6/16 Leo AMPS 180, +3 142, +6 106, +8 83, +10 88, PMPS 104

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
Howdy All,

So it looks like my little man had another good day, we haven't seen stinkus pinkus in 8 days....hooray! I'm all done work tomorrow and should have Leo back in my arms around 4 tomorrow afternoon!! :-D So my question is.....we've been having a terrific run of numbers lately and tonight was Leo's 23rd cycle of 3.00 units, are we ok to continue holding this dose? I know i've read in someones condo that it isn't good to hold a dose for too long. IMHO, i think we should continue holding until Leo decides he wants a dose reduction. But.......maybe the experts can weigh in for me...please?

I would have asked a few days ago, but my father isn't comfortable with dose increases so we wait until i'm home from work.

Thanks, and hope everyone is doing well in LL!!
 
Re: 6/16 Leo AMPS 180, +3 142, +6 106, +8 83, +10 88, PMPS 1

Hello Tracy! It's nice to see you. I have no idea but it seems like I have seen people on the same dose longer than that. I'm so glad you get to come home tomorrow and see Leo. Looks like grandpa has done a great job!!
 
Re: 6/16 Leo AMPS 180, +3 142, +6 106, +8 83, +10 88, PMPS 1

There are a couple of things to consider. You could hold the dose but it doesn't look to me like Leo is winding up to drop lower. His numbers have been in the upper to mid-green and above range. If you're going to be home to monitor, I would probably fatten the dose or raise it to 3.25u. Chances are that by doing up in dose, Leo's numbers will come down and he'll earn the dose reduction.

Holding a dose for too long, especially if the numbers are above renal threshold, can make it harder for a cat to earn a reduction. Staying in higher ranges means that your cat acclimates to being in those ranges and those above normal numbers become the new "normal." That's why we generally encourage increasing a dose in no more than 5 days.
 
Re: 6/16 Leo AMPS 180, +3 142, +6 106, +8 83, +10 88, PMPS 1

Leo has been looking great lately, Tracy!!! I know you must be excited and soon you'll be home for cuddles!!

On holding the dose, if the kitty is doing really well, you can hold. Look at Mannie and Tess's SSs. They've held those doses for a very long time because the cats are doing great at them and haven't earned a reduction yet. They have been close to earning reductions and so to take them up would be a little edgy for the beans. Holding a dose with high numbers.....not good. Holding a dose with low numbers.....can be good if you are trying to hold off a reduction for a cat that doesn't do well with reductions.

Good luck!
 
Re: 6/16 Leo AMPS 180, +3 142, +6 106, +8 83, +10 88, PMPS 1

Hi Tracy!! You must be so excited to see your baby tomorrow!!! On holding the dose...this is my take. I've heard said on this board that you have to increase their dose sometimes in order to decrease it. I've studied a lot of SS's and this seems to be true. The dose is increased on a regular basis according to the protocol and then, bam, the cat finds his breakthrough dose and steadily starts earning reductions before going OTJ. It's a puzzle as to why a certain dose didn't work when you were working your way up the dose scale, but it's too much for him when he's on his way down in dose. Leo is doing so well, I really think an increase will do him good. Leo and Champ are on a very similar dose right now. Champ got up to 3.75u before working his way down to 3u and I've just recently had to increase back up to 3.25. Who knows what will happen now? Good luck with Leo, though. I think he's headed for great things!!!
 
Re: 6/16 Leo AMPS 180, +3 142, +6 106, +8 83, +10 88, PMPS 1

Thanks for all the answers ladies! Good to know that me holding Leo at 3.00 isn't a horrible thing.

And yes I'm super excited to see my kitty today, but of course our work plane is delayed already, its cold, rainy and foggy. So hopefully I'm able to get out sometime today.

I'm thinking I will just up Leo's dose to a Fat 3.00 and see how he does with that. I don't know how comfortable I would be with a 3.25....might be scary! Yikes!!
 
Re: 6/16 Leo AMPS 180, +3 142, +6 106, +8 83, +10 88, PMPS 1

good to have a plan - and welcome almost home! :lol: i'm sure you'll be glad to see Leo!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top