6/15/22 Cali AMPS 237, +4 285, +6 256, PMPS 180, +2.25 150

carlascalico

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-14-22-cali-amps-322-6-256-pmps-306-3-25-275.264598/

HUMP DAY. WEDNESDAY another week is flying by. Good morning sunshine and FDMB family and friends.

6/15/22 CALI AMPS 237 3Tbsp LC [after toss of first tbspLC along with grass/foxtails she had invested from Tuesday]
will give snack @+2 and 1ml meloxicam [1/2 dose assuming she tossed 1/2 of her first dose]
+4 285 snack
+6 256 1Tbsp LC
PMPS 180 3TBSP LC

PM 2.25 [150] 1Tbsp LC
plan +5 and +7 snack if no other tests required.
 
Last edited:
Hi Carla! How’s Cali doing? She’s running a bit high recently. I hope all is well.

Hi Suzanne, thanks for checking in. Cali seems to be doing well, although her numbers started trending higher recently. We are staying the course until bounce or bounces are cleared.
Hopefully you a d Darcy are doing well. DH and I have been busy like all people in summer for all the things that get deferred in winter. Delayed maintenance. I have been also assisting on volunteer project for trail systems
 
Hi Suzanne, thanks for checking in. Cali seems to be doing well, although her numbers started trending higher recently. We are staying the course until bounce or bounces are cleared.
Hopefully you a d Darcy are doing well. DH and I have been busy like all people in summer for all the things that get deferred in winter. Delayed maintenance. I have been also assisting on volunteer project for trail systems

suzanne, on a prior post, several days/weeks back I inquired if you were familiar with b-12 methylcobalamin drops that contained organic stevia leaf [instead of xylitol which I know is bad for cats]. The brand is Liquid Health Naturals. Can you comment on safety for felines. I called supplier, but they weren’t sure. Thanks for any information you can provide.
 
Last edited:
I think it’s time to increase unless she sees blue or green tonight. That’s 6 cycles.
Elise, think an increase is in order even if she sees green tonight? She is not seeing enough green and bouncing too much/too long. Maybe Carla needs to take an increase and use MC to prevent dives? What do you think?
Anyway, let's see what she does in this cycle.
 
@+2.25 [150] 1Tbsp LC
snack@+5 and +8 prepared [her lunch is packed with DH as AF]
Should I do another test tonight or AMPS?
 
I don’t think you need another test tonight.

thanks Elise. I am going to start a new Levemir cartridge also at AMPS. My refrigerator is set at precisely 37 degrees Fahrenheit, I also have thermometer in door [usually 40 degrees, so insulin is not freezing but I am wondering if too cool. My Levemir cartridges are in a garage refrigerator in an insulated bag. Started current pen 5/6/22.

Also is it possible that my Tuxedo cat is stressing her to increase BGs? Sometimes she ignores him, but he wants to be with us and she often will try to intimidate from her perch or even go after him. Fortunately she has only made contact physically twice, but if she were young and healthy, she was vicious with other animals. He totally concedes to her. Almost one year ago since he made his way into our home. I have tried both ways, keep him separate until her amps and PMPS tests are done, food and insulin administered OR allow him in kitchen and feed and just use our body to block her if she attempts to go after him.
 
I don’t know but since she’s the alpha I don’t think that will raise her bg. As for the temperature of the fridge as long as cold and nit freezing I don’t think it will effect the insulin.
 
I will take an increase to 2 units 6/16/22 AMPS and monitor. Thanks Elise and Bhooma for your review, insights, counsel and support. This progress would not be happening without our support team. I have to remind myself where we were 90 days ago. Irrespective of her periodic bounces and a bit off track, DH and I are ecstatic that she has remained under renal threshold the majority of time since TR protocol and switch to Levemir. We see daily her overall improvement and glimpses of our prediabetic healthy baby girl. Thank you.
 
I will take an increase to 2 units 6/16/22 AMPS and monitor.
If she starts lower at AMPS, hold the dose. You might get a green AMPS since she is due to clear the bounce.

I have to remind myself where we were 90 days ago. Irrespective of her periodic bounces and a bit off track, DH and I are ecstatic that she has remained under renal threshold the majority of time since TR protocol and switch to Levemir. We see daily her overall improvement and glimpses of our prediabetic healthy baby girl. Thank you.
That they are healthy and happy is what is most important :bighug: ("A cat is more than its numbers")
 
PMPS 333 3TBSP LC [retested twice, including different meter] unfortunately :mad:

posted on wrong day- see correction . This BG PMPS test is 6/16/22 Thursday
 
suzanne, on a prior post, several days/weeks back I inquired if you were familiar with b-12 methylcobalamin drops that contained organic stevia leaf [instead of xylitol which I know is bad for cats]. The brand is Liquid Health Naturals. Can you comment on safety for felines. I called supplier, but they weren’t sure. Thanks for any information you can provide.
I have never heard of Methylcobalamin with stevia for cats. I would probably not use it in my cats. We both know the xlylitol is bad for them. I haven’t read about stevia and cats. I want to find out now!
 
Sorry I never saw your question, by the way! My apologies. If you do an internet search, it seems most articles say stevia is non-toxic to cats although these sources don’t necessarily recommend it being given to cats. I did see an article that said xylitol is not toxic to cats - it said that assumption was based upon its toxicity to dogs and that a 2018 study had shown it was not toxic to cats. I hadn’t heard that either. I’m not sure I believe it. I would need to make sure of the reliability of any of this information, but your question peaked my curiosity.
 
Back
Top