6/16 Ruby AMPS 175/+2 159/+4 174/+8 96/PMPS 103/+2 129

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
Yesterday on American Ruby.

Making biscuits alarm went off at 5:55 this morning. o_O :p ✅
Stalked a bug in the hallway last night. ✅
Ate her turkey + lamb breakfast. ✅

Today is Ruby's 6th day on prednisolone.

Ruby's numbers have remained blue, but decided to increase this morning to .25 as numbers are climbing. Talked to her vet yesterday about putting a Libre on Ruby, and she said she'd never done it before but will discuss with her tech. I sent her all of the information I had on it that @Tomlin was so kind to provide, so hopefully she will be amenable and we can get it on Ruby soon. I want to increase Ruby's doses every 6 cycles if necessary and don't want to miss any lows so I can keep her safe.
 
i had no idea acupuncture i an option for cats, you will have to update us all about the benefits since i am pretty certain you are one of the first on the forum to try it :)
I am definitely not the first to try acupuncture. @Wendy&Neko talked about doing it with her Neko, and doing a quick search around the forum I found other condos about it. I feel confident that it will help Ruby in some way because I've done it myself many times with very positive effects to relieve pain and stress. Her doctor targeted meridians that would get at her digestive system and relieve nausea. The needles got her so relaxed that she almost fell asleep on the exam table. I can already tell from how frisky Ruby has been after the treatment that it did her some good.
 
Good to know that the acupuncture seems to be helping Ruby. I tried it once with needles in my feet and hands and never went back again. I'm really happy that she seems to be feeling so well. Have a great day, Katherine.
 
Talked to her vet yesterday about putting a Libre on Ruby, and she said she'd never done it before but will discuss with her tech.
I had the same situation. I was the first person to ever ask for a Libre at my vet. Now she said they do it all the time! So it's good to be a groundbreaker. Of course, Fred will now not keep one on. ;-)

Good luck with the increase!
 
Good luck with the dose increase! Hopefully those numbers can be wrangled!

Hopefully you can get the libre soon, and Ruby tolerates it well and doesn't decide to rip it off :cat:
 
Good to see you are increasing to keep on top of the pred effect. By the way, with the testing you do, I don't think you need the Libre to catch any lows. Just seems the Libre would be yet another vet visit for Ruby if that was the only reason for it.

Neko's acupuncture visits were for her arthritis pain, which can be quite severe in some acros. She's walk visibly more comfortably afterwards, and sometimes even jump on on things she had done for a while!
 
I am definitely not the first to try acupuncture. @Wendy&Neko talked about doing it with her Neko, and doing a quick search around the forum I found other condos about it. I feel confident that it will help Ruby in some way because I've done it myself many times with very positive effects to relieve pain and stress. Her doctor targeted meridians that would get at her digestive system and relieve nausea. The needles got her so relaxed that she almost fell asleep on the exam table. I can already tell from how frisky Ruby has been after the treatment that it did her some good.
Ohh, this is so nice to learn :woot: I am struggling to find a vet that would consider IBD as a disease, acupuncture for cats seems light years away o_Oo_O

Good luck at the interview :bighug:
 
Hi Katherine, good job stalking that bug Ruby, I'm happybto hear she ate her breakfast this morning.
Good job staying on top of the pred and increasing her dose
I'm happy that the acupuncture helped her
Good luck with the interview Katherine ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Just seems the Libre would be yet another vet visit for Ruby if that was the only reason for it.
I will be taking Ruby once a week to the vet for her acupuncture for the next three weeks so we can fit it into one of those appointments if need be. I’m also thinking ahead here, because my job interview went very well <anti-jinx> but if I got it, it would be a really demanding job that would take me away from the house for 10 hours a day and possibly weeks of travel. DBF is WFH but he gets really focused on work and forgets everything else sometimes. The Libre would give me peace of mind.
 
I will be taking Ruby once a week to the vet for her acupuncture for the next three weeks so we can fit it into one of those appointments if need be. I’m also thinking ahead here, because my job interview went very well <anti-jinx> but if I got it, it would be a really demanding job that would take me away from the house for 10 hours a day and possibly weeks of travel. DBF is WFH but he gets really focused on work and forgets everything else sometimes. The Libre would give me peace of mind.

will keep the fingers crossed for you :bighug: our DB stopped getting too distracted with other stuff when he was left alone with Chico for almost a month :D until now he has all the alarms set for testing and feeding :D i am home for almost a month and i still ask him sometimes what should we do? (after a test) haha
 
will keep the fingers crossed for you :bighug: our DB stopped getting too distracted with other stuff when he was left alone with Chico for almost a month :D until now he has all the alarms set for testing and feeding :D i am home for almost a month and i still ask him sometimes what should we do? (after a test) haha
I usually text DBF to remind him to do the test and he's happy to do it, but I'm afraid that I will also be very involved with work and won't remember to remind him. If I do wind up going back to work, I will learn how to put the Libre on Ruby myself. Seems like the best way to save some vet bills and avoid vetty stress.
 
Back
Top