? 6/15 Minnie AMPS 206 +2.5 143 +6.5 105 - pre-dental dose?

Liz & Minnie

Member Since 2021
Yesterday

Good news, they're getting her in on Fri for dental. @Wendy&Neko thanks for the info on geri panel.

I've updated on the labs tab of her s/s. Per dr - kidney values are normal/stable, liver values, electrolytes, thyroid, and CBC are all normal. No evidence of UTI, no ketones in urine, blood sugar only a little elevated (Hurrah, she hadn't even had her insulin at that point!). Dr said mildly elevated albumin likely due to mild dehydration, & the fluids we gave yesterday should correct this. All that + the way the bupe made her appetite recover makes them pretty sure it's teeth causing her problems.

I'm dropping her at 7:45 Fri and they will do procedure early afternoon. They said ok to feed and give her insulin in the morning but then said half dose when I said her numbers have been dropping over the last few weeks - but I just realized it will be too early to give her insulin before dropping her (earliest would be 9:20).

What do you recommend for Fri am pre-dental shot? I'm leaning towards skipping Fri morning shot altogether - she's been doing well with BG and 'no' ketones for months despite her DKA history - but appreciate guidance from the experts.
 
I'm glad you got Minnie in for Friday. Sending prayers for your beautiful girl .:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Please keep us updated :cat:
Thank you! I know I haven't been around for a while, nice to know you haven't forgotten my cheeky girl.

I have noticed she is SO MUCH more affectionate, purry and alert since starting the bupe. I don't remember her being like this since being diagnosed. Wondering if she's had ongoing low-level pain/chronic pancreatitis and the bupe is helping... Or this is just her behavior when she's loopy :D. I'm excited to see what happens with her BG once the teeth are dealt with!
 
So glad you managed to get in earlier for the dental! If you don't have time between now and Friday to change your shot time (1/2 hour per day forward) then I'd just skip. Any reason they need her in so early if aren't doing the procedure until PM? The other possibility is a touch of R to tide her over if her numbers are high.

Bupe was a game changer for Neko too. Great report on Minnie's behaviour.
 
So glad you managed to get in earlier for the dental! If you don't have time between now and Friday to change your shot time (1/2 hour per day forward) then I'd just skip. Any reason they need her in so early if aren't doing the procedure until PM? The other possibility is a touch of R to tide her over if her numbers are high.

Bupe was a game changer for Neko too. Great report on Minnie's behaviour.
I didn't ask why the early start though my guess they are so busy/short-staffed that they do all the intakes first thing (they don't open til 8am but I have to drop her at 745) or since she's second of the day, they could start early if the previous one finishes early. But....good point! I'll ask them about dropping her later.

Hmm, as I'm writing this I'm thinking about different variations of dropping later to get the shot, or have them give her R... but I think your first suggestion makes me feel the safest. Skip and then can get her back on an earlier schedule.


Another question! They gave me 10 days of bupe for her - if she doesn't need it all, should I keep it in the fridge in case of future pancreatitis flare-ups? It's in pre-measured doses.
 
Depends on the bupe. And if its compounded and if so, what medium. Does it say on the bottle? OR do you have the preloaded syringes? It should be kept out of the light. I got some compounded for Neko that had to be kept in the fridge, preloaded syringes did not.

I was thinking more of you giving R, not them.
 
Depends on the bupe. And if its compounded and if so, what medium. Does it say on the bottle? OR do you have the preloaded syringes? It should be kept out of the light. I got some compounded for Neko that had to be kept in the fridge, preloaded syringes did not.

I was thinking more of you giving R, not them.
They gave me a ziploc full of preloaded syringes with a label saying 'Buprenex oral solution 0.3mg/ml', expires 10/23/2022. I'm guessing it doesn't really expire then but may be less effective?

Haha about the R! Of course, I can do that. Last spring/summer was tough but it certainly taught me a lot about managing her diabetes. I still can't believe it when I get pills down her, let alone yesterday when she had a painful sore tooth. So many things I cried over in frustration! The only thing I haven't learned yet is sub-q fluids.

thank you!
 
Put the syringes in a drawer. How much in a syringe? Note, bupe dosing is usually in a range based on weight of cat. The amount you are giving now may or may not be good for post dental.

If you get Minnie home early afternoon or mid cycle-ish, you could tide her over with a bit of R if she's high.
 
Hey Liz!!! I have missed you! You manage everything so well now that you no longer stop by much :(

If it were me, I would skip that dose on Friday morning. Let us know how Minnie does.
 
I’ve had Bupe liquid in a bottle at that same strength that I have kept around for a year or more and it was still effective. But refrigeration can’t hurt at all.
 
Put the syringes in a drawer. How much in a syringe? Note, bupe dosing is usually in a range based on weight of cat. The amount you are giving now may or may not be good for post dental.

If you get Minnie home early afternoon or mid cycle-ish, you could tide her over with a bit of R if she's high.
0.3ml in each syringe. Thanks for the info on weight (she's a pretty stable chunky 6.3kg right now). I won't get her home til late afternoon, they keep them all day to recover from the anesthetic. We rearranged Sam's follow-up to 5:15 so I can bring them home together.
Hey Liz!!! I have missed you! You manage everything so well now that you no longer stop by much :(

If it were me, I would skip that dose on Friday morning. Let us know how Minnie does.
Hi Suzanne!!! I have been thinking of you and your peach ice-cream now it's getting to summertime (not here though, yet). This group certainly taught me well! And then I knew I just had to keep following the rules. Once madam decided to come charging down the dosing ladder, I thought it would be good to post about it and share. I had read so much here about rapid reductions, couldn't quite believe my eyes when it was happening for real! :eek:

And thanks for chiming in on the dose, always good to have 2nd and 3rd etc opinions. Skipping Friday morning. Hopefully will help avoid a situation where they give her dextrose and then her numbers go all over the place!
 
Thanks, team Minnie! :bighug::bighug:

She is there now - they wanted her there early 1) hoping previous dental finishes early and 2) often if they have them drop the animal later in the day they arrive even later or no show! Glad she is there this morning, she ran under the bed as soon as I got up though was happy to eat when I eventually dragged her out. After all my boasting about pilling, the cerenia was a bit of a fiasco - I forgot to stick it in the gelcap and on 3rd attempt thought I'd missed her mouth and lost the pill, then I found her hiding and drooling all over the place from the bitterness :( poor baby!

Anyway....just wasting time until I hear back from them again, picking her up when I take Sam at 515 (~5h from now). Will let you know how it goes (in a new post for today)
 
Okay! I was just checking in and saw this. I have to be patient. I remember all of your pilling woes! Rough going with Minnie. Did you say you fed her this morning? Usually there's no food before anesthesia.
was happy to eat when I eventually dragged her out.
This is what I was wondering about?
 
How is Minnie? Did you post a new thread? Did I miss it. I was concerned about Minnie and set an alarm to wake up and see if I had missed the Minnie update... I didn't see it. Maybe you've just been too tired. Tag me in your new thread so I won't miss it. It's still quite early in the morning for you (6:30 a.m.) so I'll wait. I hope Sam had an "all clear" check up after his dental, too!
 
Back
Top