6/14 Purr AMPS 383 +3 299 +6 331 +9 228 PMPS 215 +2 287

Status
Not open for further replies.

myla

Member Since 2010
AMPS 383
1U
+3 299
+6 331
+9 228
PMPS 215
1U
+2 287


6/14
Afternoon update. He is so happy he didn't have a big drop today like he usually does on Humulin. (380 - 70 in 2-3 hours, eeek)
I could see he was expecting it from his behavior,and then he was like, huh? I feels purrty good today. Purr purr purr. :lol:

The testing went great today too. I've been using a warm wet washcloth and he loves that. Then I hold the washcloth as backing to hold the ear to poke and he doesn't even move. After I get my drop then I use the washcloth to hold his ear for a bit to soothe and prevent a bruise and rub him some more with it. Then he gets a token treat that he thinks is such a huge big deal. It's so cute!

I tried the rice sock but he was SO amused and entertained by the crunching sounds of the rice near his ear he just could NOT hold still. He needed to investigate and want to play with the sock. So that lasted for two tests and now it's a toy, HEE!
 
Re: 6/14 Purrcie AMPS 383 Our first day on Lantus!

good morning!

you may not see much just yet, but spot checks do help!
here is an example of a curve, you dont need to do a test every hour, Ive highlighted some common +times that are ideal.
as you collect data, you'll gradually see when Purrcie's nadir/peak is, some kitties start early and some are a little later, data collecting will help you find those key points. Sometimes its a good idea to alternate when you spot check, one cycle you do a +3, +6 and +9, next cycle try for a +2, +4, +7 for example...the more data you collect the better, and of course when you can.

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

I will tell you - my experience when I switched from Caninsulin (Luna felt and looked crappy on it, lol) within a couple of weeks on lantus, he was sooo much better.
 
Re: 6/14 Purrcie AMPS 383 Our first day on Lantus!

Hi and welcome!

When my kitty Basil was diagnosed, I asked to start on glipizide (pills). Now, I know that was a mistake. Then, it seemed like a smart idea, although I have to give my vet credit and say he wanted to go straight to Lantus. When we did wise up, we started Lantus and it was definitely playing with Basil's blood sugar, but once we found this place and got onto a meaningful regimen, he did beautifully and is OTJ now.

BUT, it was the testing that gave us The Power! It made us able to understand what was going on and to feel more confident about how much insulin to shoot. It's no fun to test, but testing is the key, IMO.

So that was a really long-winded way of saying, yeah--spot checks!

Wishing you and Purrcie a great journey in Lantus Land.
 
Re: 6/14 Purrcie AMPS 383 Our first day on Lantus!

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: Yay! Purrcie's first day....and Myla's first day too. :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Re: 6/14 Purrcie AMPS 383 Our first day on Lantus!

Hi Myla and Purrcie, Really a nice job getting your spreadsheet up and running! Welcome to the group.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 6/14 Purrcie AMPS 383 Our first day on Lantus!

I'm glad Purrcie was happy to be starting Lantus, too!

You can post your spot checks by editing your subject line. It's a useful thing to do, especially if one of us notices that there's something to be attentive to. Also, if you need help, have a question, etc., just edit the subject line (always in your first post of the day). If there's something that's relatively important or is urgent, also add a reply. It will bump your condo to the top of the board.
 
Re: 6/14 Purrcie AMPS 383 Our first day on Lantus!

Welcome to Lantus Myla.
Purccie is a very handsome fellow :-D

You really are in the best place to be in helping Purccie with his FD.
The support is incredible and you just know that you are never alone.
Ask questions, and as Sienne said, it is okay to edit your first subject
line with new numbers as the day goes on for those watching.

Max is OTJ since April 3, many thanks to the people here.

It's great that you work from home. We just might turn you into a fellow testaholic.
There really should be a support group for us. :-D
Testing and data collection is a huge part in getting kitties better!
 
Re: 6/14 Purrcie AMPS 383 Our first day on Lantus!

Thanks so much for the votes of confidence and support.

Purr just had a nice nap and is happy, doesn't seem sickly today. Still a little off his game but it's to be expected after what he has been through. Big hypo on Humulin is what got us here. He actually sang for me a couple times today.

I'm going to go post the new numbers.
A round of hugs to everyone!
 
Re: 6/14 Purrcie AMPS 383 1U +3 299 +6 331 +9 228 PMPS 215 1U

(((((Myla and Purrcie)))))) I am sooooo happy you are here!!!! :YMHUG: flip_cat dancing_cat His cycle today was very nice. Nice and steady... You are doing great and it seems like Purrcie already feels better. See you here tomorrow ;-)

PS - one extra thing, when you start a new condo for tomorrow please add a URL link from today's condo. It makes it so much easier for everyone to click on the link if there are any questions from the day before. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/14 Purrcie AMPS 383 1U +3 299 +6 331 +9 228 PMPS 215 1U

Purry hugs to you Paige!
Thank you for taking a peek at our numbers. I think we had a very good day. Tonight he demanded to go outside after our shot, as he wanted me to take him for a walk. So we did! He hasn't wanted to go outside after dinner since a very long time.
I realize he(we) has (have) a long way to go but I think the stability he felt today instead of the breathtaking roller coaster ride must feel very good.
 
I just caught my breath. I'm not sure if you noticed that your subject line has your PM +2 - 28 (vs. 287). The subject line holds a fixed amount of information and sometimes numbers get cut off. I will delete some of my AM numbers (or all of them) in order to make room.
 
Hi Sienne!
Newbie Goof!
I just saw that too and FREAKED! I thought, OMG I hope that didn't give anyone a heart attack! Thank you so much for catching that right away!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top