6/14 Tessie Lou PMPS 189--Biopsy Tomorrow - Video

Status
Not open for further replies.

tessielou

Member Since 2010
Well, Tessie stayed in the 100s almost all night, which is great! A nice low yellow to start the day works for me! I am still waiting for the vet to call me back. She didn't call yesterday (probably had a bad Monday), but called first thing this morning. Unfortunately, I missed her as I was out rescuing a little wren that got itself trapped on my screen porch! Luckily, I saw it before I let TJ and Tessie Lou out there!

Anyway, I'll post again after I speak to the vet...

It's in the 60's here today, with a strong chance of rain. I should go pull some weeds before it starts. Notice I said "should..." :lol: :lol:

Have a great day everyone!
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210

Morning!! Wow on the amps - even better to read that she is spending time in the 100's. Good job Tessie Lou!

Good luck with the vet. I hope you hear from them soon - frustrating when they don't call back. I hope all goes well there.

Nice on the wren save! and have fun with that weed pulling.... something I "should" be doing too. :lol:
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210

Hi guys .. so glad to hear tessie lou stayed blue most of the night .. with this low yellow I bet she's back down in no time .. Sounds like a cool spring day for you .. I leave the weeding for peter .. actually, I leave all outside work for peter :lol: Have a great day!
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210

so will you be giving us a weed-pulling update along with the vet-talk update? ;-)

good job saving the little wren. i'm so glad.
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210 - Vet Update

Hi again - just talked to the vet. She said she doesn't need to examine Tessie again. She said WHEN to do the biopsy is up to me, because if it is mammary cancer, it would involve major surgery (radical hysterectomy), and possible radiation and chemotherapy. There is NO oncologist in the city of Omaha. Closest one is in Kansas, which is 3 hours away. I would have to take her there, set up a treatment plan, and come back and have my vet here administer it. My vet seems to be leaning against doing it, because of her diabetes and a prolonged healing time, and the bottom line is, prognosis of mammary cancer is very poor in cats. The expense is just off the wall.

Because she is eating, not losing weight, numbers are excellent, etc., she said we could wait and see her in July, unless there is any change in size, redness, swelling, that we will have to biopsy. She said it's possible the lymph nodes could still improve on their own (it it's not cancer).

We left it that I would like to digest it all, and I'll call her back with my decision.

My husband is against any further treatment if it's cancer. We put one of our GA kitties through h*ll for weeks, only to have her die at the vet hospital, alone. We both regret doing it (in hindsight) and we don't think we could emotionally go through that again.

I feel sick. I'm going to go sit on the porch with my girl.
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210

Sandy, You must do what you think is best for Tessie Lou's quality of life. It sounds like the "treatment"--if it is indeed cancer--would be worse than living with the disease. We are thinking positive thoughts and sending prayers that it is not cancer. Certainly Tessie Lou is feeling good, has good numbers, has good appetite. All of these things are good signs.
Everyone here will support you whatever you and DH decide to do. I'm glad that you don't have to make a decision immediately.
A good sit on the porch with your girl is the very best thing to do today.

Many hugs from us, :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210

I don't think I could have said it any better than Ella did. You know your girl, and I know you will do what is best for her. I good porch sit is indeed what is called for today. many hugs from Mannie and I.
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210

I'm so sorry Sandy. You are doing the right thing. I would do the same thing.

Tessie Lou's numbers are doing so well. Hopefully she gave you some blues today and enjoyed having you around.
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210

ella did say it very eloquently...and we agree...

you'll know what is the best for your girl!

Hi, lil Tessie Lou, from binks and I...
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210

I so agree you're doing the right thing. I can't add any more than what's already been said. Tessie Lou is feeling good now, so just enjoy every day with her. Hugs and prayers.
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210

(((Sandy))) I know that whatever decision you make will be the best one for Tessie Lou and your family. I am so sorry that you are all going through this. Kitties don't count their days. They only live in the moment. Tessie Lou knows that she is happy and loved right now.
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou--Dose Question for Biopsy Tomorrow

Thank you so much, dear LL friends, it means so much to have your support in making this tough decision.

I have talked to the vet again, and we've decided to do the biopsy first thing tomorrow morning. She rearranged her schedule to accommodate us, making Tessie Lou her first surgery at 8am.

Question: Vet wants Tessie to fast after midnight, then get a 1/2 dose of her insulin just before I bring her in tomorrow morning. They will then check her sugars before surgery to make sure she is safe to put under anesthesia. So, that means I'll need to shoot her one hour earlier than normal tomorrow morning. How much earlier should I shoot tonight--a half hour? Isn't shooting early the same as a dose increase? I'm nervous about it, as she has been running in the 100s at PMPS lately.

Thanks,
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou--Dose Question for Biopsy Tomorrow

tessielou said:
I have talked to the vet again, and we've decided to do the biopsy first thing tomorrow morning. She rearranged her schedule to accommodate us, making Tessie Lou her first surgery at 8am.

Best of luck with the biopsy tomorrow (((Sandy))) (((Tessie Lou))).
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210--Dose Question for Biopsy Tomor

Good luck tomorrow - we will bethinking of you. Very nice of your vet to adjust the surgery schedule so you can be first up.

You could bump tonight up half an hour, and yes, it can act as a increase. I've done this with Mannie a few times, and it has not really affected his numbers much - no drastic drops or anything. ECID, an good luck with your decision on shoot times.

Hugs to all!
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210--Dose Question for Biopsy Tomor

Linda, Michelle, and Celi, thanks so much.

Michelle, I will go ahead and shoot 1/2 hour early tonight then (7:30pm) and another 1/2 hour tomorrow morning (7am). I'm not too concerned about her numbers diving tonight, cause she rarely does anything dramatic at night. Still, tomorrow could get dicey cause historically her numbers have dropped at the vet. Yes, she's one of THOSE. Just the opposite of what you would expect with the stress, but ECID! There's a chance the vet won't be able to do the biopsy if she is too low once we get there at 8am. I wonder how low is too low for anesthesia?
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210--Dose Question for Biopsy Tomor

Sending healing vines and good thoughts for tomorrow. You are a loving kitty mom. I know you will do what's best for Tessie Lou. Hugs.
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210--Dose Question for Biopsy Tomor

I hope it all works out. Wow on one of "THOSE" who's numbers drop at the vet. That is amazing in itself. I don't know on what is considered too low. ?? Well, paws crossed for you, as I would think that it will at least let you know on Tessie Lou, one way or another. Positive thought for you all.
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210--Dose Question for Biopsy Tomor

Here's another suggestion...

You could also reduce Tessie's dose a bit tonight. Remember, you'll be dealing with her shed in the AM so she could still drop. Do you know how long she'll be under anesthesia and if it's the same as with a dental? If she's going to be under for just a short time, it may be less of an issue.
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210--Dose Question for Biopsy Tomor

Hi again Sandy, I think the dosing schedule will work out fine. And we are sending all good thoughts and prayers for Tessie Lou (and you and DH) tomorrow. Try to get some sleep tonight and remember that, as Linda said, Tessie Lou lives for the moment and these moments are precious to her because she spends them with you.

Many hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210--Dose Question for Biopsy Tomor

Sandy: I just wanted you to know that Tessie Lou is in our prayers for a safe biopsy tomorrow and that all will be negative. I think you are very smart to consider her QOL over everything else. However, I am thinking positively that she is 100% ok. Hugs...I know you're scared. We'll all be waiting to hear how she is.
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210--Dose Question for Biopsy Tomor

Sending Healing vines & hopes for a clear biopsy tomorrow!
Having just gone through chemo with my GA civvie Copper & tremendous expense, I understand any decision you both make together..Sending Comforting Hugs & Lubs from Us!
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210--Dose Question for Biopsy Tomor

Hi Sandy-

I just wanted to stop in and add my prayers for you and Tessie Lou tomorrow. She is a young, strong kitty...I have nothing but positive thoughts for her.

Amy
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210--Dose Question for Biopsy Tomor

Sandy, thinking of you and Tessie Lou and sending positive vibes and prayers that all goes well with the anesthesia and biopsy is benign. Hugs.
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210--Dose Question for Biopsy Tomor

sending lots of positive thoughts your way - i trust tessie lou will do just fine tomorrow and you will get good news very quickly!
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210--Dose Question for Biopsy Tomor

I'm late in responding to all your thoughtful posts. DH wanted to watch a movie tonight to get our minds off tomorrow. So I went along, even though it was lousy. He meant well...

Ella, your words are such a comfort. It means so much to have all of you understand if we decide to not pursue treatment if it's cancer. And you're right, she does have a lot going for her. It may still turn out alright!

Michelle, Melissa, Celi, Ann, your thoughts and prayers mean the world to me. Thank you so much!

Linda, I love what you said about kitties living in the moment. They really do, don't they? And she really does seem happy, and she definitely knows she's safe and loved with us.

Sienne, thanks, but I shot the full dose just before I read your post. IFortunately, she was a little higher tonight - 189 - so, we may be ok. We'll just have to see what tomorrow brings. If she is real low, I'll post for advice. We have to leave the house no later than 7:15am CDT. The vet said the biopsy will only take 15-20 minutes, so she won't be under long.

Kathy, Karrie, Amy, Roni, Marje, Sherry, Ann, Sienne, and Julie, you are all so thoughtful to stop by and wish us well. I appreciate the love and prayers and hugs and vines so much. It gives me strength to draw from tomorrow, and I'm going to need it. While I'm waiting for her, I will think about all that goodness from all you amazing folks on this forum directed toward my girl. I really believe it can make a difference in the outcome!

I'll update everyone tomorrow as soon as we get back. I have no idea when that will be, but I'm hoping for mid-afternoon. Thanks again,
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210--Dose Question for Biopsy Tomor

Thoughts and prayers being sent your way from your neighbors to the south for a clean biopsy tomorrow. ((hug))
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210--Dose Question for Biopsy Tomor

Sandy - I just wanted to drop you another note and let you know I will be thinking about you tomorrow. I hope everything goes smoothly and you get some answers. Try not to stress too much. ((((HUGS))))
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210--Dose Question for Biopsy Tomor

Thanks Christie and Melissa, I'm trying to think positive, although that's not my nature. :YMSIGH: I'll be giving Tessie Lou her last meal before the biopsy in about 1/2 hour. She is going to freak out when she doesn't get her 4am snack. Usually about an hour before, she sits up in her chair and watches for the auto feeder to click open. She is such a hoover! I will be so glad for this to be behind us. Then the waiting begins...

I'm not getting to other condos tonight, but I hope all is well with your sugarcats. I care about each and every one of them, too! We're all just one big family really. It's a pretty cool thing...

I'm going to sign off for tonight. Big day tomorrow.
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210--Dose Question for Biopsy Tomor

It bothers me that I've been so busy that I haven't noticed what you're going through today. Just know that I'm thinking of you and wishing you and Tessie Lou well for tomorrow. She's doing so well so I'm going to continue to believe the biopsy will be negative!!!
 
Re: 6/14 Tessie Lou AMPS 210--Dose Question for Biopsy Tomor

Patty, don't worry about not noticing. There is so much going on at FDMB all the time, I miss things all the time! I appreciate the support, and positive thoughts sound great to me-we'll take 'em!!!!

Just tested her @ +4 and she's 179--a bit higher than she's been running, but maybe a good thing for tomorrow. I'd rather she was high than too low.

Now, I really am going to bed. NiNi!
 
I wish you the best of luck for the biopsy, and hope the results are negative for cancer. All fingers and paws crossed.
 
i'm sorry i'm late reading your condo....been MIA with my own stuff here....so sorry....

praying really hard all goes well with the biopsy....

love the video.....

and yes...you know our story ....kitties live in the moment....

make the most of your time together.....

((((((to you all))))))
 
Sandy - I am so so sorry you lost Tessie Lou today. She will never be far from you and knew you loved her. Please know that we are here if and when you are ready. Fly free sweet Tessie Lou!

((((((((((((((((SANDY))))))))))))))))
 
(((Sandy))) I just learned of your loss of Tessie Lou.. I am so very sorry, words cannot begin to express how I feel for you.
Prayers above for comfort & peace during this challenging time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top