6/15 - Cosmo - AMPS 513, +2 502, +4 506, +6 455, +9 513, PMPS 542

thebigfuzz

Member Since 2012
On our 6th day of insulin at 2 units. I'm off for 2 days so I'm going to try a curve.

My hubby snuck some MD kibble overnight, so we are not 100% wet yet. Going to try and get some B vitamins as recommended for his neuropathy.

He is in good spirits, looking alert with pupils normal.

Not active with the combo of neuropathy, a torn ligament in his knee and arthritis. It is painful to watch him struggle to get around.

Trying to be patient while the depot fills, but 500's!?! :arghh:
 
Not coming down :banghead:

I've been trying to read a bit about the depot... Is it possible it's still filling, or taking longer to absorb with the 2U? Could we expect him to drop once it is absorbed?

I wonder what makes one kitty absorb slower than another? :bookworm:
 
I hated seeing 500's, even worse was when the meter greeted me in the morning ("Hi"). :arghh: They will pass. I rather suspect Cosmo is bouncing. It's possible he saw some numbers overnight that are lower than he's used to. Newly diagnosed cats can even bounce from seeing numbers in the 200's. You might want to think about getting a before bed test each night if possible - many cats go lower at night.

Out of curiosity, how much does Cosmo weigh? 2.0 units is a bit high for a starting dose. Though ECID, each cat is different in what dose eventually brings them into good numbers.

The depot takes 5-7 days to fill, any fur shot, skip or reduced shot will slow down that process.
 
I'm not sure how much Cosmo weighs... The vet said he had lost weight, but since Covid - 19, we can't join Cosmo inside for his Dr. Visits.

I suspect, from picking him up, that he is about 15lbs.

The 2units was recommended as a starting dose to fill his depot, but.. Now I know that this can make his depot bigger and ability to absorb variable. Now that he's been on this dose for 5-6 days, I'm not sure if we can change it easily now.

Cosmo tends to eat more at night, especially 3-5am.

I work shift work, so we chose 9am / 9pm as his shot time. Staying up till midnight doesn't always work if I have to work at 6am. I'll try tonight since I have 2days off.

Thanks!
 
15 lbs, about 6.8 kg, would make the starting dose around 1.5 to 1.75 units per TR. You should be able to ask the vet office for his weight.

You did a possible fur shot the AM of the 11th, that makes today the 8th cycle in a row, or 4 days. With kibble in the picture (bad DH!) you really should be following SLGS which would be a starting dose of 1.0 units. Are you feeding MD wet as well? At 13% carbs, that's medium, not low carbs.

A +2 test before bed is also useful if you can squeeze it in.
 
Hey!

We are feeding FF Turkey and Giblets with some MD wet. Hubby is now on board the no kibble train :rolleyes: With no kibble, do you think it's ok to continue the TR route?

At this point, should a reduction be in order to get towards the TR 1.5-1.75 as per above? What kind of timing should we look to since we have been at 2.0 and flying pretty high?

I had a rainy day nap today (yay BC - Anmore/Port Moody), so I will be able to stay up for at least a +2 on the PM side.
 
As long as no kibble and all LC wet, and those before bed tests, you are good for TR.

I wouldn't reduce yet. 2.0 is marginally above his starting dose. Some cats need more insulin so going back would be a setback. Instead, if the dose is too much, testing will tell you cause he would go lower at some point. Let's see where he is tonight before you go to bed. If it still looks like no action, you could take him up to 2.5 units. That way you can monitor tomorrow during your days off too.

I row out of Deep Cove, well rowing club literally just started back up and if it wasn't for the wind this morning I would have. We are often in your neck of the woods.
 
Back
Top