6/17 Guinness AMPS 346 (10.5u)

Status
Not open for further replies.

linda and guinness

Member Since 2009
Good Morning Lantus Land. I'm sorry I have been away for a while. I needed to take a step back from posting and regain my sanity. I probably won't be posting as much, but want to keep in contact and have the opportunity to ask questions.

Guinness is currently at 10.5u of Lantus now. He had a great drop into the blues a few days ago, surfing blue all day and then bouncing back hard. He had his lowest and highest numbers within one day. My intention was to hold the dose of 10.25u that produced his blue numbers for 5 days, but he seems to either not be clearing the bounce or raising back up again after possibly clearing the bounce. His +5.5 was 206 last night. I went against my plan and raised his dose this am to 10.5. I will get a +2.5 before I head off for work. I may try and hold this dose longer than 6 cycles if he drops down into the blues again.

He went to the vet last week to have blood drawn for Pancreatitis (PLI), Insulin Resistence (IAA) and Acro. My vet spoke to a "specialist" at a conference who rolled his eyes and said I would be wasting my money if I got the IAA and especially the Acro test. I pushed forth and insisted that my vet do the tests. The results won't be back for a while.

I'm trying to spend more time searching old posts, reading and re-reading protocol rather than just blatantly posting questions. I think it's time better spent for me. Have a great day.
 
I was wondering where you got to!

IMHO, I think you're wise to get the tests run. No matter what the outcome, you will know what's going on. I think there are a lot of vets who still think acro and IAA are very rare conditions. From what we've seen here, they are much less rare than previously thought.
 
Hi guys .. well I guess we all have to take time for ourselves, you know we will be here when you stop in! I'm glad you pushed through with the testing ... like Sienne said, at least you will have a better understanding of what is going on .. have a great weekend guys!
 
Hi Linda!!! So glad you opened a condo today. I've missed you!!! Good to hear that Guinness has been doing well. I'm glad you went ahead with the testing. It won't be a waste of money because, whatever happens, at least you'll know. I wish vets didn't find it necessary to discourage their clients when they request a test. Especially when they know you've done your research and you're not a hypochondriac about your cat. Regardless, I'm glad for you that you'll finally know one way or another. Keep in touch!!
 
i also think it's money well-spent. your test results will tell you what tactics to take for guinness - to me that's smart. btw, i posted links in the condo on acro that was up a few days ago if you're interested. i'll try to find it and bump it.

i've also missed you and wondered if all was ok. this place can suck up your time, that's for sure. i'm trying to limit to an hour a couple of times a day. but what a nice way to spend it.

have a good friday, linda!
 
Linda, I am so glad that you both are ok.. I agree with the others, at least having the tests done you will know, and not have to wonder anymore. I myself have been away for a while so I understand completely as I know all of us do. I'm really happy to see that Guinness is doing ok.. Did you ever find any reason or explanation for the strange behavior on the 3rd and is he back to being himself?.. I was soooooo worried about you both.. Thank you for opening a condo today.
Hugs :YMHUG:
 
Hi Linda,

Welcome back! I understand the feeling that you need to step back a little sometimes. Sometimes it feels intense so it's healthy to take a break.

I agree with everyone on the tests. Having a peace of mind makes sense so I'm curious as to why they place so little value on the tests. Just glad you got the tests done.

Bonnie
 
Linda, I was wondering where you've been! I am glad that you're doing well and that you took some time for yourself to step back... it's really hard to keep up with all the stuff going on at times. Posting about your kitty every day can be super overwhelming and bring up some difficult issues/feelings especially when things aren't going the way you would hope for (at least for me, I am sorry if I am being presumptuous it is not my intention at all).

I agree with everyone else, I do NOT think it is a waste of money to have those tests done. It's good to have a piece of mind and if you find a concurrent issue, it changes the way you see the treatment-- its no longer an issue of "what am I doing or not doing" and it's more of doing your best to give your kitters QOL and lots of love. I know Willy is on a significantly lower dose than Guinness, but I am going to speak to my vet about having Acro/IAA done with Willy too for some odd signs he's still displaying. I am willing to pay for piece of mind, it's MY money and MY kitty, there is absolutely NO reason to be ashamed of that.

We will always be here to support you and answer any questions you have!
 
Linda!!! So glad to have you back. We have all missed you and wondered how Guinness is doing. I think if it gives you peace of mind, you should do it. To heck with the vet...not their money.

I do hope we see you around more but we understand....we do all have lives :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top