6/17 Julian AMPS 354 PMPS 241

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lucy and Julian

Member Since 2011
Jules' numbers are dropping! Finally! I cut out his dry food (Purina DM) last night, and he went from testing "HI" last night's PMPS to testing 241 tonight PMPS!
The vet had me up his dose last night, too, but tonight I didn't feel comfortable giving it to him that high (4 units) with how quickly his bg fell, so I gave him the 3.5 he has been getting recently.
I'm watching him like a hawk, and he has some wet food out to nibble on.
Here is a video of us playing with this new toy! (attached) This is something he would not have been doing even a week ago. Seeing his improvement has done so much to ease my stress over this situation! He has been drinking less water (down to 3/4 cup over 12 hours from 2 1/4 cup.... waaaay too much!) and his kitty box looks less like a solid brick, and more like how it should look!
I love my little man so much! Both of us thank all of you so much for your optimism when mine was low and diet help for him!
-Lucy and Julian

OH! what are suggestions for dosage if his numbers are below 200? He has been getting 3.5 units, upped to 4 units last night and this morning, down to 3.5 units tonight. I'm going to call my vet in the morning and see what he recommends too, but he isnt open till 8!
 

Attachments

Lucy:

Can you convert your Excel SS to the template we use or attach an updated SS to your thread here?

You also need to know that you don't slide the Lantus dose based on the pre-shot number. Dose changes are based on the nadir -- the lowest point in the cycle. You don't want to keep shifting the dose around -- numbers will get wonky. Lantus really likes consistency. That said, you might need to reduce the dose further given what you're seeing.

Please get a test or two in tonight. Many cats experience lower numbers at night. At the minimum, please get a test before you go to bed.

If you get a low number in the morning, please post. There are usually people around early in the AM who can lend a hand.
 
Just tested him- hes at +3 184.
This is the lowest he's been since he's come back from the vet. I'll post his am numbers in the morning, and I'll call his vet about a dosage change in the am
 
when you think you may be facing a low number when you give the shot, it's good to test his BG about an hour pre-shot time, then again about 1/2 hour before the shot time. Post both numbers and write "dose advice?" or something like that.

that does a couple of things - it gives people who give advice on dose some time to see your post, and by checking 2 numbers it tells if julian's BG is rising on its own or if it's a dropping number.

you also want to get a mid-cycle check to see what the lowest point is, like at a +6 if possible. that's what determines the dose changes.

in my sig line is the sticky on what to do when you're facing a lower-than-you've-had-before pre-shot number. you might want to read that tonight so you're prepped!

so great to hear that Julian is returning to his old self! that's the best! i'll go look at his video now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top