skipped Oliver's last 4 shots and his numbers have been green for 24 hours! Happy, happy!

Question: I wanted to go out this morning. Do I still have to worry about hypoglycemia? He ate at 5 AM and again after his AMBG test.
 
Re: 6/17 - Oliver - AMBG=60 -24 hrs. Green! Question.

Awesome numbers w/no insulin!!! Wonderful Wonderful!! Way to go Oliver.

Nope, do not have to worry about a hypo since you are not giving insulin :-D

Keep it up....maybe a trial coming up....shhhhhhh
 
Re: 6/17 - Oliver - AMBG=60 -24 hrs. Green! Question.

HI guys .. wow, four days without juice! That's awesome! Go out and enjoy yourself! have a great day!
 
Re: 6/17 - Oliver - AMBG=60 -24 hrs. Green! Question.

I just want to clarify one thing regarding worrying about hypos.

Lantus can have a very long duration so if it was the first skipped shot, I'd still be sure to test and make sure he was coming up. However, now that you have skipped four shots, I wouldn't be worried about a hypo. He likely still has some effects from the depot but after four skipped shots, it has waned a lot.

Great news from your vet yesterday. I'm glad she has an AAHA clinic. One thing to note: normally we would not give Lantus once a day. If he still needed insulin, we'd try a very, very low dose that could be given twice a day or try to raise his curve with food so you could give a tiny bit of insulin twice a day.

Let's just watch and see where the numbers go. Decreasing the pred might be the ticket for him to not need insulin. I hope!
 
Re: 6/17 - Oliver - AMBG=60, +4=57, +6=88,+8=102 Honeymoon o

I was goihng to give Oliver his pred at +8 but now I don't want to. I want the green run to continue. :sad:
 
Re: 6/17 - Oliver - AMBG=60, +4=57, +6=88,+8=102 Honeymoon o

One number does not a honeymoon destroy :-D :-D And 102 could be even in the 80s with meter variance. Let's just keep watching the rest of this cycle.
 
Re: 6/17 - Oliver - AMBG=60, +4=57, +6=88,+8=102,+9=89

I went out for 3 hours this morning and when I got back, his BG was 57. I tried to feed him, but he wasn't too interested, so I put 6 -7 FF dry kibbles in his FF classic. I know. I know. I shouldn't do that. But I wanted him to eat and I have found that if I add a couple of kibbles, he will eat the whole bowl of food. Maybe that's why he went above 100. I won't do that again.

I am thinking about skipping his pred. again tonight. I'd really like to give him time to heal. Not sure what to do. I could always pretend I found it on the floor hours after I gave it to him. Sort of a "fur shot" with medication. :lol:
 
I've decided to skip Oliver's prednisolone again tonight. I really would like to keep this run of green going to give him time to heal. I will definitely give it to him tomorrow.

Oliver was hospitalized in January and his diagnosis was never clear. Could have been lymphoma, IBD, or pancreatitis. I didn't want to have any invasive tests done (i.e., a biopsy), so he was put on prednisolone as a treatment for IBD or lymphoma. He has done really well over the last 5 months. He has gained weight, no longer vomits, has normal stools. His pred. has been slowly reduced from 5 mg twice a day to his current dose of 1.25 mg. every other day.

If his BG goes back up when I give him his pred., I am going to discuss discontinuing it altogether with my vet. Maybe he doesn't need it anymore. I guess I won't know until I stop it to see what happens.

Paws crossed that he keeps this good run going.

I again want to thank everyone who has helped me over these last few days. Without your support, I never would have been able to "shoot low" and I think that may have given Oliver the boost he needed to get into these green numbers.
 
Oliver's looking very handsome in green! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Since he's doing so well, I hope your vet OK's either tapering off or discontinuing the pred and hopefully that's the final ticket to the Falls for Oliver. :-D
 
(((linda))) you're caught in a difficult position. i hope he continues to hold green numbers.

just know that if he needs the pred, the insulin can be adjusted to keep his BGs under control.

there are 6 paws and 4 hands in my house that are all crossed for you guys! :-D
 
btw, if you need to entice him to eat, you can probably use less dry food by pulverizing one kibble and sprinkling it over the top of the low carb canned food. they do love those crunchies, don't they? :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top