6/17 Darcy update

Suzanne & Darcy

Member Since 2020
Well, Mr. Darcy is at the vet again today and will be again tomorrow, I am sure. Waiting for the Cisapride to arrive. He's had enemas yesterday and enemas today. Hopefully, this will make him feel better. This must be so stressful for him.

Yesterday, I was really upset when the vet tech called me to update me and she said that this was just going to be a chronic problem and "did I want to proceed?" (Like what's the alternative? euthanize the cat or give him the enemas?) She pointed out that he is "not a candidate for anesthesia" -- like I don't already KNOW that! This vet tech is doing it again (same thing happened last fall when he was DKA and she said "this cat is not going to get better" and did I want to "keep going with his treatment?" At least, yesterday, when I went to pick him up and the vet came out to talk to me, she seemed optimistic that we could clean him out and hopefully the Cisapride will be able to keep things moving. I will either get him x-rayed again before we quit with the enemas (he's had three today -- two yesterday, I believe)... or maybe I should have her put the ultrasound probe on him for a very quick look around? I'll ask her about this. He is getting way too many x-rays. That cannot be good.

Of course, they did labs on him yesterday. Atrocious off the charts kidney values, but somehow Mr. Darcy still keeps on being a good boy who is happy and loving... despite the numbers. This morning he ate well... of course his breakfast consisted of boiled chicken thigh pieces hand fed to him... he loved it... haven't seen him eat that well in a while. Spoiled!

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-15-darcy-pmps-139.248664/#post-2804930
 
You have so much to deal with. I'm so sorry he is having all these constipation issues. Are they directly related to the kidney issues? What stage kidney disease did they say Mr. Darcy is in? I'm so glad he is eating. I'm sure he likes his Momma feeding him. Praying that the cisapride will truly help with the constipation issues and he will be more comfortable - and so will you. I really wish there were something I could do or say to help you through all of this. It is so ironic to me because he was just getting into really, really good blood glucose numbers a while ago and then all of this happened. I'm glad the vet spoke to you directly and was optimistic. Please, don't be a stranger on this site. A lot of people wonder where you are and worry when we don't hear from you. Let us be here for you.

I forgot to mention that you have 7/17 in your post. Can you change that to 6/17?
 
I'm so sorry you had to endure those comments from the vet tech:(. That's just so outrageously upsetting, on top of everything else you are going through with Mr. Darcy. He and you have been through so much already. I pray that the cisapride will keep things moving for him and he can be free of vet visits for a long while. I'm glad to hear he is eating well, though. Keep those yummy homemade chicken pieces coming:joyful::cat:. Sending you lots of strength and healing prayers and vines to Mr. Darcy.
 
Same as what Lyla said, I am so sorry you had to hear that from the vet tech. One of those situations that makes you wonder why they do that job (though we can only hope their animal bedside manner is better than their human one). You wouldn't say that to a human with chronic constipation (and I've been through this, taking my mother with dementia to the ER for the same issue.) Does the vet know what this tech says to the owners? Clearly there's a history.

I am glad the vet came out to speak with you directly and is hopeful to get this resolved. This falls into my theory that you always want to speak to the person with the most knowledge and experience (I usually apply this to customer service phone calls, Tier 1 support rarely can help do anything more than repeat what you've already done following online instructions...I want 2nd level support!).

I just picture Mr D reclining on the guest bed with fine linens while you hand feed him delectable morsels of chicken thigh. I'm so glad to hear he is happy and loving and seems to be tolerating all this well. Along with everyone else, hoping the enema works and the meds arrive and work soon.

Hang in there and keep boiling chicken. :bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Mr. Darcy :bighug: Suzanne, I am so sorry that you all are going through that. :bighug:

Did they mention lactulose as well? It works well to soften the stool and then the cisapride to move things along. I belong to a feline Megacolon group on FB that has some home enema protocols, that seem to work well for the members. We have done several at home enemas for Cosmo last summer along with several manual extractions at the vet.

While terrible for his FD, we fed Cosmo RC gastrointestinal fiber response dry food for a while (and still sometimes), that was a life saver. The FB Megacolon group swears by it. It is great, once you can get things cleared out to start.

Lots of hugs to you :bighug:
 
Prayers for Darcy :bighug:. What a tough situation Suzanne :(. Darcy is fortunate to have a strong Mom with persistence and determination to help.
If you have the energy, I hope you share some feedback with the vet/office manager/owner about that tech….I would personally ask that she not be involved with my case moving forward. It’s like having a rowing team and you’ve got someone refusing to paddle :stop:. No need for them to be part of the team if they aren’t on the same page and willing to help.
 
Oh Mr. Darcy :bighug: Suzanne, I am so sorry that you all are going through that. :bighug:

Did they mention lactulose as well? It works well to soften the stool and then the cisapride to move things along. I belong to a feline Megacolon group on FB that has some home enema protocols, that seem to work well for the members. We have done several at home enemas for Cosmo last summer along with several manual extractions at the vet.

While terrible for his FD, we fed Cosmo RC gastrointestinal fiber response dry food for a while (and still sometimes), that was a life saver. The FB Megacolon group swears by it. It is great, once you can get things cleared out to start.

Lots of hugs to you :bighug:
Does the fiber response come in a canned version? With his kidney disease I am hoping to feed wet food.
 
Oh Mr. Darcy :bighug: Suzanne, I am so sorry that you all are going through that. :bighug:

Did they mention lactulose as well? It works well to soften the stool and then the cisapride to move things along. I belong to a feline Megacolon group on FB that has some home enema protocols, that seem to work well for the members. We have done several at home enemas for Cosmo last summer along with several manual extractions at the vet.

While terrible for his FD, we fed Cosmo RC gastrointestinal fiber response dry food for a while (and still sometimes), that was a life saver. The FB Megacolon group swears by it. It is great, once you can get things cleared out to start.

Lots of hugs to you :bighug:
Yes. We have been using Lactulose. He gets a lot of it, but it hasn’t been entro keep things moving. We need the Cisapride to hopefully help the muscles move the stuff out. You say the megacolon group is on FB?
 
Suzanne, I responded.on other post (yesterday's I think). I was called into work and couldn't respond at that time.

Hope he gets cleaned out, and hopefully with the cisapride will help prevent it.
 
You have so much to deal with. I'm so sorry he is having all these constipation issues. Are they directly related to the kidney issues? What stage kidney disease did they say Mr. Darcy is in? I'm so glad he is eating. I'm sure he likes his Momma feeding him. Praying that the cisapride will truly help with the constipation issues and he will be more comfortable - and so will you. I really wish there were something I could do or say to help you through all of this. It is so ironic to me because he was just getting into really, really good blood glucose numbers a while ago and then all of this happened. I'm glad the vet spoke to you directly and was optimistic. Please, don't be a stranger on this site. A lot of people wonder where you are and worry when we don't hear from you. Let us be here for you.

I forgot to mention that you have 7/17 in your post. Can you change that to 6/17?
We don’t talk stages. I know what stage it is but refuse to acknowledge it. It’s bad. But my baby is still a happy boy who doesn’t act sick except his appetite is not great sometimes. So I refuse to acknowledge the numbers except as tools for me to make adjustments. It’s a nightmare though really- to go from good labs to depths of despair in a day. And they don’t improve so I can stop fooling myself about acute kidney injury.
 
We don’t talk stages. I know what stage it is but refuse to acknowledge it. It’s bad. But my baby is still a happy boy who doesn’t act sick except his appetite is not great sometimes. So I refuse to acknowledge the numbers except as tools for me to make adjustments. It’s a nightmare though really- to go from good labs to depths of despair in a day. And they don’t improve so I can stop fooling myself about acute kidney injury.
Oh Suzanne :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: at least Darcy is happy, bless his little heart
 
Yes, it is on FB. Feline Megacolon. Some of the kitties have very serious or congenital megacolon and require surgery. The ‘protocol’ is used often by members, but we have never needed it.
Hi Suzanne, did not see a condo for today, Darcy must be at the vet already. Sending prayers for his little body to start pooping on his own. Prayers for improved labs. See you later. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Yes Suzanne, hope the vet's magic works on our Darcy today and the cisapride comes. I see the s/s not updated last few days, or a condo for today, and we all know that means you are not in a good place. :(. Aunties are all sending prayers and wishes for a happy, purring, eating, pooping Fitzwilliam back home with you tonight grazing on hand-served chicken thighs. :bighug::bighug:
 
Suzanne I'm so sorry you and Mr Darcy are going thru this. Just ignore what the vet tech says to you! I read she has voiced her opinion last fall and upset you
She should keep her mouth shut and let your vet speak to you
Down the road I would tell your vet to tell her to not voice her opinions to you
I agree with @Liz & Minnie concerning the vet tech and her comments
I hope the cisapride arrives soon.
I'm happy to hear he ate good this morning!
We are all praying for sweet Darcy to feel better and give us a really big poop!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Suzanne, was hoping to see an update. Hope all they had to do was an enema, not that an enema is what you want for Darcy. Hope you are both doing as well as possible. Thinking of you two and praying this can finally get resolved TODAY!!! Check back later. :bighug::bighug:
 
(((Suzanne)))
It sounds like you have a vet your trust and who is supportive. Have you given any thought to mentioning the behavior of this vet tech to your vet? If the vet is optimistic, you don't need the aggravation of a vet test who isn't willing to fight on Darcy's behalf. Of course, you could always let the practice know that you don't want this tech coming anywhere near your kitty.
 
SUZANNE!! :bighug::bighug: I am so happy to see an update on Darcy's s/s. I am sorry he was at the ER but it is such a weight off my mind to see an update. Sounds like you have had a real time of it the last few days...and how typical of you to check in on everyone else :bighug::bighug:. You're such a kind person.

I do hope this means that Darcy has finally been evacuated. Hopefully he is happier now and has an appetite, he has lost a lot of weight. So frustrating when the vets ignore instructions ...I appreciate they are busy, but annoying that they can seem oblivious to the longer term impact of their actions. On the plus side his numbers are looking pretty good and safe. Also hope you were able to take advantage of the overnight at the vet and get a decent night sleep.

Again, so so relieved to see an update from you.:cat::cat: (appropriate song search in progress)

ETA - I found Darcé's next song
 
Last edited:
Back
Top