6/17 Heart AMPS 24.0 (432), PMPS 464, +4 421

Status
Not open for further replies.

dodgingwrenches

Member Since 2010
Just following up on this thread. Although last nights PMPS was high again, this morning's AMPS is slightly lower than yesterday's AMPS. Still in the red though.

Ketones last night were negative. Phew. Appetite this morning still strong. Was meowing and begging for food then stuffed his little face.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17328
 
Re: 6/17 Heart AMPS 24.0 (432)

fingers crossed that the numbers keep coming down.

How's testing going?
 
Re: 6/17 Heart AMPS 24.0 (432)

Welcome to lantus land..Been watching since you came on & got a lot of great advice--
Yes, you need to give the dose several days at the beginning to take effect in the body--5-7 days for a newbie kittie..
So numbers coming down will be your cue that dose is working..
Also in the sticky at the top of page New to Lantus, it gives most basic info
This is important, It is how a normal curve is done on a kitty, & times to do spot checks(dont have to do all, but a +3,+6, am & pm is important at least): You need to collect some data about her numbers during the course of a day.
Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

This is how the numbers go during a normal day-+3 insulin onset starts--+6 is the lowest of the cycle,+8 starts to rise again--
Hope you find this helpful!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/17 Heart AMPS 24.0 (432)

odiesmom said:
How's testing going?

Last night I had to prick three times to get one that actually bled, but it wasn't that bad - not as much squirming as when we used to do it without the flashlight. This morning it took two pricks (first one I didn't get enough blood and got an E-2 message, so had to try again). He still sits in my lap like a good boy though. Maybe because he knows he gets fed right after!

Only question I have - I'm using polysporin instead of vaseline on his ears. Could this affect the readings?
 
Re: 6/17 Heart AMPS 24.0 (432)

Thanks Ronny. I couldn't really do much of a curve yet on Lantus because I haven't been home much. It'll have to wait until the weekend
 
Re: 6/17 Heart AMPS 24.0 (432)

Feed a treat like freeze dried chicken or real chicken WHILE you are testing--While Heart is eating it, try the test..They are so distracted, they dont even know..Took me AGES to BG Moonie, but I finally got it! Go along the ear line, that's where the vein is..
I can usually get some out of the top tip of the ear..GOOD LUCK!!
It will all come together.. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/17 Heart AMPS 24.0 (432)

dodgingwrenches said:
Only question I have - I'm using polysporin instead of vaseline on his ears. Could this affect the readings?


You use polysporin first, to smooth out the fur before testing?
I don't think it would affect the readings, but I'm not entirely sure.

I use vaseline before pricking, test, squeeze the ear with a tissue to stop the bleeding, then put polysporin on after to help with healing.
 
Re: 6/17 Heart AMPS 24.0 (432)

Yep, use polysporin first - two birds with one stone if you know what I mean. I got that idea from a youtube video.
 
He was 464 PMPS and then at +4 he was at 421. I like not seeing any black today, but still I'd prefer some better numbers. Being patient is hard :(
 
I'm trying to find a review on glucometers that had been floating around. From you're profile, you're using a True Track? I think this is a meter that may require a lot of blood. If so, this may be making testing more complicated than it needs to be.

ETA: Ronnie had the Consumer Reports glucometer review. True Track is their worst rated. You might want to hold on to it as a back up but I suspect you'll continue to have headaches with it. It's also rated poorly for accuracy.
 
The reason I'm using the true track is because the strips are so much cheaper. I don't think we have the ReliOn here in Canada unfortunately.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top