6/16 Sylvan's first AMPS test 274, +3 244, +6 247, +8 264

Status
Not open for further replies.

sylvan

Member Since 2011
Good Morning,

So I'm happy with 274 for the first morning on Lantus. I was worried it would be much, much higher. I know it still may go up, but now I can breathe a little. We will see how he does with his first curve.

Sylvan has been waiting all morning for his test and shot. It's funny how he hangs out where we test until he's done, then he asks to go out. I swear, he knows that the testing and shot is for his own good. He also lies at the table when he's high.

Yesterday's post
 
Re: 6/16 Sylvan's first AMPS test 274

Hi guys .. no, not a bad number at all .. sunny yellow for sylvan this morning! I am always jealous of the kitties that report to their testing/shot spots .. we always had to chase mocha ... every single day .. every single time .. she never made it easy! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 6/16 Sylvan's first AMPS test 274

Hi Liz

I didn't get to welcome you to LL yesterday. We are a very close-knit group and are here to help each other in any way that we can. Please ask questions and let us know when you need any help. Between the east coasters and us west coasters, there is usually always someone around; or if not, it isn't long before someone is. We're glad to have you around; I think it is Christie that says LL is the best place you never want to be :lol: :lol: She's so right!!!

It was very kind and thoughtful of you to post on Sandy's condo today about Tessie Lou. Because we get so close, a loss of one of our sugarbabies or civvies is devastating for everyone. Thank you for your words of comfort to Sandy.

Very nice AMPS for Sylvan...let's hope the lantus works much better for him than PZI. See you in LL!
 
Re: 6/16 Sylvan's first AMPS test 274

Thank you both. Sylvan's +3 was 244, which is good for him. He's looking good and is out basking in the shade. He actually hates the summer sun.

Sandy's post really tugged at my heart and I wish I could be more of a help. I lost my dear fur baby in 2004 and her story reminded me so much of what I was going through. It's so hard. And I understand how devastating it must be for everyone here.
 
Re: 6/16 Sylvan's first AMPS test 274

we all cheer for each other's successes, and grieve when one of the kitters passes. you're part of that now. new people come in all the time and there's room for everyone!

good job getting the testing going and switching to Lantus!

you can update your subject line by going to your first post and clicking "edit" then add "+3/244" after the 274. that way people will follow sylvan's progress during the day and will pop in to offer suggestions if they notice anything. So the 244 was a little lower than the preshot - make sure and get a mid-cycle, around +5/6/7 to see what the lowest point is. it's not always neatly in the middle, of course, but it's a great place to start. Lantus dosing is based upon the lowest number.

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

Here's a great sticky to start with. I have re-read all of them and pick up different points each time. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139

one of the best ways i've found to learn is to read other condos (posts) and what other kitties are going through. it's amazing how much you can pick up that way!

have a great day, Liz!
 
Re: 6/16 Sylvan's first AMPS test 274, +3 244, +6 247, +8 26

Just dropping by to say welcome to Lantus Land! Yes, there is always room for one more here.

We're always happy to see new "beans" (aka human beans), because we all know how supportive and informative this place is. I wouldn't have my kitty at all without LL.

You are off to a great start!
 
Re: 6/16 Sylvan's first AMPS test 274, +3 244, +6 247, +8 26

I just wanted to drop by and welcome you to LL. This place is an incredible support for all of us beans dealing with feline diabetes. I don't know what I would have done if I hadn't found this place. I'm not sure Simon would have survived the first few days because his former vet put him on such a high dose of insulin in the beginning and I was shooting blind. Once I started hometesting, it was obvious that he was on way too much insulin. I immediately reduced based on all the great advice here and now Simon is doing so well and feeling great. Congratulations on doing Sylvan's first AMPS. Simon is also similar to Sylvan -- he always goes to his testing blanket without me having to pick him up and bring him there. Welcome and hope Sylvan continues to do well on the lantus.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top