6/15 Minnie PMPS 158

Liz & Minnie

Member Since 2021
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-14-minnie-amps-240-4-5-283.248610/#post-2804141

Hit green last night so I'm afraid today will be a lot of surfing work. Work because she is being SO PICKY with food now, only will eat Tiny Tiger or a/d though sometimes I can get her to eat the old favorites if I smear a little a/d on top. Feels like it's back to the drawing board trying to find food for her.

I freaked the first time I saw the B-12 needle. I was like, "You want me to put this SWORD in my cat??" Gave him his PureBites, he never noticed. ;-)

Good continued luck!!

Oh goodness, I hope we don't have to get to B-12. Or fluids, I don't know she'll keep still. She does not like ANY treats and I bought everything people recommended. Even tried the old anti-diabetic treats yesterday and she was having none of it.

Have to drop by the vet today to pick up more needles and a/d. I'm averaging 4 needles per antibiotic shot so running low. I may see how much they'll charge to give her the shot today, give me a break.

Hope everyone has/is having a good day!
 
Wait a minute! I use a U-100 insulin syringe to give Darcy his weekly B-12 injections. You don't have to use a big needle!!!
 
Okay, you are not giving B-12.... you don't need to worry about it. How did it go today. Darcy wants to know if he will have a date for the next full moon pawty... next WEEK!

I am thinking of trying AD for him... I am out... will get some tomorrow!
 
Okay, Elizabeth... how are you? What's going on with you? How are you holding up? Did you get Minnie's shot into her today? This must be really stressful for you (and Minnie, too, who does not appreciate "manhandling.")
 
You are so sweet, checking in on everyone else when you have so much going on with our Mr Fitzwilliam.

I got the vet tech to give the shot today! I was driving up anyway for food and needles and it was $30. Wish I could do that every day! I got a restraint bag which eventually worked yesterday, but it's still a 2-person job so I am spreading the burden asking favors.

Both Sam & Min were unhappy with me after that because they were shut in the bathroom while I was putting window screens back after window cleaner came ...but she was so happy to sit and sniff at the window after!

I am cautiously optimistic with this dose and/or the antibiotics, we got some greens last night. Wasn't thrilled with the timing of course. She is definitely seeming a bit perkier, playing with pieces of paper on her own (she NEVER played much even pre-diabetes) and came to lie next to me purring.

OH. She is accepted into the WSU study on acro cats. Basically they pay for the blood tests (and will throw in IAA since I asked) and if it's positive, we will go to Pullman for the scans. Our IM talked to the Dr running the study and agree Minnie is a good candidate and would be ok with anesthesia for the scans. After that, a consult on options and they have the scans ready if I decided to go forward with the SRT (I've already ruled out surgery though I suspect that would be their preference. The IM does not think Minnie presents with the symptoms therefore the scans won't happen (she thinks her insulin resistance is due to pancreatitis), but we shall see.

ETA - me, I am an anxiety filled wreck even today. The knot and appetite loss kicks in around 1pm with shot around 4pm. I'm afraid this will need more than 10 days.
 
You are so sweet, checking in on everyone else when you have so much going on with our Mr Fitzwilliam.

I got the vet tech to give the shot today! I was driving up anyway for food and needles and it was $30. Wish I could do that every day! I got a restraint bag which eventually worked yesterday, but it's still a 2-person job so I am spreading the burden asking favors.

Both Sam & Min were unhappy with me after that because they were shut in the bathroom while I was putting window screens back after window cleaner came ...but she was so happy to sit and sniff at the window after!

I am cautiously optimistic with this dose and/or the antibiotics, we got some greens last night. Wasn't thrilled with the timing of course. She is definitely seeming a bit perkier, playing with pieces of paper on her own (she NEVER played much even pre-diabetes) and came to lie next to me purring.

OH. She is accepted into the WSU study on acro cats. Basically they pay for the blood tests (and will throw in IAA since I asked) and if it's positive, we will go to Pullman for the scans. Our IM talked to the Dr running the study and agree Minnie is a good candidate and would be ok with anesthesia for the scans. After that, a consult on options and they have the scans ready if I decided to go forward with the SRT (I've already ruled out surgery though I suspect that would be their preference. The IM does not think Minnie presents with the symptoms therefore the scans won't happen (she thinks her insulin resistance is due to pancreatitis), but we shall see.

ETA - me, I am an anxiety filled wreck even today. The knot and appetite loss kicks in around 1pm with shot around 4pm. I'm afraid this will need more than 10 days.
Well…from one anxiety-filled wreck to another….

You were so lucky to have Minnie accepted to that study. A few people on this board have tried to get in.
I hope she doesn’t need more than ten days on that antibiotic!
 
Who is watching Minnie during the Evergreen half??
You don't miss a THING. I hadn't planned having anyone watch her - it's an hour's drive each way, plus however many hours it's going to take me to haul my carcass around the course so I should be back by early afternoon. Thought I might reduce the dose Fri/Sat if her numbers are going down, plus I have the autofeeder. Or treat her with MC a/d all day. But I might see if I can encourage someone to come and check on her.
 
And who is Melissa? Is that a friend who will help you get that shot into Minnie? Or I was hoping it might be a vet tech who would come over to help you. I bet all your friends are just lining up to help with giving the shot! :blackeye::arghh:
 
Back
Top