6/17/19 Jack the Cat AMPS 192, +2 124, +4 43, +5 100, +6 68, +7 70, +9 102

Jack the Cat

Member Since 2019
No reds!

I think we are on our way to getting this under control.

Since Jack was diagnosed in April, he has literally hunkered down in my bedroom, usually under the bed, leaving only to use little box and to feed in the bathroom.

Now he stays either on the bed, by the window, or at the top of the stairs going down to our living room. No more hunkering.

We have a patio on our roof, which Jack loves since he gets to go outside up there and do all the smell things. Plus for whatever reason he loves to chew down on chives. I've got chives planted in a bowl up there. Well last night, Jack climbed the stair to the roof and found the chives! I just couldn't shoo him away as I normally would have.

For me this huge progress and am so thankful that I found this group and the guidance that you all have given me.

Considered yourselves hugged.
 
Awesome start today Jack!! :cool::cool:

Isn’t great when you notice the first strides toward healing? More stable walking, more energy, personality more themselves. I’m happy that you’re seeing such progress in Jack

Enjoy your Monday! :coffee:
 
That so great to hear! Happy he's back enjoying those chives :cat:!! The BGs are nice, but if my guy is enjoying life that makes me the most excited.
 
Hmm. Sorry you've got that #! Is he still acting like he was--not hunkering down under the bed?
 
Thank you for the info on the chives...I did not know. Will make sure he does not eat any more.

I have catnip up there as well.

I had to go find Jack to test him @ +4 ...he was on the steps to go up to the roof, so no hunkering!

Just tested at +5 and he at 100. Going in the right direction.
 
Jack the Cat @ +6 is 68.

At +4 and 48 gave HC food and corn syrup, at +50 was 100, now @ +6 is 68...I don't know what is going on with his numbers today??
 
The 100 is probably a bump from the corn syrup and HC food. 68 is probably his BG without food influence, otherwise where his curve would have naturally took him.

From your spreadsheet it looks like Jack has a pretty reliable nadir at +4, you may want to start testing at +3 and feeding a couple teaspoons of his normal low carb food to steer his BG up at +3 so that his nadir drop at +4 isn’t so dramatic ;)

I think there is an article somewhere around here about feeding the curve, and Phoebe Squeaks also posted today asking a question about it so you might be able to learn something there :)

You might also want to consider doing a couple curves staggered from your typical testing. For example you test +2, +4, +6 etc... if you do a couple curves from time to time using +1, +3, +5, etc... you’ll be able to gain an understanding of what a full 12 hour day looks like for Jack :)

Either way you are both doing great! Jacks numbers are looking so great with the exception of his tendency to dive at +4 ;)
 
The 100 is probably a bump from the corn syrup and HC food. 68 is probably his BG without food influence, otherwise where his curve would have naturally took him.

From your spreadsheet it looks like Jack has a pretty reliable nadir at +4, you may want to start testing at +3 and feeding a couple teaspoons of his normal low carb food to steer his BG up at +3 so that his nadir drop at +4 isn’t so dramatic ;)

I think there is an article somewhere around here about feeding the curve, and Phoebe Squeaks also posted today asking a question about it so you might be able to learn something there :)

You might also want to consider doing a couple curves staggered from your typical testing. For example you test +2, +4, +6 etc... if you do a couple curves from time to time using +1, +3, +5, etc... you’ll be able to gain an understanding of what a full 12 hour day looks like for Jack :)

Either way you are both doing great! Jacks numbers are looking so great with the exception of his tendency to dive at +4 ;)


OMG this helps me so much. I've been graphing his numbers and recognized the +4 is when he dives. Thank you. I will certainly do what you have suggested for testing on odd hours.

Can I trouble for a question?

Tomorrow I had planned to test with leaving some kibble out during day and night to see if that would prevent his going below 50 as we are leaving on Thursday for a week long trip I cannot avoid.

I have a vet tech coming twice a day. I just would like to see him not go hypo even if he runs high for a few day. I don't want him to go hypo when I am not around to react.

Would this be appropriate?
 
No trouble at all!

If Jack is transitioned to all wet food I would personally not use kibble while you’re away.

When we travel, most of us will use a reduced dose unless their pet sitter can monitor BG levels and can stay and monitor the cat.

A few days before your trip (3 days) post a question mark before your title, and write something along the lines of “Need Dosing Advice, Away for the next week” Describe your situation and someone with experience will offer some insight into what an appropriate vacation dose would be for Jack.

Jack is already all the way down to 0.25u so for him it could be something as small as a drop dose! Maybe it could be something like stopping insulin and feeding only LC ( **dont do that without expert insight, I’m not an expert at all**)

If you want to discuss the possibilities sooner for mental preparation (I’m totally that type) you could create a post asking the advice now, and then post the final advice post again 3 days before you leave.

The reason you ask three days beforehand is because you will try the dose first and drain the depot Jack has built up, and see how he does on it. He’s really racing down the dose ladder so I wonder what will happen!

Good luck :)
 
IMHO with a 43 you really should take the reduction to 0.1u. Even with TR it would be warranted, and you are following SLGS so the dose needed to be reduced regardless of dosing method. As for how to get to 0.1u, try taking up about 0.5u, and count out how many drops you squeeze out to get to 0.25u. Then squeeze out another one or two drops (depends on how much came out from 0.5u to 0.25u), and call that 0.1u.
 
IMHO with a 43 you really should take the reduction to 0.1u. Even with TR it would be warranted, and you are following SLGS so the dose needed to be reduced regardless of dosing method. As for how to get to 0.1u, try taking up about 0.5u, and count out how many drops you squeeze out to get to 0.25u. Then squeeze out another one or two drops (depends on how much came out from 0.5u to 0.25u), and call that 0.1u.

I will definitely do this, but I don't have syringes that go to that detail yet. And I don't have the eyes that I can even see that small. They have been shipped and will arrive next week.

I have to leave town for a week on Thursday. I am going to try and feed the curve as I need to give the pet sitter instructions for insulin and food. I need to know he won't go hypo until I get back and be home to test and reduce without interruption.

Thank you for your guidance.
 
No trouble at all!

If Jack is transitioned to all wet food I would personally not use kibble while you’re away.

When we travel, most of us will use a reduced dose unless their pet sitter can monitor BG levels and can stay and monitor the cat.

A few days before your trip (3 days) post a question mark before your title, and write something along the lines of “Need Dosing Advice, Away for the next week” Describe your situation and someone with experience will offer some insight into what an appropriate vacation dose would be for Jack.

Jack is already all the way down to 0.25u so for him it could be something as small as a drop dose! Maybe it could be something like stopping insulin and feeding only LC ( **dont do that without expert insight, I’m not an expert at all**)

If you want to discuss the possibilities sooner for mental preparation (I’m totally that type) you could create a post asking the advice now, and then post the final advice post again 3 days before you leave.

The reason you ask three days beforehand is because you will try the dose first and drain the depot Jack has built up, and see how he does on it. He’s really racing down the dose ladder so I wonder what will happen!

Good luck :)

Well I am three days from departure so will post something right now. Thanks
 
Back
Top