Re: 6/17 Alexia's Blue - AMPS 184
Hi Hillary! What a great thing you are doing for Alexia and Blue. I have read most of the posts, particularly the one from yesterday in LL, and you got some good advice.
I have never used ProZinc, just PZI Idexx. That being said, the one major thing I would caution you about is what Jennifer (FurballLover) warned about, which is that dosing is mostly based on PS. I had my no-shoot set at 150 until just before Buzz went OTJ, when I would occasionally shoot a 100 or so, and I wasn't particularly afraid of low numbers; that's just how you have to treat PZI. Throw everything you know about shed out the window, because it totally doesn't apply to ProZinc.
You may see much wilder swings on ProZinc than you would on Lantus, so be ready for that too. Part of my experience with that, I've come to realize, is that Buzz is just sort of a wild swinger anyway, no matter what insulin she is on. It seems like the onset with PZIR can be a little rougher than with Lantus, especially if the kitty is unregulated.
One thing I would suggest is to look at Gator & H's SS. He has experimented a lot with ProZinc and keeps pretty good documentation. He doesn't post very often any more, but he did say we could PM him and he'd get back to us ASAP, so that's a resource you might want to keep in mind.
Good luck, and please don't hesitate to post with questions here in PZI or elsewhere. I know you will do great because this isn't your first rodeo.
