6/17 Chuck 436 PMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chuck and Susan

Member Since 2010
Last night's numbers were 383 PMPS (good) and 115 +4. This morning, not so good -- 437 preshot and now 269 +2.5; that's a pretty healthy drop in such a short time. I probably should expect him to bounce and will leave out frozen to help level out a bit.

Looking at his spreadsheet over the last month, I can see improvement. If I showed the graphic representation of his numbers to his vet, he'd say the PZ isn't working, that there is too much roller coaster going on. So, do I tough it out longer (and how much longer) or give up and go back to the vet with the numbers we have now?
 
Chuck and Susan said:
...Looking at his spreadsheet over the last month, I can see improvement. If I showed the graphic representation of his numbers to his vet, he'd say the PZ isn't working, that there is too much roller coaster going on. So, do I tough it out longer (and how much longer) or give up and go back to the vet with the numbers we have now?


The question really is what do you want to do? Allegedly, if you stay on ProZinc, the swings eventually become less and flatten out a bit.

However, Lantus and Levemir work very differently than ProZinc, and you'd need to learn about whichever one you decided to try. If you haven't explored those subboards, maybe take some time to do that, read how folks are using those insulins, then meet with vet to discuss options.
 
We started on Lantus, he had constant roller coastering, and we switched to ProZinc on the advice of both the local vet and the vets at Texas A&M. I was familiar and comfortable with Lantus, but we couldn't get any kind of regulation/stable numbers from it.
 
I can see progress. Your all red PS's have become mostly Pink PS's.

You are in a tough spot. You are getting nice mid cycle numbers and bouncy PS's so you can't really increase the dose alot without causing more bounce numbers. Unfortunately Chuck is going to bounce until he doesn't.

It's up to you about the vet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top