Re: 6/17 Heart AMPS 24.0 (432)
Welcome to lantus land..Been watching since you came on & got a lot of great advice--
Yes, you need to give the dose several days at the beginning to take effect in the body--5-7 days for a newbie kittie..
So numbers coming down will be your cue that dose is working..
Also in the sticky at the top of page New to Lantus, it gives most basic info
This is important, It is how a normal curve is done on a kitty, & times to do spot checks(dont have to do all, but a +3,+6, am & pm is important at least): You need to collect some data about her numbers during the course of a day.
Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
This is how the numbers go during a normal day-+3 insulin onset starts--+6 is the lowest of the cycle,+8 starts to rise again--
Hope you find this helpful!!! :mrgreen: