6/16 Minnie +12 60 AMPS/+12.5 47 +.75 82 +1.5 93 +2 117 +3 124 +4 110 +5.5 118 +10 116

Liz & Minnie

Member Since 2021
Yesterday

Yesterday's numbers
AMPS 128, +3 228, +6 210, +7 208, +10.5 142
PMPS 158, +4 104, +8 58, +10.5 74

No food since +8 (although maybe some from the autofeeder?)

Need some advice on this situation - I don't think I've shot below around 90 before, and she seems to be still dropping this cycle.

What's the lower end cut-off for shooting?
 
On TR it's 50 as long as not dropping, and she's rising...but Minnie has so much else going on Im not comfortable saying shoot or don't shoot. But the ketones and DKA make me nervous to reduce.
 
Last edited:
Can you monitor? If yes, shoot. With ketones in the picture, you cannot skip.
Stalling without food may only drop her numbers further.
You're right! She's at 47, so shoot and feed now? Yes can monitor.

ETA Thanks Bhooma, just fed and shot at the same dose. Does this look like nadir has moved out later then? Or she's heading for a reduction maybe? Or...

And how often should I monitor this morning, do you recommend? (for some reason struggling to get blood out of her ears this morning...I think I may be observing a pattern for this when her BG is low but haven't been keeping track)
 
Last edited:
Below 50 is no shoot. Feed a spoon of LC and test in half an hour and see where she is.

ETA: Just saw your ETA about shooting! No reduction since she is now a long term diabetic so the rule is a drop below 40 or 3 drops between 40 an 50 on different days (not cycles)
 
Below 50 is no shoot. Feed a spoon of LC and test in half an hour and see where she is.
Oopsie...I just gave her breakfast. So it was more than a spoon of LC and it had a little MC included :( I was treating it like breakfast and not like a low BG situation...but will test in 30. Gotta run, I think I hear her eating Sammy's leftovers now.

ETA - Double oopsie, I shot when she was at 47
 
Since you shot I think it’s good you fed her the mc. Did you stall when you got the 60 or was the 47 right after?
 
That often happens when you stall. That’s why unless very new I would have shot the 74. I don’t see a 74 though. When was that?
 
She's up to 82 after 45min. Pretty sure she'd like more food but thinking I should hold off a while to see what happens with her BG.

Can I please get some guidance on schedule for next couple of hours - how long before I should next test and how long/how many tests before next food? Thanks in advance! This is new territory.
 
That often happens when you stall. That’s why unless very new I would have shot the 74. I don’t see a 74 though. When was that?
74 was @+10.5, too early for shot time. 60 was at shot time and that's why I posted the question and stalled since it was dropping. After 30min stall, it continued dropping to 47 but my posts with Bhooma crossed so I fed and shot. And here we are!

ETA - Does this mean her nadir has moved out to +12.5? which i've read about with Levemir but not experienced before myself. Or is something else going on?
 
74 was @+10.5, too early for shot time. 60 was at shot time and that's why I posted the question and stalled since it was dropping. After 30min stall, it continued dropping to 47 but my posts with Bhooma crossed so I fed and shot. And here we are!
The other option, when you encounter a low/falling number at +10.5 is to feed a liitle LC then. You can delay your AMPS/shot by 30 mins so you get a clear 2 hour window from the last meal till AMPS. You can shoot at the same time at PM even if you shoot half an hour late in the AM.

Or like Elise said, shoot any number over 50 with TR without stalling.
 
ETA - Does this mean her nadir has moved out to +12.5? which i've read about with Levemir but not experienced before myself. Or is something else going on?
Neko's Lev nadir was anywhere from +5 to +15. Nadirs can and do change and aren't necessarily the same each cycle. Bounce breaking cycles can also have later nadirs.

As for next time, a 60 is safe to shoot, though scary the first few times. Your +10.5 wasn't a falling number, because you had seen a 58 earlier. What you saw at AMPS could have been a double dip with the lower number earlier. Then her numbers dropped when you stalled too long. When Neko gave me a 40's at AMPS (yes, more than once, :rolleyes:), I'd stall no more than 10-15 minutes to see what direction she was going. Otherwise, feed the 40's. There is a section on what to do in this situation in the Sticky Note on handling lower preshots.

Guidance moving ahead, test again in an hour to see if she's maintaining the rise. You still have time to onset so she should have turned the corner.
 
Thank you! Will check that sticky. (again, I am sure, but you only really retain the information when you've been through it I find!)

Now...it's probably a bit early to ask this but anyway. I will be out early Saturday for a good part of the day (leave 530am, back around 2pm) so I'm wondering how best to handle this, like a mini vacation? Decrease dose back to 6 Fri night and Sat morning? Or should I decrease Fri morning too? (assuming she doesn't earn a reduction in the meantime). I have 2 autofeeders and can give her MC food as well (or instead)

I was working to get her shot times earlier so today's stall messed things up too.
 
I agree with you about the stickys, Liz. They are hard to retain unless you have been through that situation. Love all the information you have at the top of your spreadsheet. Good luck with your sweet Minnie.
 
Well we're still at 124 at +3 which I think has been her onset. This should be an interesting day of surfing I think. I'm guessing if she was going to bounce, it would have gone up a lot more in the last hour.
 
Now...it's probably a bit early to ask this but anyway. I will be out early Saturday for a good part of the day (leave 530am, back around 2pm) so I'm wondering how best to handle this, like a mini vacation? Decrease dose back to 6 Fri night and Sat morning? Or should I decrease Fri morning too? (assuming she doesn't earn a reduction in the meantime). I have 2 autofeeders and can give her MC food as well (or instead)
Given the limes, I'd reduce her a few cyles before you leave, so the depot can drain some before you do and you can make sure it's a safe dose to leave her on. And if you can, maybe a nap this afternoon?
 
Given the limes, I'd reduce her a few cycles before you leave, so the depot can drain some before you do and you can make sure it's a safe dose to leave her on. And if you can, maybe a nap this afternoon?
This makes me fear a long night! Nap time now for me before PMPS. I've never seen her so flat and so low for so long! She has been sleeping a lot today, eats when I offer it but not ravenous and not begging me for food. Interesting how she didn't drop today like last night, and if anything she had more food during last night's cycle.

Question about 'a few cycles' - would you suggest lowering the dose starting Thurs morning / night / Fri morning? I'm leaning to Thurs night but I have no understanding of how the depot drains in any cat, not even my own. I hate the timing of this just when we seem to be making progress so don't want to start too early!

thanks
 
I used to give three cycles to drain the depot, based on Neko's data. Look at previous reductions and how long it's taken Minnie to get rid of the worst of the depot effects. Larger depots can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction.
 
Back
Top