6/15, frodo, amps 131, +11 56 after full dose, can I shoot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ruth Ann and Frodo

Member Since 2015
previous posts http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-96-needing-less-insulin.139464/#post-1438578 , http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-on-reduced-dose-back-to-regular-dose.139492/

Did a reduced dose last night since he was hanging at 91: tonight he's at 56 at am+11 after return to full dose. I worry about giving him the full dose when he's in the 50s. I don't think he broke 50 today, since we didn't do more tests, but he was pretty close (50s) for quite some time.
Two questions: 1. what do I do about tonight's dose since he's starting so low? 2. Do I make another decrease in the "regular"dose, since he's so close to 50 on a reduced followed by "regular" dosing?
 
Last edited:
According to the protocol, we don't reduce unless we see an under 50 number. However, you hold the syringe so it's your call if you want to reduce his regular dose another .25U. If you do, and you see his numbers start to come up, be prepared to go back to 3.75U. The depot of a higher dose can affect 4-6 cycles after a reduction, so you could still be seeing some influence of the 4.0U four cycles ago.

For tonight's dose, you have a few options. Option 1 = shoot the full dose. People with experience here will shoot anything over 50. You've shot a 91 (last night) and he still has an hour until PMPS so could rise some. I'd only do this option if you can monitor tonight, and have plenty of strips and high carb food available. Option 2 - delay 1/2 hour, without feeding, and see if his numbers come up some more, to a point where you'll feel more comfortable giving him insulin. Option 3 - give a reduced dose again. It didn't seem to bother him too much last night. Option 4 (my least preferred), is a skip.
 
He got all the way up <grin> to 59 by shot time. Have to make some decision: We'll go with 3.0 overnight, and do some checks. If he tracks a little lower than last night because of starting lower (starting 59 instead of 91) he should be fine. Depending on what we have for am tomorrow, we may cut back to 3.5U. (Somewhere in the protocol it mentioned cutting back by .5U for a "high dose" kitty. But I couldn't find what the definition of "high dose" is.)
 
He just hit 43 at pm+3. Needless to say, I gave him some hi-carb and will check again soon. I assume this qualifies for a decrease, but yesterday and today have been 3.75 at am and 3.0 at pm, so I'm not sure what I'm decreasing from? or to?
 
Ugh! :eek:This is a tough one. I don't know what dose the depot thinks it's at, but likely something over 3 units. He's definitely saying 3.75U is too much. You could try 3 units and be ready to go up to 3.25 if his numbers trend up. According to protocol you would go to 3.5, but it seems like that would be too much right now. Sometimes when kitties start seeing a lot of green, their pancreas starts sputtering back into action.
 
I think I'd try either 3.0 or 3.25u in the morning. I like Wendy's idea of trying the 3.0u and seeing if you still have all green numbers, and if he trends up, go to 3.25u. If he's yellow in the morning at amps you could try 3.25u. It's up to you.

Nice progress for Frodo! All that green is very pretty on his ss.
 
387 this morning! He's back to bouncing after that new low overnight. I had to make some sort of decision and gave him 3.5U (maybe too much but considering the bounce...) Will see what he does today and make a decision on pm amount later - likely less.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top