6/14 Eddie AMPS 266, PMPS 319, +4/143, +5/90, +6/67, +7/72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Eddie's 6/14 Condo

YESTERDAY: AMPS/103, +2/138, +2.5/155, +6.5/85, +7/99, +9/148, +11/148, PMPS/192, +2/369, +4.5/354, +6/310, +8/301
TODAY: AMPS/266, +2/241, +4.5/210, +6/252 ,+8/237, +10/243, PMPS/319, +2.5/228, +4/143, +5/90, +5.5/91, +6/67, +6.5/69, +7/72, +7.5/76, +8/89

Hi LL!

Been a few days since I did an Eddie condo. Not too much exciting going on in Eddie's world, which is probably a good thing. Yesterday was the six month annifursary of his diagnosis. He's continued to have good nadirs on the F1.0u but continues to bounce a lot, so I decided to "shave" up again to the full 1.25u. He had a flat yellow cycle during the AM today, so he's probably bounce clearing tonight. It remains to be seen whether I jumped the gun a little bit with increasing on a bounce after six cycles, but it's only a 1/8 unit increase, and I will be able to monitor closely and steer for the next few cycles. Food management is going OK. I think carbing him up when he's dropping *might* be helping slow the onset of a bounce, but I don't think that there's quite enough juice to hold the bounce down once it starts. My thought process is to continue with managing food to keep up his nadirs in a safe range while gradually increasing the insulin to try to get us back to flatter cycles overall.

His P's have been great lately! He's been extra playful the last couple days, which makes me happy. We did have two poo-pocalypse incidents this last week. :shock: DH got to deal with them both times. :twisted: :lol: He texted me right after he got home from work on Tuesday and Wednesday and even sent a picture of what he discovered. :roll: I have long hair and Eddie apparently eats my hair from time to time. Once in a while, when he passes the hair, it gets poo nuggets stuck to the hair, while the hair is still attached to his bum. Then he freaks out because the nuggets are dangling behind him, and he races all over the house with the nuggets chasing him, hitting him in the back of the legs. He then drags his bum all over the carpet to rid himself of his poo pursuers, mashing the poo into the carpet and into his fur. Two nights in a row, we had this excitement, but I think we got the offending hair out of his bum. He got a little vaseline to help lube out any hairs that might be clogging him up. The poo nuggets seemed a little hard, so I think we're going to pick up some pumpkin on our next grocery store visit in case he's a little constipated. DH's description of these incidents via text was far more "colorful" as you might imagine. :lol:

In other news, I've been dealing with a lot of extra non-Eddie related issues the last few days, hence my limited time here. I had adoption days with Blueberry today. He didn't get adopted today, although there were a couple people that were interested in him. He's been with us for almost a year now. My foster director also let me know that sadly, a kitten we had fostered several months ago for about two months had to be put to sleep. :cry: Kiki was the cutest, tiniest Siamese mix. She was a spitfire and was kind of a mean little girl, but she made up for it in cuteness. Our director fostered her after us and thought she seemed like her legs might be stiff. X-rays showed that her hips and spine were completely full of arthritis. The vets couldn't tell whether it was due to an old injury that was never treated or some kind of congenital or auto-immune condition, but she was in pain and it would only get worse as she got older. There was nothing they could do for her. She was only about a year old. Even though she wasn't diabetic, I'd ask all of the GA LL kitties to greet little Kiki at the Rainbow Bridge and take her under your wings.
 

Attachments

  • Kiki-resized.jpg
    Kiki-resized.jpg
    73.1 KB · Views: 249
Re: 6/14 Eddie AMPS 266, PMPS 319, +4/143

Aw Jen, that's so sad.

I hope the dosecrease works. I held off when I got the 84 PMPS. I still think it will be needed though. We kind of started this journey together. Max was diagnosed 11/15/13 but when OTJ in December because he was getting low nadir and I wasn't home testing. He went back on about 3 weeks later. I started testing in January but was listening to my vet about dosing and he didn't follow the protocol.
 
Re: 6/14 Eddie AMPS 266, PMPS 319, +4/143, +5/90, +6/67, +7/

Good luck with the higher carb fuds/dosecrease experiment. He's got some nice green tonight, now if only he'd hang onto them for a while.

I must admit I was laughing out loud at the story of the consequences of long hair, which I have too, but fortunately no one nibbles on it. :shock: :lol:

So sorry to hear about the foster kitties. Such a sad story about Kiki - there seem to be so many kitties with arthritis these days. Fly free little one. My arthritic Buster (GA) will be at the Bridge waiting to show you around.
 
Re: 6/14 Eddie AMPS 266, PMPS 319, +4/143, +5/90, +6/67, +7/

Hi Elise! Looks like just the threat of a dosecrease tonight was more than enough to get Max into gear! :mrgreen: :shock: We did kind of start this journey at the same time. :smile: Eddie was diagnosed in December and we shot blind, assuming we'd start hometesting when he got better regulated by the vet. After his spot checks at the vet's kept getting higher, I found FDMB and started hometesting, and here we are now. :smile:

Hi Wendy, thanks for stopping by! Eddie and two of the civies take turns sleeping on a pillow above my head. Reekoe, our oldest civie will bite my head and chew on my hair if I'm not petting him enough. :roll: I'm glad Buster will be there to greet Kiki. We've fostered 20+ cats over the last 6 years, and this is the first one (that we know of) that went to the Bridge. :sad: Sometimes you hear from adopters down the road, which is wonderful, and some kitties you never hear about again. You just gotta assume that they're all doing well.
 
Re: 6/14 Eddie AMPS 266, PMPS 319, +4/143, +5/90, +6/67, +7/

That's right Eddie, surf those greens!
 
Re: 6/14 Eddie AMPS 266, PMPS 319, +4/143, +5/90, +6/67, +7/

Beautiful surf for Eddie. What 10% WN do you use? Looks like it's working well.

I hope the food management works and you can flatten him out. It does take work to figure it out but then, if you can get it to work, they can look really good!

I'm so very sorry about Kiki. She was beautiful.
 
Re: 6/14 Eddie AMPS 266, PMPS 319, +4/143, +5/90, +6/67, +7/

Hi Marje!

I tried Wellness Minced Chicken for the first time tonight. It's not grain free and is listed at 10%. It did seem to get Eddie to surf those greens, although it looks like he's going to start heading up soon. I've got a stockpile of all sorts of carb levels now and have started to figure out what levels work for what point in the cycle. Since he was bounce clearing tonight and I raised the dose, I expected him to drop pretty fast, so I did pull out some 15% FF Medley's which did stop the drop, and then the 10% seemed to work to get him to surf. My hope is that if I can hold up the nadirs with medium carbs, and slow him down when he's dropping fast he'll stay flatter for the cycle, and the next dose won't have to pull him down so far from a high bouncy pre-shot. If I can reduce the big drops from high pre-shot numbers, less subsequent bouncing -- or that's the hope anyway! :-D
 
Re: 6/14 Eddie AMPS 266, PMPS 319, +4/143, +5/90, +6/67, +7/

Nice surfin', Eddie! :mrgreen:

Jen, you are too smart for me. I can't wrap my poor brain around all the details of using food to control bouncing. Of course, it doesn't help that I am really tired right now. Maybe I should come back and read your condo tomorrow after I get a good night's sleep (I hope). I'm just hanging on so I can test Cinco at +5.

Keep up the good work, Jen. Eddie, you keep it safe, okay? Nice and smooth.
 
Re: 6/14 Eddie AMPS 266, PMPS 319, +4/143, +5/90, +6/67, +7/

Hi Jen. Since you haven't posted yet today I will post here. How is Eddie this morning? I'm wondering if your attempt at preventing the bounce is working better than mine. We are back in stinky pink!! I hope you aren't joining us there or bouncing in another color!
 
Re: 6/14 Eddie AMPS 266, PMPS 319, +4/143, +5/90, +6/67, +7/

Thanks, Jen. I might try that with Gracie. I have found that the foods that work best to stop her have grains. :roll: :roll: She absolutely loves corn but we haven't let her have it since she was FD. Sometimes when she's low, I'm tempted to give her one kernel. She says why bother, mum? :lol: :lol:

I think your feeding logic is good. It just depends on whether Eddie agrees. ;-)
 
Re: 6/14 Eddie AMPS 266, PMPS 319, +4/143, +5/90, +6/67, +7/

Hi Jen. Sorry to hear about your foster kitty, Kiki. It is so sad to hear about a young one that has a very short life. Glad you were there to make a difference in her life.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top