6/14Shakes PMPS-328 - +4=436

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Member Since 2010
I wish I could understand this insulin
why does he keep rising
same food as always....I use the alpha track.....used Freestyle until we found out
that it gave bad numbers...
Could it have something to do with the shed?
 
his dose is quite a bit lower than his Prozinc dose, so it might be that he just isn't at his good dose yet. If you can get some spot checks tomorrow or this weekend, then you can get a better idea of what is going on between the preshots. More than likely he needs a dose increase, but I don't like to suggest dose increases without seeing spot checks in at least a couple of cycles. I know it is hard when you work. I used to try to grab tests whenever I could - an in-the-door test when I came home from work, a before bed test every night, on the weekends I would do more tests if I was home, or if I was running errands I would grab an in-the-door and out-the-door test whenever I could.

Something we often see with Lantus and Levemir is that it looks like the cat is getting no response to the insulin at all. You keep increasing the dose, and the numbers don't budget at all, or maybe even get higher. Then one day you hit a dose where all of a sudden there is green! Then the entire picture usually changes all at once. You would think the numbers would just gradually move down with ease dose increase, but it doesn't seem to work that way most of the time. Hang on, you'll get there!
 
Your next dose increase should probably be to 2.5U, although I would like a few more midcycle tests first because we don't have a good idea when his nadir is on Levemir and you need that info to make future dose decisions.

Getting more BG tests will help show you how Levemir works for Shakespeare. And there's a very good chance he just needs more insulin, but one step at a time.
 
Sorry, Denise, can't help with dosing advise as you know we're just feeling our way in the dark over here. Just stopped by to offer moral support. Praying those mid-cycle tests will help tell the tale and maybe a dose increase will do the trick!
 
Good morning Denise -

I just checked out Shakes' SS, and I agree w/ the comments above. I'm still not up to Grayson's dose, but the closer I get, the better the numbers. I'm still seeing high preshots, but the range is amazing. I'm so NOT used to seeing much movement. Clearly, they're not serving up any pancakes at the Lev IHOP - in fact, I think it's CLOSED!!!

I would follow the instructions for increasing and get back up to where you were and see if you don't start seeing some improvement. In the meantime, it's easy to get disappointed. DON'T!!! Think of this as the Kitty version of Dancing with the Stars! The music has changed and suddenly we're all having to learn some new steps. We'll get there!!!

Geez, that sounds like it needs one of these... :RAHCAT (where's Jenn when we need her???!!! :lol: Hang in there! He'll be catching on to the new steps really soon!!!
 
Hi Denise,
Chin up sweetie, you and Shakes will get there :-)
It will become important when you start seeing the low numbers that everyone knows you are using an AT meter, so you should add that to your sig. And on the day you post a green number, in your subject line, make sure to add a big ole "AT" at the end of it.
Hugs,
Carl
 
Denise,

Hope Shakes numbers are gettin better! Just wanted you to know still cheering for you both!!!

lori
 
Morning Denise!

I hope Shakes (and you) had a good Saturday. I know the dance is hard, especially when you want your kitty to do so well at the beginning. Hang in there and take it one cycle at a time. You are doing GREAT!

Heather
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top