6/14 FAX PMPS 333

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/14 FAX AMPS 277

Good morning .. yes, a very sunny start to the day for fax .. hope we see a touch of blue later .. have a great day!
 
Re: 6/14 FAX AMPS 277

Hi Roisin, I think Fax, Tarragon and Tessie Lou like the yellow floor this morning. Maybe we'll all see some blue today.

Have a good one,
 
Re: 6/14 FAX AMPS 277

I just tested at +4 and Fax is at 38. I have fed high carb and will test again in a half hour.

Below 50 again today - dose decrease again tonight?
 
Re: 6/14 FAX AMPS 277 +4@38 +4.5@41 DOSING Q?

correct, automatic decrease.

did he get a little more hc after that 41?
 
Re: 6/14 FAX AMPS 277 +4@38 +4.5@41 DOSING Q?

btw you are doing great at catching and dealing with these lows.
 
Re: 6/14 FAX AMPS 277 +4@38 +4.5@41 DOSING Q?

Wow...that's quite a drop! So glad you caught it, and congrats on the decrease!!
 
Re: 6/14 FAX AMPS 277 +4@38 +4.5@41 DOSING Q?

yes - he got more HC after the 41 - i will test again in a few minutes.
lucky i am home!!
 
Re: 6/14 FAX AMPS 277 +4@38 +4.5@41 +5@63

Very lucky you are home! You might want to think about routinely getting a +2 if Fax likes these early drops.

Do not think you are home free after that 63. The HC can wear off. You need to keep testing.
 
Re: 6/14 FAX AMPS 277 +4@38 +4.5@41 +5@63

nice 63, now wash rinse repeat. you'll need another test in about 20-30
 
Re: 6/14 FAX AMPS 277 +4@38 +4.5@41 +5@63

i'm late on the uptake... sienne said it first!
 
Re: 6/14 FAX AMPS 277 +4@38 +4.5@41 +5@63

Nice catch, Roisin! I agree with Sienne, I would get in the habit of getting a +2 if possible.

Waiting to see what the next test is...even if he's up, I would not stop testing.
 
Re: 6/14 FAX AMPS 277 +4@38 +4.5@41 +5@63 +6@68

68@+6
I have fed him a little LC this time. He seems happy as a clam with everything (including all of these extra meals!)

A +2 is not always possible (soon, when I am back to work these mid day frenzy tests won't be possible either).
What does such a huge drop mean way before nadir?
I will decrease to 4.75 units this evening.
 
Re: 6/14 FAX AMPS 277 +4@38 +4.5@41 +5@63 +6@68

Looking good, I would get another test at +7.

The nadir is not a fixed point, it can move around. While your data may show when Fax typically nadirs, not every cycle is the same. Fax sure seems to be on a mission lately!

I like the +2 because it often gives you a good idea of how active that cycle will be, although nothing is guaranteed. When the +2 is significantly lower than PS, that's a cue to test again sooner rather than later, as it may be a busy cycle.

Fax definitely earned a decrease for tonight, can you please get a spot check closer to PMPS (+10 or +11) and check in here before you shoot so we can talk about dose? I have asked for other eyes on his SS, but a lot depends on how the rest of the cycle plays out.
 
Re: 6/14 FAX AMPS 277 +4@38 +4.5@41 +5@63 +6@68

hi roisin - you've had a busy morning!

you might consider sliding his shot times to accommodate being able to test him when you go back to work. for example, if you move it 2 hours earlier so you can get a +2 in before you leave. i don't know, i'm just thinking with how he's been doing you wouldn't want to leave him completely unattended in the first half part of his cycle. He seems to be part of the Zoomer's Club - the kitties who dive from high to really low in no time.

Pepper's mom, Deb, was giving shots at 4pm, 4am to be able to work around her schedule and i saw someone else who did a 10-10 schedule. might just have to think how to adjust shot times so it all works, but it sounds like you've got a little bit of time to work on ideas.
 
Re: 6/14 FAX AMPS 277 +4@38 +4.5@41 +5@63 +6@68

Just to add to Julie's post...if you want to adjust the schedule, you will need to do it gradually, not all at once! ;-) You can move by 15 minutes per shot, or 30 minutes once per day.
 
Re: 6/14 FAX AMPS 277 +4@38 +4.5@41 +5@63 +6@68

Roisin: I asked Sienne one time what caused them to drop like that and I *believe* she said it was clearing a quick bounce. I could be wrong....it was quite some time ago. I, like the others, am a huge fan of +2 because once you know your cat, you can get a pretty good idea of what your day will look like with a +2. And it gives you a chance to catch them before they get a 38 at +4.

Why is that important besides the fact they are low? IMHO, I think it is important to keep them from earning reductions too fast. Fax may not be one that has a problem holding reductions but it just *seems* that when they start earning fast reductions, they might also start seeing failed reductions. Again, ECID and it may not apply to Fax at all. But there are several of us who work hard to keep them from earning reductions so that when they really do get below that magic reduction number, the chance that they'll hold the reduction is a little better. If you look at Gracie's SS, you'll see that she has periods of fast reductions which we gave her and then she stalled and we had to go way up to get her to breakthrough and come back down. It's not fun if (and that's a big if) your kitty decides to give you high yellow and pink numbers until they get to a breakthrough dose. And then they might come rolling back down fast again.

Anyway....just some thoughts to keep in your mind when you are trying to decide if moving his shot works so you can get a +2.

Good luck with the decrease!
 
Re: 6/14 FAX AMPS 277

Busy day today - thanks everyone!

I just tested at +10 and Fax is at 184.
I am going out for a while but I will check back in before I shoot to see if I should be dosing something other than the 4.75units that he is scheduled to have.
 
Re: 6/14 FAX AMPS 277 +10@184 DOSE FOR TONIGHT?

First off, the 38 earns a reduction....you would not want to hold this dose when you get a number in the 30s just because he earned a reduction yesterday. Gracie is on a low dose, about 1.0u, Fax is on 5.0u...there's a big difference in the size of the shed. Fax has a skipped shot 8 cycles ago, and a very small token dose 4 cycles ago...and he still has earned 2 reductions since that BCS dose. While you don't want to go down the scale too fast, you also don't want to hold a dose that is clearly too high. Fax has had NO failed reductions, Gracie has had many....completely different cats, totally different situations.

You have two options, you could take the reduction to 4.75u. You could also take a larger reduction to 4.5u, since he is on a relatively large dose and therefore has a bigger shed, it might allow the shed to drain more and possibly avoid another quick reduction. However, there is a risk that you could lose momentum by reducing by a larger amount. It's a balancing act, and I don't know (and nobody else has a crystal ball either!) which way will work better. Some cats zoom down the ladder and need frequent or larger reductions. It depends on your comfort level and ability to monitor. The usual route is to take the 0.25u reduction, and he certainly seems to come up easily when you use HC to bring him up, so that may be just fine. Either way, I would make sure you try to get an early cycle test in each cycle if possible....if you see him going down at +2, I would strongly suggest that you keep testing.

If Fax zooms up by PMPS, you could shoot the 5.0u dose one more time (shooting through the bounce) if you want to.
 
Re: 6/14 FAX AMPS 277 +10@184 DOSE FOR TONIGHT?

Wow, never a dull moment lately with Fax! He sure seems to be on a mission. Tricky situation with the dose decrease. I'm always very conservative, so I'd probably stick with a .25 reduction, but then again, he's on a high dose, so maybe he could handle a .5 reduction ok.

Also tricky with changing his schedule to coincide with your going back to work. Will it be possible to check on him during your lunch hour? Anyone else that can come and check him for you while you're at work?
 
Fax IS on a mission. And so am I! I did the decrease back to 4.5units. I feel he has handled all decreases like the trooper that he is and hopefully this one goes fine as well. I am still decreasing at a much slower rate than my vet recommends - I hope it works!

I'll check him at +2 in a half hour and if he's lucky and doing ok he can go on a hunt before bed!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top