6/17 Minnie AMPS 115 +3 49 +3.5 57 +4 81 +5 78 +6 62 +7 60 +8 67 +9 60 +10 48

Liz & Minnie

Member Since 2021
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...124-4-110-5-5-118-10-116.248686/#post-2804778

Last night went well BG-wise - I gave her a little snack at every reading, another rotten night of sleep. Thought things were going well, gave her the AM shot as soon as I put down her breakfast and then she walked away from it and wouldn't eat anything I offered. I threw an ondansetron melt in her mouth, apparently my first success since she swallowed it. Got her to eat a bit of food and fell asleep. Imagine my surprise....at least she has some appetite right now but nothing is guaranteed. Time for the 30min re-check.
 
I'm curious. Her BG is from +4 to +5 with no food since +3.5. What are possible interpretations of this?

I'm pretty sure the drop at +3 was a combo of onset and not eating breakfast. I think it seems like we are getting close to the right dose for her (and maybe the antibiotic is getting rid of that UTI) but this is all new territory, she's never had numbers like this where there hasn't been a huge bounce after... so I'm looking for possible explanations as to what is going on!

AMPS 115, +3 49 (MC + karo). +3.5 56 (LC), +4 81 (No food) +5 78

She's happily sleeping away, not interested in food particularly. I'm also wondering if/when I should wake her to offer food. I'll re-test in an hour and see where things stand.
 
Sorry you had to wake up to a lime green. It's happened to me many times. When I was testing Ruby at 7 AM, I would test, feed, shoot, then go back to bed. My intention always was to get up at +2 to check on her but sometimes that didn't happen and I would wake up pretty quickly from that low number. Now I've shifted her shot time to 8 AM and I just stay up. :)
 
Dropping again at +6 so I woke her up to deliver snacks in bed. Again refusing the tempting treats (weruva chick magnet pouch - bzzzt reject). She gave me that look as if to say "I know what I like, and I like what I know. And you know what I like. So go and get that Tiny Tiger Turkey or I will make you suffer".

Sam came over after to clean up the rejects! Madam is now snoozing peacefully in a new location.

Another question. Could this new stretch of greens be making her sleepier since it's new to her? She is just sleeping more than before, doesn't seem perkier with the lower numbers. She is perkiest in the low 100s I think. She also is not as interested in food, but I've read about that and it makes sense if her BG is more in control that she doesn't need as much.
 
Could this new stretch of greens be making her sleepier since it's new to her? She is just sleeping more than before, doesn't seem perkier with the lower numbers.

From what I understand, kitties used to being in high numbers can seem to feel sluggish on lower numbers. I've often read it being characterized as similar to when you take away coffee from a caffeine addict. You feel bad for a little while but then once you get used to being off the coffee you feel much better!
 
From what I understand, kitties used to being in high numbers can seem to feel sluggish on lower numbers. I've often read it being characterized as similar to when you take away coffee from a caffeine addict. You feel bad for a little while but then once you get used to being off the coffee you feel much better!
Thanks. That's what I was thinking but you know what it's like, all knowledge flies from your brain when you're worrying. She is not even sluggish right now, she's static - I keep looking twice to make sure she is breathing!
 
That is some nice progress Liz, i understand your “suspicions” but Minnie seems to be doing nicely. I hope she keeps her appetite alert :bighug:
One thing that comes to my mind is the comparison to Chloe, she as well doesn’t bounce, for her it looks like her insulin needs are changing very quickly, maybe the same is happening to Minnie? You finally got to a good dose and maybe the antibiotics are doing their job :bookworm::bookworm: just throwing ideas here
 
I am open to all ideas! What's confusing me is that she has ALWAYS bounced before. I guess they can stop bouncing? I have a real mental block with looking at her s/s and interpreting to see trends.

My summary is: high numbers, increase dose. Lime green <40 leads to forced reduction + bounce/high numbers. Start all over again.

Until now! I just don't know how to interpret this or be comfortable enough with the numbers not to pokey every hour. Not helped by her finicky appetite today. Maybe I need to make her snacks smaller.
 
It looks to me like a combination of things...med changes, the UTI possibly clearing up, not as severe bouncing. And honestly I think appetite helps. Whenever I accidentally don't give Mr kitty enough food his numbers are always a little higher (like when he's consistently getting 1.5 cans per feed and I try dropping it to 1, numbers go up).

Now poor little Minnie needs to stay healthy long enough for these numbers to work their magic!

There's a post on the ProZinc forum, George (username Hshray). In a matter of just a week he's stopped bouncing almost completely it's wild.
 
Thanks for this intel :) going to check out George now. Looks like I need to go back to being more diligent with measuring/weighing out her food again. The Tiny Tiger is high calorie but I'm a bit stuck because she's refusing EVERYTHING else. Sometimes I can persuade her by smearing a bit of ad on top of the other food.
 
Thanks. That's what I was thinking but you know what it's like, all knowledge flies from your brain when you're worrying. She is not even sluggish right now, she's static - I keep looking twice to make sure she is breathing!
What a great question! Jill is just getting into some greens and I have noticed her sleeping more soundly. But like she’s passed out. And not walking around being crabby (which I think is a bonus). Interesting to tie that behavior to lower numbers.
Good luck with your little one! ❤️
 
I used to give three cycles to drain the depot, based on Neko's data. Look at previous reductions and how long it's taken Minnie to get rid of the worst of the depot effects. Larger depots can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction.

Going to reduce starting tonight. I've reviewed all her dose changes and added yet another tab to the s/s. I find it really hard to assess how long it took to drain the depot because I usually dropped after a lime green which was followed by a bounce. I don't know how to tell what's bounce stopping vs depot draining...but her lowest numbers after a decrease seemed to kick in at 3 or 4 cycles. So, tonight. Will be interesting to see what happens as she looks to be heading towards a decrease anyway.

ETA another question about dose timing. I have to shoot at 530 Sat morning but the last couple of days messed up my plans, so I have to break the 30min a day rule. This morning was at 815 so I have 4 cycles to go back 2.75 hours. Can someone suggest best/safest route to get there?
 
Last edited:
As they say in Maine…. “You can’t get there from here!” You will have to supply the Maine accent in your head. Sorry but the math won’t work if you are following the 30 minute rule. You will have to exceed the 30 minutes but that will act like a dose increase so you may not want to do that. I have done it lots of times but only when my baby was always high and there was no perceivable risk. Let’s see what the diabetic brain trust says.
 
As they say in Maine…. “You can’t get there from here!” You will have to supply the Maine accent in your head. Sorry but the math won’t work if you are following the 30 minute rule. You will have to exceed the 30 minutes but that will act like a dose increase so you may not want to do that. I have done it lots of times but only when my baby was always high and there was no perceivable risk. Let’s see what the diabetic brain trust says.
Exactly.
 
Just make sure you get a ketones test in. With DKA history and an infection, it's always a concern. But I'm hoping this overfull depot will keep her in OK numbers for at least part of the night. Option B, which doesn't always work as well, is to do 2 longer back to back cycles. So tonight's shot in 16 hours after the AM one, then again tomorrow night at 5:30, however many hours later that would be.
 
Just make sure you get a ketones test in. With DKA history and an infection, it's always a concern. But I'm hoping this overfull depot will keep her in OK numbers for at least part of the night. Option B, which doesn't always work as well, is to do 2 longer back to back cycles. So tonight's shot in 16 hours after the AM one, then again tomorrow night at 5:30, however many hours later that would be.
Thanks for options. I will stick with skipping and check ketones as advised. I need a night's sleep, especially to get up at 530! Her numbers are already jumping up though I'd need that crystal ball to know if it's finally a bounce or lack of the shot (it's only 1 hour after scheduled shot time).
 
Back
Top