6/16 Chino|AMPS=340|+8=262|PMPS=262|+2=214|+4=106|+5=69

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
Yesterday...

I shot 12.5 units this morning to cover the bounce. Maybe I should've gone with 12 instead of waiting until tonight. I'll be leaving the apartment around 5:30 to spend some time with my family and my ex-wife will be testing, texting me the result, feeding, and injecting. If his PMPS is above 200, I can relax, since he'll be safe even if he drops 100 mg/dL before I get home for a +2. I'm just not used to this new pattern of super-short bounces yet.
 
Remember with high doses there is a big depot and takes 4-6 cycles to drain. I rarely shot through the bounce but I'm also a big chicken. It's nice to see him coming down already and hope he lets you enjoy time with the family.
 
Remember with high doses there is a big depot and takes 4-6 cycles to drain.

Thank you for the reminder! This is the second reduction he's ever earned, and the first one that didn't happen immediately after a dose increase. Should I have shot something like 8 units instead this morning?
 
Should I have shot something like 8 units instead this morning?
That's something you will learn over time - what works for Chino. Depending how low Neko went, when she was on larger doses, I would take anything from zero to 1/3 of the dose off, and also depending on how much I could monitor. At the beginning, Neko would fairly predictably bounce, so it was safer to not do the BCS. I see a +2, looks like he's on his way down.
 
Thank you for the reminder! This is the second reduction he's ever earned, and the first one that didn't happen immediately after a dose increase. Should I have shot something like 8 units instead this morning?
He came up nicely last night and started bouncing so no I wouldn't have done a BCS in this case but would have taken the reduction this morning. No harm done, he's coming down but not dramatically. Doodles was hardly ever consistent so we just do the best we can and the only priority is to keep them safe which you do. Surf safely Chino, no funny business
 
PMPS = 262 (3rd meal LC 7%)
[1st cycle on 12 units Lantus, down from 12.5]
+2 = 214 (treat: small pc freeze-dried turkey)
+4 = 106/112 (4th meal LC 7% + 2 dry treats: salmon, whitefish, dried peas, dried potato)

Staying up for a +5. I have a third of the can of HC 20% left from last night, but it's mostly meat.
 
PMPS = 262 (3rd meal LC 7%)
[1st cycle on 12 units Lantus, down from 12.5]
+2 = 214 (treat: small pc freeze-dried turkey)
+4 = 106/112 (4th meal LC 7% + 2 dry treats: salmon, whitefish, dried peas, dried potato)
+5 = 69 (2 tsp HC 20% meat/gravy + 2 dry treats)

Depending on the AMPS, I might give a reduced dose tomorrow morning or tomorrow evening to drain the depot. Though it's strange that he started showing better numbers after getting 2 fur shots in 2 days. Staying up for however long it takes for his BG to stop going down.
 
Hope Chino decides to surf now. Side note, next time there is that significant of a drop at +2 I'd try giving some LC instead of just FD treats to slow him down particularly on the first cycle of a reduction and when he was coming down all day. It's easier to slow them down before onset. Especially during PM cycles so you can try to get some sleep. Just my 2 cents, nothing more. They sure don't make it easy on the beans sometimes :rolleyes:
 
PMPS = 262 (3rd meal LC 7%)
[1st cycle on 12 units Lantus, down from 12.5]
+2 = 214 (treat: small pc freeze-dried turkey)
+4 = 106/112 (4th meal LC 7% + 2 dry treats: salmon, whitefish, dried peas, dried potato)
+5 = 69 (2 tsp HC 20% meat/gravy + 2 dry treats)
+6 = 61 (2 tsp HC 20%, mostly meat - all that was left in the can - and 2 dry treats)
 
PMPS = 262 (3rd meal LC 7%)
[1st cycle on 12 units Lantus, down from 12.5]
+2 = 214 (treat: small pc freeze-dried turkey)
+4 = 106/112 (4th meal LC 7% + 2 dry treats: salmon, whitefish, dried peas, dried potato)
+5 = 69 (2 tsp HC 20% meat/gravy + 2 dry treats)
+6 = 61 (2 tsp HC 20%, mostly meat - all that was left in the can - and 2 dry treats)
+7 = 60 (2 tsp gravy from MC 13% + 2 dry treats)
 
In the morning, if the AMPS is 300 or higher, I'll give the full dose and give 8 units in the evening to drain the depot. Otherwise, I'll give 8 units tomorrow morning.
 
PMPS = 262 (3rd meal LC 7%)
[1st cycle on 12 units Lantus, down from 12.5]
+2 = 214 (treat: small pc freeze-dried turkey)
+4 = 106/112 (4th meal LC 7% + 2 dry treats: salmon, whitefish, dried peas, dried potato)
+5 = 69 (2 tsp HC 20% meat/gravy + 2 dry treats)
+6 = 61 (2 tsp HC 20%, mostly meat - all that was left in the can - and 2 dry treats)
+7 = 60 (2 tsp gravy from MC 13% + 2 dry treats)
+8 = 65 (same as above)

FINALLY. I hope we're reaching the point where he's able to stay above 60 without food. I'm running out of time to take my meds and will have to skip it if I wait much longer, or I won't be able to safely give his morning insulin. I don't remember the last time I lost an entire night of sleep for this... good thing it's the weekend.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top